We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat well”
Review of Julia's Cafe

Julia's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Stromness
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat well”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Eat at this wee 'cafe' regularly. Don't be put off by the 'cafe' name, it serves better food than some of the hotel bar restaurants. The service can be a bit slow but that is because they are busy at peak times and there meals are prepared as they are ordered, not reheated/microwaved etc.
Good wholesome meals on their 'specials board' as well as a good selection from the standard menu + a good children's menu.
It isn't any more expensive than most other eateries these days

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orcadain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    127
    46
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited here for a quick cup of coffee . When it arrived it was good, coffee a bit too weak but the homebakes were tasty. The service was quite slow however and the staff not very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ignored”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Went in, asked at counter if I had to order at the counter or if it was waitress service and got pointed in the direction of a table. I took a seat and was still waiting to be served 15 minutes later so I left. I have used Julias on the past and found it to be adequate if somewhat expensive for what you get. They now obviously get so much business they can afford to ignore customers. I will not trouble them again.

Helpful?
1 Thank pashl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The only place I went twice”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I had a tasty lunch here on the day we visited the Ness Battery near Stromness. We also popped in for a quick bite the morning we left the Orkneys on the Northlink ferry. It's a cheery little place across from the ferry terminal and they make a good chai latte.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good coffee and apple pie”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We wandered round Stromness looking for a cafe that would take our dog and eventually a local said this one would allow us to sit out with him. Luckily it was sunny and dry (though windy of course!) so that wasn't much of a hardship (though it has an unlovely view of the ferry terminal). The coffee was excellent and I had to stop my partner having seconds of the apple pie. Friendly staff. Just a shame they won't let dogs inside when the weather is often not conducive to sitting around outdoors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julia's Cafe also viewed

Stromness, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Julia's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing