We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive as a stangerc ...leave as a friend”
Review of Stromness Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stromness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sp says the leaflet and thatv was certainl true of us .. situated in thisdelightful town in Orkney virtually opposite the ferry terminal ths hotel has a quaint feel to it .. the bedrooms are anything but though they are large airy .. front /side views best the Hamnavoe restaurant is tiop niotch.. it was full most nights we were there locals /divers/tourists .. nothing was a hassle or trouble despite being run off their feet meals were excellent .great place to stay and at the right end of the uisland to explore all the main sites

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

After camping for three days on one of the small islands with no facilities we popped into the Stromness Hotel for breakfast whilst waiting for the ferry. We were greeted by a really friendly lady in the restaurant who served us up a great breakfast with a perfect poached egg, bliss!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Slingbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were on a half board group holiday. The food was extremely good; we are really fussy eaters. We had requested a quiet room and it was. It was a bit smelly round the loo but I think this was old plumbing rather than bad cleaning. The window rattled but this was solved by a bit of paper. The lift is a bit unpredictable and noisy. I don't know if it can be heard in the nearby bedrooms.
All the staff were friendly and the drink is cheap. We went to the storytelling evening which was enjoyable.
I hope we go back to Stromness. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandorapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the fifth or sixth year in a row that I've stayed at this hotel during the Orkney Folk Festival. Given that every room is full, and that the lounge bar is often bursting with music, food and drink from 11am until 1am, I cannot imagine that it is a particularly easy period for the staff - but cannot fault any of them or the stay itself.

The rooms, whilst some could do with updating, are immaculately clean, as are the public areas.

The food is great, and service throughout the weekend was always very fast - as it was at the bars. A very busy spell for everyone, but all hands on deck and everyone smiling.

Looking forward to next year!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've stayed here a number of times on business, most recently in May 2014. The hotel is an imposing old building in the heart of Stromness. The interior could be called old fashioned, but traditional would be more apt. There is parking round the back but it's steep, so not ideal for those who don't like hill starts, but there's usually plenty of parking on the street outside the front. I've always found the hotel's public area and rooms to be cleaned to a high standard and the brasswork seems to get polished to within an inch of its life on a daily basis. There is a pretty good variety of choice at breakfast, and the cooked breakfast are what you would expect. The Orkney black pudding they serve would certainly give the black pudding the the Western Isles a good run for its money. I've never had one of their omlettes at breakfast, but having spoken to other guests, they are apparently pretty decent. The bar on the first floor serves a decent pint, but I've never sampled the ground floor public bar.

One word of warning about the lift, it seems a little feisty, so be prepared!

Room Tip: Avoid the one above the kitchens, as the extractor fan is quite audible in the room; although it get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El_Scallipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second stay here and enjoyed it as much as the first time. A bit old-fashioned, with some history thrown in, coupled with friendly, helpful staff made our stay a comfortable one. A good selection of meals and a hearty breakfast. Parking and internet available. The proximity to many historic sites made travelling around easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111HGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is clean and our room had a wonderful view. It was noisy on Saturday night. Breakfast was good and the Bar food had a good selection. Staff were lovely. Room comfortable and clean but definitely dated. Very central location for Stromness and Ferry

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdwatcher35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
12.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
6.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
331 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
188 reviews
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromness Hotel

Address: 15 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range: £89 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stromness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1901, our historic 42 bedroom hotel lies in the heart of the unique fishing port of Stromness, overlooking the working harbour and Scapa Flow. The bedrooms are en-suite with telephones, colour television and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a lift to all floors and car parking is available to guests. Indulge in the charm of a picturesque village harbour view from the bay windows of the Hamnavoe Lounge Bar where award-winning Orkney Ales are available on tap or enjoy a welcoming open fire and warm atmosphere in the splendour of the Flattie Bar. Residents can enjoy a cosy quiet atmosphere in the Still Room with a choice of over one hundred malt whiskies. The a la carte Scapa Flow Restaurant prides itself on using the finest local Orcadian produce - the very best grass-reared beef, fresh fish and succulent shellfish. To the rear of the hotel we have a large beautifully kept Victorian Garden where residents can enjoy a stroll in the evening or a quiet refreshment whilst relaxing in the afternoon. The hotel can also cater for weddings, parties and functions for up to 120 guests or any special event you may require, at very competitive rates. Please contact us for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stromness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stromness Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing