We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Orca Hotel

Orca Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have read some of the negative views about this hotel, and I cannot see why people are complaining. yes the furniture is a bit dated, but the hotel is clean and tidy, It is a budget hotel so don't expect the Ritz.
The landlady is very friendly and she does a really good breakfast and she is constantly asking if the breakfast is ok and do you want anymore.
If I should have a need to return to Orkney I would have no hesitation in returning to the Orca hotel.
As the hotel is on the main street there is limited parking, I would recommend that you park near the ferry terminal and walk to the hotel it only a couple of minutes and the parking will cost you a whopping £1 from 9am to 5pm, the rest of the time is free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bogbean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very friendly, warm welcome after a very long journey. The bedroom was comfortable and warm with an unexpected en suite shower room. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice on offer. I booked for 1 person and was given a family room which would have been perfectly good if I had taken my husband and son.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontanaReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As a group of 9 (originally 11) mostly 60+ year olds, we thoroughly enjoyed our Orkney holiday and were very pleased we chose the Orca. Doris and Marlene were most accomodating and welcoming and the breakfasts were great and varied. We were free to use the dining room during the day/evening and the spare fridge and washing machine/drier (which we needed after missing the tide slightly at Brough of Birsay!). We thought the price was good and the location in the centre of Stromness couldn't be better. The rooms were all a bit different in size and ours wasn't all that easy to move around in but it didn't matter to us. Not everyone would like the basic b&b set up without modern bedroom furniture etc but I would rather have that than pay a fortune as it was clean and comfortable. Thanks, Doris!

Room Tip: if you need a lot of living space, ask in advance for one of the roomier rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maydotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I always think that when you get the extremes of reviews that you have here,then you are talking about an establishment which deviates from the norm and this one certainly does! It is not the Premier Inn! If you are a person who requires a toothbrush to be have been taken to every corner of the room, then this is not for you. In my opinion however,the Orca is clean. I was with a party of nine and none of us felt the place to be dirty although I would agree the communal carpet should be replaced soonish! Doris is very enthusiastic and cheery and her able helper Marlene is a breath of fresh air and a good laugh. We had different breakfast offerings every day, which was nice and we also got access to a fridge and washing/ drying facilities. My main beef would be that the shower was not hot enough. So if you're into power showers this wouldn't be for you either! Clearly, two big advantages are the price and the situation right in the heart of Stromness and a five minute walk from the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hardygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Three of us stayed three nights (14-17 September 2012) in the Orca Hotel, two in a family room and the third in a single room. The furnishings were unpretentious but clean and comfortable. The owner, Doris Fischler, and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very good indeed and could have been enormous, had we so wished. Our long weekend in Orkney was thoroughly enjoyable and our stay in the Orca contributed to this in full measure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 389Seumas389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I booked the Orca for a diving trip to Scapa Flow and after some good reviews I was a bit worried by some of the negative ones I saw leading up to my visit in September.

The Orca's not a hotel, it's a B&B or Guesthouse in a tiny Orkney town. If people stay in Stromness and expect modern hotels with Ikea furniture, I'm not sure where they are going, because from what I saw the Orca is a comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay, if not as grand as, say, the Stromness Hotel (which is much dearer).

I found Doris very friendly during my stay. I didn't ask for much, but whenever I did ask for something, like an early breakfast or somewhere to leave my damp drysuit, she was amenable and helpful (as was Malin who helped out at breakfast).

Breakfast was exceptionally good every day (great if you're diving or walking!), a couple of days this and a snack lunch was all I needed to eat! When I had to leave before breakfast on my last day, Doris knocked off a fiver for the breakfast I missed.

I had room 1, a twin, to myself. The room was a decent size for two people, with cupboard and drawer space enough, so plenty for 1 person. The furniture was a little old and the bathroom, not the latest in fittings, but it was comfortable and clean and there was always hot water in the shower.

One small complaint was that the wall between room 1 and 2 is just a stud partition and I could, sometimes, hear snoring from the other room (apologies if you stayed in room 2 and suffered from the man in room 1 snoring!), but aside from soundproofing the wall, there's not much you could do about that. It never bothered me for long, but it might if you're a very light sleeper.

I must admit, I don't recognise the place I stayed at or the hostess from some of the negative reviews here.

I was made welcome, was comfortable and enjoyed staying at the Orca.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

On arriving Doris showed us to our room, musty, smelly, stained and threadbare carpets, bedlinen and towels old and faded, toilet disgusting, my son found scattered pills just under a bed. decided against staying, eventually after finding landlady Doris (who is German) she ranted and raved about she will take at least a nights money from us, NO WAY was she getting it, It did not spoil our holiday, Stromness is a lovely friendly, clean place, and the people were very sorry that our first experience of Orkney was Doris and the Orca HOTEL

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank noddy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
217 reviews
6.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
331 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Hotel

Address: 76 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range: £20 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orca Hotel is a family-run guest house in the heart of Stromness. Located right on the harbor just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal it is ideally situated to explore Orkney Mainland and the Island of Hoy. Comfortable en-suite rooms, generous home-cooked breakfasts and free use of laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orca Hotel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing