We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Bay”
Review of Browns Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Browns Hostel
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Right on the Bay”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Susan was a lovely host, waiting for us outside the hostel we expected to stay at to lead us down the road a ways to an upgrade. We had this entire building to ourselves, a room facing the bay with a window the twin bed resident could gaze out and watch the sun rise and set. The kitchen was very large, cutlery, glasses, everything you needed readily available. Across the foyer was a living room with a cozy electric fireplace and very comfy couches, television, and windows facing the street.

In the foyer was a common toilet and the laundry room. Took quite awhile for our laundry to get dry, but that's my only complaint and certainly didn't dampen (haha) our experience. In fact, my entire family has fallen in love with Stromness and Orkney,

Room Tip: Book by telephone, and Susan only takes cash. Her website has the variety of rooms available, so on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EstesLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
11
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed on the upper level in a single private room. Small but For the money you couldn't ask for more. The owner was lovely and I was very impressed with the size of kitchen come living room. The owner has made it look like a home with nick nacks on the window seals and ornaments on the mantel piece. Which gives it a very homely feel. Yes maybe it could do with a lick of paint here and there but thats what gives it its homely feel. Its not so posh you feel uncomfortable to move. The fridges are labeled room per shelf. You can't get closer to the marina and all the shops and pubs. newsagent/bakers 2 minutes walk away. What more can you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the upper level, If you want a bigger kitchen/living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice landlady, great location and cheap rate but the place is damp and not very clean. There was a very unpleasant smell in the bedroom and the tablecloth of the common area needs changing. A real bathroom would be nice (not very pleasant to brush one's teeth in the toilets...) and the shower is not very inviting...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizbeth353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Brown's is inexpensive and for a cheap price it's not a bad place to stay. The landlady is simply lovely and will go out of her way to help you and make sure you have what you need, including advice and getting things fixed. When the internet stopped working she was there to fix it within 10 minutes!
The decor is a little tired and the place is a little messy, but the 'dirt' other people mentioned is only minor and it's the sort of stuff that happens naturally over the summer with so many people coming and going. For the most part things are clean and it has pretty much everything you need. Perhaps some new cooking implements wouldn't go amiss. The bedding was spotless, towels were fresh, there were always fresh drying cloths in the kitchen and the bin was emptied as soon as it's full.
Upstairs is better than the ground floor though, where there is a slightly odd smell and the bathrooms are less nice. The downstairs kitchen is a lot less busy though!
Overall I recommend this place, but maybe ask for something off the ground floor if you are fussy about bathrooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better than the ground floor, but the downstairs kitchen is a lot less busy. Ask for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoLady_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in a family room which was better than some hotels we've been to, with comfortable beds and everything clean and in good condition. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook if you want to, a big dining table to eat at and there's a comfy living room area with open fireplace. Bathroom facilities were in good order and very clean. A bonus is the free wifi. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Stromness without paying a lot of money. Despite its central location it was quiet and we got a good night's sleep. Parking is a bit tricky given the narrow streets but we managed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa_Sommerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Needs a very good clean. Some nice personal touches but would be good to have a keypad lock on the outside door as not very secure. right next to a loud pub so remember ear plugs. not the best drying facilities and kitchen dirty. served its purpose. the owner was lovely and if she was just able to give it a basic overhall it would be so much more nicer.

Room Tip: take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

£20 per person, per night for a private room with self catering facilities downstairs, which certainly isn't bad value by any stretch. You're not going to get the most luxurious, most decadent room in the world in a hostel on Orkney but it was clean, comfortable, warm and well equipped downstairs with armchairs, TV etc, if you're not in the mood for wandering around Neolithic ritual landscapes or drinking with the local fishermen.

The lady who runs the place is absolutely delightful and has the best accent I heard all holiday. Respec'.

Only downside was that someone ate one of our pizzas from the communal fridge. This is a despicable act and cannot be forgiven. I hope that your visit to Browns is not marred by the same gross injustice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
189 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
352 reviews
6.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 9 in Stromness
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hostel

Property: Browns Hostel
Address: 45/47 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stromness
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Browns Hostel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing