We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Standing Stones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ther location is impressive - but nothing else was. We asked for tea & coffee in the lounge when we arrived in late afternoon, and that's what we got - no biscuits offered. We had booked, and paid extra for, a loch view room. The loch view was there, but spoilt by the view of an outbuilding surrounded by empty gas canisters, scaffolding boards, empty bakery trays and miscellaneous other stuff. The promised view of the loch from the restaurant was also spoilt by broken bits of plastic lying around the "garden". The first room we were directed to had the bathroom window hanging off - it couldn't be closed. We were reluctantly offered another room. The bathroom was poor in terms of space; no shelf or hanging space for toilet bags etc.; the shower and the mirror so low that my husband had to crouch to use them. The alcove in the corridor for the fire hose reel was crammed with equipment (vacuum cleaner etc) intruding on to the corridor space. Friends joined us for dinner in the restaurant on our first evening; the meal was just about acceptable, but tiny scallops (3 of them burnt) hardly constitutes a starter. Dinner on the second evening was a disgrace: the crispy squid was definitely not crispy; the swordfish was inedible -dry, overcooked and completely tasteless. It was returned to the kitchen, and the waitress reported back that the chef said it was alright. None of the meal was enjoyable. We asked to speak to the owner; he turned out to be rude, defensive and aggressive - very unpleasant. The final insult was the breakfast next morning - the "toast" was simply warm bread.

In spite of the good location we could not recommend this place to anyone while it is under the present management.

Room Tip: Room 1 had the broken window; given the above report this may not yet have been mended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anscotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
29
49
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived here late at night and were given a friendly enough welcome from the reception staff. However, had a very noisy night due to road traffic and hardly slept a wink. To top it all, I unfortunately lost the key to our room and when I reported this to the Manager found he had an awful attitude towards me and succeeded in making me feel even worse about it. I was charged £25 and told all the rooms would require new keys because of what I had done. All I can say is that we are not "key collectors" as he implied and it definitely was not a deliberate act.
Needless to say, we will not be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jansim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stenness hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights. This hotel is adequate but could be so much better. Lacks a personal touch and needs some refurbishment. The food however is good and the view of the loch especially at sunset & sunrise is stunning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived at hotel today for lunch on coach
drivers recommendation.
The service was slow to start but when the food arrived one of our table sent the plate back immediately with a prawn sandwich due to presentation of slapped on plate. Our table then got the cold shoulder and I found it difficult to get attention to send back my cold stogie chips and 2 slices of dry bread with cheese strings from a packet and tomato somewhere on the plate. My friend asked for butter for her dry sandwich and was handed a single portion of butter. No plate.
Poor service,no smiles Food terrible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have been staying at Standing Stones for several years now, and it seems to get better and better year by year, as the new owners implement changes and renovations. This year we were greeted with coffee in the lounge before being shown to our rooms, and we found the entire staff cheerful and eager to please. Our room was clean and pleasant, with en-suite facilities and good wi fi.
We ate in the restaurant on two evenings as well as every morning for breakfast. The food was good, (especially the salmon at breakfast!) and there were plenty of choices available, even for those of us with dietary concerns and restrictions.
We enjoy staying out in Stenness, rather than in Kirkwall or Stromness. Being so close to the standing stones lets us take advantage of the weather. We can grab our cameras if the sunset looks promising, or grab a sweater to enjoy a walk in the mystical mists when the sun goes in.
We will definitely keep coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klsaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, absolutely fantastic menu and food. Such a huge choice food-wise and something to suit everyone. Have been now quite a few times and have been more than pleased every time without fail. Not a single complaint and couldn't ask for better. Definitely my first place of choice and will be recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddytheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped by for dinner; plenty of helpful (generally rather young) staff around, we were offfered both bar and a la carte menus - we opted for the latter and were shown into an empty restaurant (at around 19:30), but by the time we left it was perhaps 2/3 full, though this was down to one large group and, i suspect, hotel residents. But unlike other reports, we were attended to very promptly, and the food appeared without any undue wait. Starters (scallops, and squid) were generous and well cooked, as were the mains (lamb, and scallops & pork). Vegetables were a bit unimaginative and sadly Scottish (boiled and mashed potatoes, and boiled carrots), and disappointing coffee came out of the sort of machine you used to find in garages, but this shouldn't detract (too much) from a generally positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenness
9.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.9 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
9.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standing Stones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standing Stones Hotel

Property: Standing Stones Hotel
Address: Stenness, Stenness KW16 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stenness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Hotel Class:3 star — Standing Stones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Standing Stones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standing Stones Hotel Orkney Islands/Stenness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing