We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Browns Hostel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October and found the hostel very cold and unwelcoming. The facilities are in serious need of an upgrade and it was difficult to cook effectively with the other guests as there were not enough facilities and a lot of things were broken or didn't work. The rooms were very cold and one of the rooms we had was so small it was rediculous. Lastly the whole place could do with a clean. All in all the costs did not represent the service.

Room Tip: Don't book a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeblebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
10
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murchison
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Recently spent five days here. How a double room ensuite in the separate house. Great value for money, central and quiet (except for the evening of a festival when people were carousing late!). Sylvia is friendly and unobtrusive which gave us privacy.
Very handy as a diving base as it's a couple of minutes from the boats. The last day here, my partner was able to stay around the hostel after checking out at 10am and use the facilities and I was able to use the shower, after coming off the boat which we thought was really fantastic.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the harbour in the second house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

It is £15 per person per night .We had a comfortable family room with a double and 2 singles.It was ensuite.It was in a house near the hostel which is sometimes rentes as a whole or if free used as individual units.There was a large kitchen ,washing machine ,tumble dryer ,dishwasher ,seperate living room with a tv and free internet access.It is on the main street in Stromness .The lady who runs the place is very friendly and helpful .It would be ideal for people wanting a cheap room and a bit of space to self cater .Despite being on the high street Stromness is a quiet town.It was really cold outside but the hostel was nice and warm and there was a very efficient heater in the room.There was plenty of hot water for showers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were there in May 2011 and it was just great. We had a private double room which had very comfortable beds and was very clean. Also toilets and showers were very clean. The staff (I think there's only 1 woman that runs everything alone) was very friendly and helpful. You can use the kitchen facilities and the internet is also for free. The Orkney Islands are also great for hiking and biking and Stromness is a charming little town. We think that the 3 days that we stayed there were the higlight of our Scotland tour.
We would definitively recommend this hostel and would also come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mleibundgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Brown’s hostel is cozy, friendly, comfortable and right in the heart of the beautiful town of Stomness. The 2 common areas are welcoming with complementary tea, coffee and internet. The rooms vary in size from the tiny and private to large sunny shared rooms. I enjoyed both during my stays there. The showers are clean with good pressure & though the downstairs showers are a bit antiquated they are more than adequate for a shower. I found Brown’s to be the perfect place to recover from the road and also to launch new adventures in the area. Good to come home to at night. Close to all amenities. Sylvia Brown the owner is responsive and helpful, a good resource.
Holly Whittaker USA August and September 2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (Home)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Stayed overnight on last day of a trip catching the ferry the following morning. Great location in centre of town and 5 mins walk from ferry terminal.
I was given one of the tiny single rooms which was fine for the money, but very small indeed - basically just the bed and a tiny space to stand alongside it. Quite cold although extra blankets were provided - could definitely do with a small electric heater or something.
Decent enough kitchen and lounge area with a computer for internet.
Main issue was that the shower and washrooms could have been cleaner and warmer. Also in need of a modernisation.
Not a bad place, but could be nicer if it was done up a bit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Friendly but cheap owner. No heat in bedrooms (I had to use my hairdryer to the heat room!) or kitchen (we used the oven for heat!) Not recommended for a winter stay!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaboodleKaboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
12.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
6.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
7.8 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 11 in Stromness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hostel

Property: Browns Hostel
Address: 45/47 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stromness
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Browns Hostel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing