We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough, but....”
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Travelling in a group of 10 walkers we booked these rooms with the information that their price had gone up because the rooms had been refurbished. Sure enough they were and quite nicely done, but a shelf in the en-suite would have been nice.
However some of the rooms did not have wardrobes as they "hadn't arrived yet" and the one in my room was obviously not new. Clothes rack were provided in the other rooms.
To be fair the rooms were nice and the beds comfy and clean. They had new flat screen TVs and the breakfast was good apart from the sausages which were a bit "Tesco Value". And the service in general was good.
But one person had to cancel four weeks before we travelled and there was no refund on the deposit, which in itself is understanable, but I told them twice on the last night I would be alone as my wife was leaving a day early, but they still charged the full double room rate, and with no wardrobes in some rooms I would have thought a little flexibility on their part would not have gone a miss. There was no compromise at all when it came to their rates.
I booked for the middle of May knowing that this is still relatively quiet in Orkney so 10 people for four nights was good business for the Hotel.

Room Tip: Stromness is a small but charming town, but many locals like a drink on a Friday and Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therailwaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms - very comfortable and pleasant. Would recommend - good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjbigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Went here recently for a celebratory meal to try and make up for the disappointing experience the previous week at the Ferry Inn in Stromness. Unfortunately not all the items advertised on the menu on their website were available despite having been assured they were when we booked. However that said the whole experience was far better than the Ferry Inn. The decor was warm and inviting with plenty of interesting information relating to the Hudson Bay company. The food was well presented and in the Orkney cheesecake you could both see and taste large pieces of fudge. Service was attentive and when we expressed concern that the full menu as advertised wasn't available the manageress came out from the back and explained why this was. Will definitely return and look forward to the North Ronaldsay Lamb and Cranacan next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viking59Orkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I usually stay here on business trips to Stromness. It is excellent. The rooms are clean, warm and spacious. Food is lovely. It's a very short walk to Stromness Harbour and in a fine location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johntheboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle sind plus minus gleich
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaucho2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromness hotels
0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#2 of 9 in Stromness
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asgard B&B
Asgard B&B
#5 of 9 in Stromness
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53-57 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing