We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tamar121
Plymouth

Don't judge a book by its cover!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jun 2022
First impressions were not good, I actually thought the place was closed! No signage on the road so we went past it first time. Car park full of weeds. TNot obvious which was the entrance and no reception desk.

But once inside the hotel is lovely, great bar and restaurant, everywhere is newly decorated. Room was spacious and clean with great ensuite.

Food was lovely and staff were really friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately the hotel does not face the stones - whoever planned it needs firing! It could have the most fabulous views but instead there is a block of garages.

With a bit of work outside and good signage this could be a little gem and attract passing trade.

Would definitely stay again
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £122
  • Hotels.com
104.5 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £173
  • Hotels.com
108.0 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £114
  • eDreams
108.3 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
108.4 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
108.5 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
108.4 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.3 miles from Standing Stones Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stenness
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
6
13
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
13
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is lovely perfect base to explore no lift recommend this hotel orkney mainland ring of brodgar shore bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2022 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, the scenery behind the hotel is lovely but the hotel faces away from the view, rooms are clean and ensuite was excellent, I had dinner both nights as there is not much within walking distance, the menu has a limited choice but the food was good, breakfast was first class. The staff are friendly and willing.
Definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2022

the building is modern but in keeping with the landscape. Stayed here one night, arriving late from a ferry and leaving the next morning, so no experience of dinner here. hosts were all very friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent. There is no lift however, so bags have to be carried up steep flights of stairs.

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2022

We spent 3 nights at the Standing Stones Hotel and came away with mixed feelings about our stay. The hotel had only opened in April after a 2 year closure when clearly some refurbishment had taken place eg new carpeting. The entrance was not well signed and we entered into a very unwelcoming reception that was spacious but cold and sparse. The staff however were great, welcoming, friendly and very accommodating. Our room was spacious and well appointed, with a comfortable bed and super bathroom with corner bath and large walk in shower. We had a balcony overlooking the Loch but underfoot was covered in bird droppings and the chairs were very dirty and unusable. The evening meals were served in the bar which was newly furnished but very much a pub atmosphere. The meals themselves were tasty and well presented but it was a limited menu. The location of the hotel was very good being situated on the road between Stromness and Kirkwall and the views from it were excellent. If more attention was given to making the entrance and reception welcoming and comfortable we would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valeriebF3686UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

We were fortunate to find the Standing Stones hotel after its recent reopening.
It is located only 10 minutes from the ferry terminal in Stromness and it is on the shores of a lovely lake. The perfect base to explore the Orkney mainland. We were warmly welcomed by Heather, who looked after us very well. The room was newly renovated, spacious with very comfortable beds. Nice and warm. Lovely bathroom with toiletries. Our doggy was most welcome. Parking out the front so easy in and out. Breakfast was tasty and abundant, with perfectly decent plunger coffee. Walking distance to the Standing Stones and an easy drive to Kirkwall, the whisky distilleries and most importantly Skara Brae, an amazing archeological site.
Across the road from the hotel is a small ice cream parlour with delectable Orkney Ice Cream.
There is a restaurant as well, featuring Scottish cuisine and island produce.

Room tip: Hotel has no lift. Need to book for dinner.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank johngiovannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

No lifts, so we were tasked with shuttling our heavy bags up three flights of stairs after negotiating 4 sets of double doors.

Our double bed made for difficult sleeping. The room itself was very small. Not even room for a chair. The bathroom was tiny as well. A towel hook would be a small win but mine found. Cramped shower stall with no shelf to stage soap or shampoo, forcing you to do deep knee bends while trying not to leave hinny prints in the glass.

Room tip: Request a larger room. Our friends got a much larger one.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 4score1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews