We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill of Eyrland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stenness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill of Eyrland
Ranked #1 of 3 Stenness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownabbey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Not quite sure what to make of this B&B. Everything was excellent (food, rooms, location, owner) but so much stuff everywhere. You have to visit to appreciate it. Make sure to get directions as there is no clear sign.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We enjoyed the quiet location and the conversion of the old water mill with the retention of the original equipment and features. Directions were good ( and necessary) .Breakfast was generous and freshly cooked. We were happy to share a communal table and talk to other guests - may not suit everyone. Our room was rather full of furniture and the shower room was small but everywhere was very clean and the bed comfortable. Quite centrally located for main tourist sites and eating places - although you need a car.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a great place to stay while on Orkney. I was there for four days in Oct-Nov., great atmosphere with converted mill, antiques, and homey atmosphere. Very central to all sites.
Quiet and very friendly owner with great ideas of places to visit. I would definitely stay again
and would recommend to anyone looking for a friendly, helpful, peaceful location.

Room Tip: room by the river was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamb314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wonderful boyfriend decided to upgrade us beyond our usual budget to this rather special place. Situated in the heart of Orkney, this old mill has been sympathetically converted to a large, rambling and exquisitely decorated family house and B&B. Think grand old furniture, floor rugs, four-poster beds and tapestried quilts. It really was quite the treat. Two or three friendly cats stalking about, and our room had a window looking right onto the mill stream and its calming sound of running water. Breakfast in an elegant room with the old mill hops reminding you of its past. Again, nice furniture, nice china, a big old wooden table laden with delicious jams.

Morag was very kind to put us up at extremely short notice. We paid £80 for our room and thought this was the right price for such a place.

Should probably mention we had a spot of difficulty finding the place. There is no 'B&B' sign outside, and if you don't look carefully you'll miss the 'Mill Of Eyrland' carved onto a millstone high up on the house wall as it's partly hidden by foliage. However, it's right next to a side road that has a sign pointing up it for a completely different B&B! Don't be misled by this. The house you're looking for is the big one right there on the main A964 road. You don't need to turn up any side roads.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamapenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
191 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The mill is situated a few kilometers from Stromness, a few hundred metres from a sea loch and near to many of the main Neolithic sites. Well located for visiting the whole island, it is ideal for bird watchers and nature enthusiasts too. Our room was large, beautifully furnished with a four-poster bed, comfortable seating, and a view over the stream. Every attention had been paid to detail, including top quality bed linen, soft furnishings and bathroom fittings. Next door was the spacious and comfy residents lounge with its mill stones still in situ. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit salad, good coffee and an enormous choice of cooked items. We stayed for five nights and were really sorry to leave Morag and her peaceful and well-run B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in June and stayed in the Malting Floor room which was on the second floor. It was a pleasant room with two small windows, a bit crammed with furniture, and it had a small modern shower. The Mill has been carefully converted into living accommodation with much attention & consideration being given to detail. The first floor guest lounge has some mill workings and plenty of curiosities !! Morag, the owner, was warm and welcoming. We liked the atmospheric breakfast room where all guests sat round a single table and could share information about their experiences on Orkney. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We would be happy to stay there again.
If it is raining we would recommend driving a few miles south to visit the possibley not so well known Orkneyinga Saga Centre and round church at Orphir. There is a free 15 minute film telling the story of the viking dastardly deeds as well as an informative graphics/ text display. The remains of a viking drinking hall are two minutes walk away.

Room Tip: For those who have any infirmity it should be borne in mind that the Mill does not have a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We stated 2 nights at the mill in June - would rather have stated 2 weeks! The Hopper suite was beautiful, with our own sitting room wonderfully furnished and incorporating some of the original workings of the mill. Morag made us feel completely at home and made sure we had everything we needed. We had no trouble finding the place thanks to the detailed directions Morag had sent us. even down to the ginger cat it was a perfect stay! Will certainly be back! There's so much more to see on Orkney than what we had time for.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gliz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenness
0.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill of Eyrland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill of Eyrland

Property: Mill of Eyrland
Address: Stenness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stenness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stenness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mill Of Eyrland Orkney Islands/Stenness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing