We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ryan P
Great Place
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2019
7 of us used this as a base of operations for our Goose Hunt, Great hospitality from the guys at the Standing Stones, there was toast tea and coffee ready for us before we went out at around 5:00 am, and a full breakfast menu to choose from, when we arrived back at 10:30 ish,the rooms were spotless and contrary to other reviews our beds were, lovely and comfortable, the food was great and my favorite which i thought was outstanding was the chocolate brownie, the staff are real friendly and really helpful. , we thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay on Orkney , and look forward to returning in 2020.
Date of stay: November 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £117
  • Priceline
104.5 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £148
108.0 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £118
  • Agoda.com
108.3 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
108.4 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Queens Hotel i morgonsol
Tripadvisor
£95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £95
108.5 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
108.4 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
108.5 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.3 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stenness
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
6
13
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
13
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is lovely perfect base to explore no lift recommend this hotel orkney mainland ring of brodgar shore bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Visited here recently for a family meal which we sadly left a little disappointed. Upon arrival we were greeted with a busy restaurant of fellow diners but we were quickly sat at our table. A waitress soon came to take our order of drinks, before the drinks had arrived we'd placed our food order. A little wait then ensued then after about 15-20 mins both the starters and drinks finally arrived. Despite a slow start to the service all commented that they enjoyed their starters. Disappointment then followed within the next hour and 20 minutes - the time it took between finishing the starter and the main course arriving. There seemed to be a lot of panic between the floor staff and we were asked on several occasions if we were still waiting. After waiting over an hour we began to ask the staff where our order was and were finally told that we'd be next. The food finally arrived a little soggy and lukewarm whilst also being minus one of the dishes. The missing dish finally appeared 10 minutes after the other dishes which was the only dish that was still hot. The manager apologised for the delay and kindly knocked the starters off the bill. However that's by the by and we all felt that it would've been easier if the management had informed us prior to ordering of the delay to allow us to decide whether to stay or go elsewhere. All being said staff were polite and the signs of a good meal were there, I just hope the night we visited was an off night for them.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Have not been there for years we went for lunch, peas cool and a little discoloured,wife had fish it was good I had the beef and ale pie meat a little chewey staff were good may try Sunday lunch next,

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StandingStonesHotel, Manager at Standing Stones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you only found things to be average. We do hope you come along and try our Sunday lunch.
Many thanks,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

The hotel looked a little empty and abandoned from the outside, however the interior decor shows that investment is being made to upgrade the hotel. The bar area was very cold but the food was beautiful and the staff were all very helpful. The decor in the bedroom was very nice, recently updated and the bathroom was also new and spotless, one downfall would be it is a rather big step down from the bath/shower to the floor and no handrail is provided, could be dangerous. The beds have to be the worst I’ve ever slept on, very uncomfortable, so much so it would actually prevent me from booking again. The breakfast was lovely, but still wasn’t enough to take away the pain of the beds from the previous night.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StandingStonesHotel, Manager at Standing Stones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. The hotel just changed ownership a few months ago and considerable investment has already been made with all new beds arriving just last week. We do hope you make a return visit in the future and have a more comfortable stay.
Best wishes,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed for one night, but wish we stayed for more. It's an old-fashioned type of hotel there is no lift so if you're on the third floor you have to climb the stairs the rooms are spacious and quite the pillows were great could really use an upgrade on those and they could probably use a mattress topper on the beds because you could feel the middle line of the King did the rooms however were quite big and the showers were great you could actually step into the showers or have a bath the choice is yours they only have 17 rooms so there's not a lot of coming and going which is really good we did have dinner there and it was completely yummy desserts the mains everything was great the atmosphere and feeling within the hotel itself was fantastic and we will made very welcome by both locals and always stuff would recommend to stay there there's a view from the windows is quite stunning looking over the the lock is beautiful and quite close to everything.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cheza-Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StandingStonesHotel, Manager at Standing Stones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. The beds and bedding have now all been upgraded since your stay so we do hope you make a return visit in the future to check this out! Great to hear that you enjoyed your food.
Many thanks again,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019

We spent a night here and had researched online for a pet friendly hotel. Accommodation was lovely and clean; food good and staff friendly. What we didn't like was the added extra on checking out! Having booked through hotels.com we thought all charges were paid upfront but we had to pay £35 for the dog's one night stay. We were told that we should have had an advisory email. On checking, there was none and worse still in the small print on hotels.com website it says it should have been £10 a night. Hotels.com have been really unhelpful and we are still waiting for a reply to our email to the hotel. Unpleasant end to what had been a great trip up antil then!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NELLYNIKnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StandingStonesHotel, Manager at Standing Stones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I do apologies again for the confusion over the hotels surcharge for dogs. I do hope this issue is now resolved and we do hope you return to stay with us again.

Best wishes,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews