We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guesthouse suited for all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brinkies Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic guesthouse suited for all”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 3-year old daughter. It was perfect. Very close to Stromness harbour but still out in the countryside. So perfect if you're coming from the ferry. Yvonne and her staff were all very helpful and friendly. The Orkney style continental breakfast is fantastic. Don't eat too much to begin with because you'll be served more and more yummy food as the breakfast goes on (special mention for the local fish and home made bere bannocks!).
The guesthouse is furnished very tastefully and is a very comfortable place to stay. Child's needs are very well considered by the host so our daughter also gad a great time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank metze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yvonne made us very welcome indeed, Brinkies Guest House has stupendously beautiful views, with Hoy and the sea. We enjoyed our honeymoon stay very much. The breakfast platters with local fish and cheese were amazing. Its very convenient for Stromness and traveling around Orkney. We had a wonderful honeymoon and Brinkies was a big part of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

On driving up it Brinkies, it looks impressive. Plenty of space to park nice looking when you walk in but it went downhill from there. We had room 3 which has private facilities rather than en suite. This was the only room available when we booked and it shouldn't have been a problem but the room was much smaller than expected - compact would be the best word to describe it. The bathroom was bright and airy with a window, very pleasant but the spa bath was out of action. I will say that everything was very clean. The bed was ok and had an average night's sleep. Now to the breakfast. The first morning was fine, we were first down and there was a girl to ask if unsure of anything. It really is self service. Make your own tea, toast etc. the cooked meats and cheeses are left in the fridge the night before with your room number on it and covered in cling film. Was a bit unusual but we were happy enough. The 2nd morning we were last down. Bad move. The glasses had all been taken, next to no fruit juice, fresh fruit had disappeared and there was no one on duty to sort anything out. Was very glad to be leaving as breakfast was very disappointing. I will say, hoping to give a fair point of view, that Yvonne the owner, who seemed to be a very nice lady, was very ill, so perhaps it would normally be better service but I would not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaffyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Two days, our first few days in Orkney, and what an experience.
A few things contributed significantly to our very special time there: the sun was shining, and the country looked magical and so beautiful; we visited some prehistoric sites that we had known and loved for most of our lives, although only through books; and we stayed with Yvonne at Brinkies Guesthouse, which was so comfortable, and which gave us so much insight into Orkney life.
Our room was sufficiently large, and comfortable, … with a million dollar view through the window: gentle green hills, divided by stone fences, with grazing cattle and horses, and a stranded, traditional boat; moorland, covered with heather; and the harbour town of Stromness.
For dinner, we walked from the guesthouse to the town, following often rough paths through the heather, walking beside stone fences, bypassing boggy bits, down Brinkies Brae, … and we enjoyed the adventure of returning after dark. Twice, we had dinner in the town, at the stately Stromness Hotel and the harbourside Ferry Inn, both of them delicious meals.
Each morning, Yvonne prepared a delicious and very local breakfast for us: smoked salmon and smoked mackerel, local cheeses, sausages, oatcakes and bere bread.
By the time we left Brinkies Guesthouse, we felt so much warmth and friendship towards Yvonne. If – and hopefully we will – we return to Orkney, we could stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Brinkie's for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. I made arrangements with Yvonne via email and found Brinkie's better than I expected. We had the Scapa Flow room, which overlooks Stromness with views of Hoy. I loved waking up each morning to see what the view would be like from our room. It could make a morning person of me!

Our room was comfortable and spacious, we had plenty of closet and storage space. The bathroom was complete with bidet and heated towel rack plus lots of counter space. No top sheets, just duvet and cover and no washcloths which is typical for there. We brought our own. The shower is a little smaller than we're used to but worked fine.

Yvonne was very welcoming and made us feel at home. She always had time to talk when we needed to ask questions and did her very best to help us make arrangements. I appreciated having a phone in the hall that we could use. Everything we needed was there, lots of brochures and books, you almost don't need to plan ahead (but it's better if you do). On our last morning she packed us a lunch instead of breakfast. I felt we were taken care of very well.

The breakfasts were nice although i never did get used to smoked fish in the morning. I usually had coffee, yogurt, bere bannocks sometimes with brie and preserves and other things. There was more than enough food to get us going for the day.

I enjoyed everything about our stay and would happily come again. I specifically picked Brinkie's because of the views. We like quieter places rather than in cities and had a car that could easily take us where we needed. I don't think this would work well without a car as you'd need a taxi to take you into town. But with a car, it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In May of last year we visited the Orkneys and stayed in Stromness with Yvonne at Brinkies. The house sits up hill and overlooks the town and the Ocean. It is a gorgeous setting. In our too short stay we found Brinkies to be a great base. It takes longer than you would imagine, even just on Orkney and connected South Ronaldsay, to get from place to place but for the clustered attractions in the Western portion of the Island like the Ring of Brodgar, Standing Stones of Stennis, Maeshowe, Skara Brae, Skaill House, Brough of Birsay, RSPB Marwick Head the hotel was ideally convenient. And charming Stromness has pubs, and shops and places to eat plus the most convenient access to the ferry. The value was very good as was breakfast. We particularly enjoyed the Bere bannocks (Bere, for those who are not familiar with the term is a kind of ancient grain that is still milled on Orkney). Yvonne is also a gracious and knowledgeable host and can give assistance and advice on a wide variety of questions involving the island. I particularly loved Orkney for its windswept beauty and incredible ancient sites. I can't wait to come back and would love to stay at Brinkies again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked 4 nights here for our trip to the Orkney Islands. Booking with Yvonne was easy as we did everything by email.
The location is great and we had an amazing view from our room (room 2). The room was so lovely in decoration, the bed was comformtable as was the day bed that our son slept on. Everything was very clean and tidy, with little extras of sweets and I noticed hot water bottles for the colder nights!

Yvonne is an amazing host, so very friendly recommending places to visit whilst we were there. She made us all feel very welcome and was absolutely great with our son. She did spoit him.

Breakfast was lovely, a great mix of cereals, fruit yoghurt and then local specialities. I didn't need to eat so much but it was so hard to resist - especially smoked salmon!

It is a bit of a walk from Stromness - down the hill was easy but not so great on the way back up. But a quick call to a taxi sorts out that if you don't want to walk. Take a torch though as there aren't street lights all the way back.

A lovely place - hopefully we will be back some time.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a great view, you looked over the town of stromness and the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziec19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 9 in Stromness
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkies Guest House

Property: Brinkies Guest House
Address: Brinkies House Brinkies Brae, Stromness KW16 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Also Known As:
Brinkies Guest House Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing