We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central, fantastic breakfasts”
Review of Orca Hotel

Orca Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here at the end of March (touring on motorbike) and was very lucky to have beautiful weather. Anyway the Orca, is very central, but as Stromness is not very big not to much of an issue. The room itself was large with shower room, furniture was oldish but clean and comfy. Fantastic breakfasts served up by Doris the friendly German owner, I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked 3 nights here for our honeymoon. We decided to leave after 2 mins and find somewhere else. Location was good but the room was very small and we didn't think it was suitable for our honeymoon stay. Tv was tiny and would have been unwatchable. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brash85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

we needed to travel to Orkney for a wedding and it was a new experience for us as we had not been to the Islands before . we needed a family room and the budget price was very acceptable but obviously we had qualms as to what to expect.Sill y us our experience was fantastic from the charming hostess to the art collection on display to the wonderful service excellent breakfast it was a wonderful . Initially do not be put off by the laid back approach that is so alien to City Dwellers it is part of the reason for going to Orkney a place where people are friendly and can still leave their doors unlocked when they go out anybody remember when you could last do that in the big bad world Go to Orkney leave your cares behind and enjoy life

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curmudgeon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

A bit of a dust would have been nice. Bed was a bit crumpled looked like it had been already slept in, probably wasnt maybe just needed ironed. No parking near the hotel. The owner was friendly and help'full. Can't comment on the cooked breakfast as we were catching the 06.30 hrs ferry in the morning. For the money it was ok, i suppose you get what you pay for. Wont stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

In April my father and me made a little 3-day trip on the Orkney islands. We came from Caitness up with the ferry to Stromness, so we had to take a hotel there, and because the"Orca Hotel" had a price-service condition, we decided to stay there. The first impression , when you entrance the hotel is nice and very unnormal, because all these marine decoration in the breakfast room made a funny and invitating impression. We were greet very friendly by the woman, Doris, who posses the hotel. For german tourist its a good hotel adress, because the hotel-leading woman can speak german, because she`s from Austria. Next irritating impression first was the staying-romm. Very tight, but after a few days you feel really good in this room, have fun and can watch english television after long preparation of the Tv for working good. During the night you can sleep on a very mild and every day washed bed. The position of the hotel lies very near, 100 meters from the port, so that sea -tours aren´t a problem in matter of time. Breakfast, cooked after you wishes was very good, with haggis, eggs , boiled or cooked, and tea, or different juices. After a 3-day stay at these hotel i really felt, i would like to come back every day to the orca Hotel and be nice invited, and be in good hands!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sim093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

You get what you pay for and a bit more. Almost every review has mentioned the breakfast - not without cause. I agree with another reviewer who said it was the best she/he had ever had. 10/10 for quality! I was staying with two friends and we shared a room which was more than adequate for the three of us. Good shower and toilet facilities en suite. Location is perfect - two banks within yards of the hotel, a dress boutique, museum, cafe and hotel also within 50 yards. The advice was to eat on the ferry as we were arriving around 9pm - good advice. But we had a lovely meal on another occasion at the Royal Hotel practically over the road. - don't judge anything in Orkney by it's exterior!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This B&B is in the centre of Stromness. It's a bit dated but clean, comfortable, quiet and inexpensive. It has all the facilities you'd expect for this level of accomodation.
Stromness itself is a hole. Be sure to eat on the ferry if you're arriving late - the local pubs clearly can't be bothered to cater for the influx of hungry punters off the last ferry - seems like a missed opportunity to me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
6.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Hotel

Address: 76 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range: £20 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orca Hotel is a family-run guest house in the heart of Stromness. Located right on the harbor just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal it is ideally situated to explore Orkney Mainland and the Island of Hoy. Comfortable en-suite rooms, generous home-cooked breakfasts and free use of laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orca Hotel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing