We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just had a meal, was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Standing Stones Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stenness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Standing Stones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just had a meal, was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just had an evening meal at this hotel.
Choice wasn't great and meals were a bit pricey.
Best part werethe starters, a crab and salmon mousse, and an apple fritter with black pudding. Both these starters were excellent.
The main courses though were a bit disappointing but ok as such.
Only one local ale available and that ran out.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redimp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    44
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
48
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Excellent hotel with a family like setting. Excellent restaurant with a good food variety including buffalo meat. The hotel is located off the beaten path (not near city shops but has a good view of the standing stones and North Sea). This is the first hotel I have given an over all excellent grade.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room - there was some squeaking floors above me noted at night. Say hello to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice situated hotel.. Not completely hygienic could amend a few things.. Staff where friendly but one bar maid trish a bit to over friendly flirts with anyone !! But apart from her the place would do great with a little spruce up and new bar staff. But will not be staying again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P47ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stenness hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a shooting party for 4 nights, location was perfect, easy access to the rest of the island. Food was spot on and the staff were excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable if slightly dated but for our purposes they were perfect, nice bar and good pub grub. Had a good chat with the owners who could not have been any more accommodating. Overall very happy...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

On holiday in orkney we were out for a meal in the Standing Stones Hotel in Stennes.
It is a beautful hotel inside and out
The night we were there only one one girl was on service and we couldnt fault her in any way(she deserves a bonus) the food was excellent and very well presented, not rushed and we had a very pleasent evening there.
would recomened this hotel to any one going to visit Orkney

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scalloway, Shetland.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We travelled to Orkney in August 2010 just after my aunt passed away, we booked this hotel online and it went rather well. Once we went to the hotel and went into the room I was with my family, there were beds scattered all over the place: it looked like somebody was moving out.

As we went to bed, I noticed that the bathroom fan was very noisy and ticked loudly which caused a little discomfort for my family members and next door. The beds were as cold as ice and I couldn't sleep because the duvets were thin and smelt a bit damp. I consulted this to the manager and he told me it must be the bed not the skyline window.

Breakfast was alright but everything was outdated but the food was filling for only one hour. The stay was okay but at least I survived in there!

Room Tip: The higher the floor you go, the more scenic the view is from the Standing Stones that the hotel fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff were all charming, friendly and helpful. The location for visiting the sites in the Orkneys was very convenient. The food was good with huge portions. The room was clean and an adequate size, but there were a few noise issues from the room above. I wish to return to the Orkneys and will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for a view over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenness
9.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standing Stones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standing Stones Hotel

Property: Standing Stones Hotel
Address: Stenness, Stenness KW16 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stenness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Hotel Class:3 star — Standing Stones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Standing Stones Hotel Orkney Islands/Stenness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing