We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet C
Liverpool, United Kingdom

Warm welcome in February.

Review of Orca Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 May 2020via mobile
We arrived late at night after calling directly on the way to reserve a room. The host was welcoming and accommodating. The hotel was quirky and personal and geared towards travellers. It was well resourced with information about local activities and places to see. There was personal touches to the place such as free cosmetics just in case you had left what you needed behind.
The breakfast was very special with local produce. Cosy and comfortable and would definitely return.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.6 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of 45 John Street
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Rysa House B&B
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from Orca Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Orca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    1.2 miles from Orca Hotel
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 miles from Orca Hotel
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.6 miles from Orca Hotel
    View more hotels in Stromness
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    30
    12
    3
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    19
    30
    12
    3
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews family room an excellent host en suite shower room would stay here again few minutes walk guest house orkney islands each morning yogurt doris bunk breakfast facilities cheese
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 7 August 2019

    We enjoyed our stay at the Orca Hotel, a good middle of the road accommodation. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast tasty and plentiful. There is no lift so you need to use the stairs to get to your room.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Thank rastrahl2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 July 2019

    As per the pictures this place is a basic buget option. You get what you pay for but its a solid options for a night or two, especially if you come off the ferry.
    We booked a twin room whcih was long and skinny with an aged but clean bathroom. The room had a kettle, coffee, biscuits and some Orkney fudge which was a nice touch.
    Parking is available a short walk away between the ferry terminal and the sainsbury's along the water.
    There was a washing machine and dryer available for use which really made our stay.
    We didnt have breakfast but there lots of good smells coming from the dining room when we left in the morning. The owner/manager was very friendly.
    If I stayed in Stromnesss again I'd get an apartment with self catering as the pubs were overpriced and terrible portion sizes and the takeaway also expensive.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Frequentjaunts
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 September 2017

    Nicely located in a very nice town that doesn't have a lot of hotel-like accommodations available. Good breakfasts. Rooms quite small and dated and so are very basic. Carpets were very "well used"; would be the first thing I would suggest replacing!! Not up to typical North American standards but in a pinch served our purposes.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank D D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 September 2017

    I'm giving Orca 5 stars, not because it's perfect in every way but because it was perfect for what I wanted. As a solo traveller in my sixties I was looking for somewhere safe, welcoming and relaxed with a few home comforts such as heat, a comfy bed, large towels, large mugs of tea and wonderful breakfasts, but nothing too posh. Doris was helpful, friendly and welcoming without being pushy or interfering. I had the small double room to myself which was quite big enough and very good value. I stayed a week and by the end it really felt like home. Hope to be back some time 🙂

    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank clarissadennison
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 July 2017

    We were looking for somewhere to stay for a weeks diving in Scapa Flow. The location was perfect just a few minutes from the harbour and the centre of Stromness. The twin room was not big but quite adequate. Plenty of hot water and a good shower. Very clean. Our room was on the street side with a pub just 30 m away and there was a bit of noise late evening but nothing to be of concern. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast/hostel and there is no reception as such. The owner is always available on the phone if needed. The breakfast was excellent. WiFi was a bit frustrating at times. I was concerned about parking but it was fine. There is a free long term car park above the town at the University and there is a small path which runs down nearly opposite the Orca. It was only a few minutes walk but people with much luggage may want to drive up the streets first, drop luggage and then park.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank LawrenceT540
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews