We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“out for a meal in orkney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Standing Stones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“out for a meal in orkney”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On holiday in orkney we were out for a meal in the Standing Stones Hotel in Stennes.
It is a beautful hotel inside and out
The night we were there only one one girl was on service and we couldnt fault her in any way(she deserves a bonus) the food was excellent and very well presented, not rushed and we had a very pleasent evening there.
would recomened this hotel to any one going to visit Orkney

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
27
49
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scalloway, Shetland.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We travelled to Orkney in August 2010 just after my aunt passed away, we booked this hotel online and it went rather well. Once we went to the hotel and went into the room I was with my family, there were beds scattered all over the place: it looked like somebody was moving out.

As we went to bed, I noticed that the bathroom fan was very noisy and ticked loudly which caused a little discomfort for my family members and next door. The beds were as cold as ice and I couldn't sleep because the duvets were thin and smelt a bit damp. I consulted this to the manager and he told me it must be the bed not the skyline window.

Breakfast was alright but everything was outdated but the food was filling for only one hour. The stay was okay but at least I survived in there!

Room Tip: The higher the floor you go, the more scenic the view is from the Standing Stones that the hotel fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff were all charming, friendly and helpful. The location for visiting the sites in the Orkneys was very convenient. The food was good with huge portions. The room was clean and an adequate size, but there were a few noise issues from the room above. I wish to return to the Orkneys and will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for a view over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

As mentioned by other reviews this hotel was in a great spot, but have to agree with others about soundproofing, it was indeed very noisy early morning as other people starting moving about,it was almost as if they were in the same room....!(badly needs attending to,) having said that the staff were really great and couldn't do enough for you, meals were ordinary, but it is after all, just a pub !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taitcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombwell, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Perfect position for all archaeological sites, most within view. But sadly let down by total lack of warmth or ambience . Rooms dated ,but clean. Big issues were sounds carrying from other rooms, walls must be paper thin, also the showers, poor water pressure ,alternating temperatures and loud creaking every time you moved heard by all your neighbours!
Food, very limited choices, cooked food swimming in oil such a shame as nicely presented.
Reception staff helpful but waiting staff not always the case. Would we stay again? Not for the price they are asking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddleduck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Handy spot for visiting Standing Stones of Stenness and Ring of Brodgar. Also there is a live archeological dig going on on the lochside between these 2 sites which is well worth a visit.
Glad I was not paying for the room as was a bit steep at £90 a night for B&B, in a room with just an electric driponyourhead shower, and a long taxi ride from anywhere.
Had dinner in the bar area both nights - food fine, not exciting but acceptable. Nice couple of pints, including Orkney Dark Island on tap.
No-one on duty to check out at 07.00 so I had a bit of faffing to do afterwards to sort the bill - but all done efficiently

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stopped here for a lunch while on a tour, so we didnt stay in the hotel. We were given a table in the conservatory which was nice and cool. We both ordered food from the main menu, I had fish and chips and my wife had the burger. Fish was pretty good, could have done with more chips though. My wife's burger was good but we think the bacon could have been cooked longer.

We enjoyed our lunch and the pint of Scapa Special to wash it down, a great local beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenness
9.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
331 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
286 reviews
5.9 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
177 reviews
9.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standing Stones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standing Stones Hotel

Property: Standing Stones Hotel
Address: Stenness, Stenness KW16 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stenness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Hotel Class:3 star — Standing Stones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Standing Stones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standing Stones Hotel Orkney Islands/Stenness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing