We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Brenda F
Fabulous experience
Review of Merkister Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2022
Beautiful location, wonderful garden suite, such tasteful food, freshly cooked to our specification. A family run hotel run the 'proper'way, placing the customer at the heart of the operation. The staff always took the time to ensure our comfort. Well recommend
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.8 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£137
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
33.3 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.9 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King room in chalet
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
28.8 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.2 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.0 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Harray
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
348
93
19
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
93
19
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch harray loch view residents lounge dining room a family run hotel crab steak seafood cullen skink lovely meal lovely view main island local produce suite orkney banks john
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

Had an amazing meal, food faberoonie, staff absolutely wonderful. Such an excellent service. Would definitely recommend. Star quality!!! View was wonderful. Would definitely come back for the crab hotpot.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank raew917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

Spent two nights at the Merkister. It was a delight to stay at a hotel where the personal service meant so much. On arrival I was given a tour of the hotel then shown to my room. All of the staff were super friendly. Breakfast was cooked to order, so much better than the buffet you see in most hotels these days. I had dinner in the hotel one night, food was excellent. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank soldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

We only heard about eating here by chance. It does not show up when searching local restaurants. Well worth the search.

It has an older clientele and a design of a comfortable feel from the past. We loved it as it is now unique among all the places we went. Service was very good and the food was fresh and cooked to order. Excellent steaks,fish and chicken. The only criticism would be that the boiled carrots were over cooked. Good deserts and wine selection. Also good value for money too.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LondonPeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2022

Lunch with friends whilst on Orkney. Staff friendly and good service. Expected the food to be fresh, but mostly appeared frozen and the deep fried cheese and Westray Delights, that I had were tasteless..... so disappointed

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2022 via mobile

Visited over the Easter weekend whilst in Orkney visiting family. Slightly dated dining room but the food was superb. You must have the Cullen Skink (smoked fish soup)! Absolutely outstanding! Service was friendly and attentive. Will be back.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank monkeyman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews