We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic !”
other traveller has booked this property
Right on the sea! Own private pier, parking.  Can't get much closer to the sea than this!  4 star.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Right on the sea! Own private pier, parking.  Can't get much closer to the sea than this!  4 star.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Right on the sea! Own private pier, parking.  Can't get much closer to the sea than this!  4 star.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stromness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavKez556...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A group of 7 of us booked 2 cottages through Rosemary, I booked 4 South End from my home in Australia for 5 and another couple booked 36 Alfred st from their home in England. Dealing with Rosemary was easy and professional, our cottage was beautifully decorated (there was some wet paint about though which was a little tricky our first night). Everything you could possibly need was provided, even down to scissors and bandaids (sticking plasters). Beautiful garden and views, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkeHenri...
Telgte, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfy, welcoming and amazing cottage :-)”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed about three weeks at Stromness in the harbour cottage and it was marvellous!! Every single room is very affectionately decorated and the facilities are amazing. It's taken care of everything: the kitchen is fully equipped - I really liked the selection of spices, tea and coffee (great fun to try every day a different sort of tea) - the living room has a big choice of books, in the bathrooms you can find a lot of different bath soaps and from almost every room there's a great view at the harbour.

We had a really great time, enjoyed every day and so did our dogs :-)

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell L
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredibly good”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Stromness for a week. We got married on Papa Westray, and so it was really important to us that the stay was comfortable and problem free. Our friends were also getting married with us and so the four of us stayed. Everything and more was provided, from coffee to bath soap to stationary to a vast selection of food spices. The accommodation was warm, clean and very comfortable. Stromness is an incredibly wonderful place to stay if you want to get away from it all and still have local facilities. The views were excellent, and feel of staying at the harbour edge was just sublime. The music and culture of Stromness is another bonus. I would happily live in this cottage, never mind just stay in it. I cannot recommend this place enough and would certainly return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafront Cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay. Loved the location and the bothy a great place to relax at night. Great selection of coffees and Radox especially useful after a long walk. Very pet friendly and in a good location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great atmoshere of the cottage and a great place to take a break
Liked least: No weight scales in the kitchen and no toilet brush
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfulf”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 1 week from 4-11th July 2015. Number 40 Alfred Street was exactly as promised, if not better! The cottage's interior is superbly designed retaining many quirky features such as the entrance into the upstairs bathroom. The cottage is superbly equipped and more than enough provisions are provided, including a myriad of teas to choose from. The harbour view is visible throughout the front portion of the cottage, and inside there are lovely reminders that you are staying near a harbour. We were able to sit out on several occasions and the furniture is comfortable and plentiful. It was lovely to sit outside on our private pier watching the wildlife and the ferry and small boats come and go. Stromness is lovely and it was a pleasure to walk around the old streets. Shopping for food is very good with a great Deli and Butchers. Eating out is also good and all just a short walk from the cottage. We both felt very sad when we had to leave, so we are returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the private pier enjoying the comings and goings of boats and wildlife
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy2733
Lybster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in 36 Alfred Street for a week with a 6 month baby. Excellent holiday rental furnished to a high standard throughout. The selection of radox bubble bath was a thoughtful touch.A short walk to the shops and services. Rosemary was excellent at sorting out a small query we had. Excellent communication throughout.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich H
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic find...”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Quite simply a marvellous place to stay. A very well stocked and well maintained holiday home away from home. We loved sitting in the snug by the sea drinking tea and watching the world go by.

It was a genuine pleasure to stay here Rosemay was really helpful when it came to organising some of the details of our stay.

Our top tips would be to try out the deli just up the road, search out the fish shop (on the other side of the academy across town) and visit the butchers on the Main Street. The latter especially as they have a stunning range meats and good selection of local produce.

Stormness is a lovely place.to explore and if you like your beer I'd recommend a visit to the Ferry Inn, they have a great selection of local craft beer on tap. The brewery is also on the way to Skara Brae so tis easy to combine for a trip out.

Try it, it's a great value snug spot by the sea in a beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The snug by the sea and the amazing range of different teas.
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing