We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Orca Hotel

Orca Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Orca hotel was a great place to stay in Stromness.
The room was cozy, and the host was welcoming and helpful.
There doth exist a fantastical view of thee wharf of the high night northern seas.
Breakfast was great, and they were able to accommodate our dietary needs.

Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed three nights in late August. This hotel is just a few steps from the ferry landing, the bus stop (public buses run all over Orkney), shops and restaurants, local museums and sites of interest. Our room was compact, warm and spotless: one of the cleanest places we stayed. We felt very welcome, and the breakfasts were super (great coffee!). An added value: one of the hosts is a local beekeeper, and is very willing to talk with guests about this fascinating and important avocation. We would definitely stay in the Orca again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a small family run Hotel, most importantly is the fact that it was clean and warm...good nights sleep, great breakfast, owner more than happy to help, only problem, finding a place to park your car...other than that, Good value for money !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taitcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed four nights. The rooms are small, clean and quiet. The breakfast is well prepared and generous. You won't find luxury here. But you will find a good place to sleep, a welcoming owner and cook, and a good location.
It's a good value in an expensive place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgleBargleUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orca, although having read the negative comments on here I was a bit worried. I needn't have been the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was done as I requested with plenty to eat. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShetlandSheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a great time at the Orca Hotel - staff friendly and obliging and very interesting to speak with. Breakfasts were grand and the room was warm and clean. Great little place to relax and gather yourself together. Highly recommend the Orca Hotel and if you enjoy youth hosteling then you will love this place - very similar ambiance - free and easy and anything goes .............

Thanks Doris!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank U11cjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stay at the Orca with my mate as we went there to move his father back to the main land after living in Orkney for 33 years. We found the hotel basic but clean, & very friendly,& after 12 hours on the road it was nice to find a nice comfortable & warm bed. The breakfast was very good indeed & filling kept you going all day. Would recommed anybody wanting a place to stay that is reasonable to stay here.The price is good & the staff cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredster_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
189 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
6.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
7.8 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
82 reviews
12.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Hotel

Property: Orca Hotel
Address: 76 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orca Hotel is a family-run guest house in the heart of Stromness. Located right on the harbor just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal it is ideally situated to explore Orkney Mainland and the Island of Hoy. Comfortable en-suite rooms, generous home-cooked breakfasts and free use of laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orca Hotel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing