We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for the Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 45 John Street

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
45 John Street
Ranked #9 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Handy for the Ferry”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

You will receive a warm welcome and comfortable accommodation. The host is a very thoughtful and kind lady. The breakfast caters for vegetarians and the fruit was fresh. Fine home made jams and marmalade and good bread and oatcakes. If you have to leave on the early ferry, packed breakfasts are available. A bit expensive if you are a solo traveller. Fascinating if you want to watch the ferry come and go at all hours as rooms look accross to the boat. Bus stop by the ferry terminal too. Close to 3 places to eat. Stromness is an amazing wee town with a fair amount of history. Climb Brinkie's Brae and remember George Mackay Brown. His flat was across from the quirky museum. The Pier Arts Centre has some fine work upstairs but the less said about the 'stuff' downstairs the better. Honestly! A few interesting arty shops; one was even open on Sunday! Stromness is not very welcoming to tourists on Sundays perhaps. Good walks especially round the west coast. Day trip to Hoy recommended. Bedroom information in folder is limited and needs to be updated.

Room Tip: Room 1 is above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you, Lewis, for spotting us as we approached, and opening the door before we got to it! Your willingness to help us, chat to us and generally entice us with descriptions of your Mum's wonderful, home made goodies made our eating of them even more enjoyable. Comfy beds, very convenient location, all in all a delightful memory. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

As Kay's son very well put it, the Orkneys will easily provide 4 seasons' weather during the same day. We came to stay during the weekend to visit the Island and chose this excellent place. Although we had wind, fog, sun, rain, mist and some drizzle, all of them on the same Sunday, this warm and cozy place easily made us feel at home.
Kay is very friendly and helpful, the place is comfortable and clean and conveniently placed at 5 minutes' walk from the ferry, bus and some fine restaurants (don't miss out on the Stromness Hotel's restaurant).
Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anxor_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for two nights over the May bank holiday weekend. I booked it after reading TripAdvisor reviews and it was easily one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in. The room was big and luxurious with nice towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/homemade shortbread. But the breakfasts were by far the best bit - everything homemade, even home cured ham! We would highly recommend it to friends/family. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. I came to Stromness to Scuba dive for 4 days and it was wonderful to have such comfortable accommodations every night as I was exhausted. Kay greeted me every day with a huge warm smile and was honestly one of the nicest people I have ever met. In my room I had home made shortbread every night (which I shouldn't have eaten but couldn't resist!) and Kay's version of Continental Breakfast was in a league of its own. She made fresh scones, porridge, yogurt, toast and preserves. Plus she had cheese, smoked fish and fruit with every spread you can imagine.

She made me a packed lunch every day and when I came home from diving the first day soaking wet she washed and dried all of my clothes for the morning. When I left, Kay gave me a giant hug and I promised her I would be back. If you ever get to Stromness, beg to stay there, you will want for nothing. It is clean, comfortable, and has all the amenities you need. Even with all that, it would not have been the same without Kay and Neil, they were amazing hosts. I can't speak highly enough of them. Remember it is cash only but will have everything you need and an ATM is close by.

Is close to the Ferry, across the street, and Scapa Scuba (you must go there) if you are a diver is only about a 5 min walk. To eat try The Ferry Inn or the Stromness Hotel. The Ferry Inn is a bit more laid back.
Thank you Kay and Neil, it was an amazing stay!

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms in this B&B and some have ensuites. Book early to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Kay and Neil live centrally with a view straight down onto the harbour and in sight of the mainland ferry quayside. We had a spacious room with view to the water - home baking in the room and mostly home-made fare of excellent quality at breakfast. 45 John St is an exception to most B&Bs as it does not regularly serve a "full cooked" breakfast, but offers porridge, fresh breads and toast, cheese, ham - the "continental" alternative. This is actually no problem because it is a) less filling and b) delicious, so it makes a nice change if you are touring Scotland and starting to get fried food fatigue.

Kay gave good advice on where to go and what to see - she and Neil are genuinely welcoming and really helpful. Key was able to shuffle arrangements around to accommodate us for a third, unplanned night. The B&B is easy walking distance to restaurants, pubs, banks and shops as well being close by the great High Street which offers picturesque views and a relaxing evening or morning stroll.

We had thought that Stromness might prove a too south-westerly position to be based for exploring the Orkneys but this proved wrong - distances are minimal in any case and Stromness seemed far more welcoming, attractive and peaceful than Kirkwall or other larger villages. Parking directly opposite the property is easy as long as you can confine it to the period between around 17:30-10:00, although the policing of the otherwise 30 min maximum spots seems in any case to be interpreted in a tourist-friendly way.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will certainly return if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Last year on an impromptu visit I stayed at 45 John Street and had a wonderful time there. This year I planned my visit and yes, consistency does exist. You can find it at 45 John Street where yet again I had a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromness hotels
0.0 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 11 in Stromness
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Stromness
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
177 reviews
Show Prices

Been to 45 John Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 45 John Street

Property: 45 John Street
Address: Stromness KW16 3AD , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
45 John Street Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing