We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 15 Church Road

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stromness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
D0nmar201...
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed 27 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had been planning to visit Orkney for a long time and were so glad we eventually did and that we chose to stay in Stromness at No 15 Church Road. Stromness is a lovely quaint little town, a stones throw from the ferry, shops with lovely local produce and restaurants/coffee shops and No 15 Church Road was the perfect base for our sightseeing. The cottage was lovely and well equipped with everything we needed and super value for money. The welcome basket was delicious and so thoughtful, and Hilary and Rachel were very welcoming - thank you. We did a lot of sightseeing on our visit but there is so much to do and see that we didn't do everything so good excuse to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2018
It was good to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanelai...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely central apartment”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My brother and I were very sorry to leave No. 15 Church Road. It was cosy, well equipt and central. With the ferry and bus terminal but a stones throw away plus lovely shops with local produce.
When we arrived on the Monday we met Hilary, Andy's sister, and we had a lovely chat. A wonderful welcome basket was left too which, sadly, we worked our through. Not good for the waist line but absolutely delicious.
There was so much of Orkney we could not cover so we will definitely be back. Thank you Andy, Hilary and Chester the adorable dog.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind words. Good to meet you and hope you had a good journey home. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Mull Scotland
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
libna27
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stromness Holiday Cottage.”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Impressed?? You bet we were !! Our first visit to Orkney and we could have extended our stay in Stromness and resided quite happily at 15 Church Road indefinitely but unfortunately, like other things, we couldn't. Stromness, a preferable holiday base to Kirkwall in our opinion, is historically unique and truly a step back in time. Apart from its exterior which blends with the rest of Stromness the same "step back" can't describe our lovely accommodation located "slap bang" in the middle of the town with all its mod. cons. and deft interior touches. Wash m/c, dish washer, fridge, freezer, microwave, 4 slice toaster, Wi-Fi etc. etc. all to a high standard. Under floor heating thermostatically controlled in each room an unexpected luxury bonus for those in need on cold days and not with standing the lashings of constant hot water on tap to both sinks and shower. To gloat a wee bit, we however didn't require the heating as the Orcadian weather during our fortnight's stay was superb allowing us to make the most of all of the sights, sites and attractions on offer. Won't go into any detail about those but in Stromness itself, once you find your feet and have "raked about" the narrow winding streets you will be captured and find all of your days requirements (including pubs and a Chinese take away) all in close proximity to No !5 Church Road. What a never to be forgotten place or location. All thanks and best wishe s go to Andy C., Hilary And Rachel for making our stay a truly memorable and remarkable experience. As an example where else in the U K Hilary (or else where) will/would you get a hand written "Puffin Report" posted unannounced through the letter box. Absolutely brilliant and many many thanks once more to all for your quiet unobtrusive consideration(s) We Loved It All !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to meet and chat with you. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully we will get you to see puffins then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage was spotless and had in it all we would need for a week's (or more) holiday. The free parking outside the door was a bonus. We had a super time exploring the island and then relaxing at no.15 in the evenings. Many thanks to Andy for his thoughtfulness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
So glad you enjoyed your time in Orkney and looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BitsBaby
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, excellent location”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stromness is a really beautiful town, even in (especially in?) December and January. We stayed in Andy's cottage for a month - long enough to discover the problems, but there weren't any! The fully-fitted kitchen has all that you need, including full sized freezer, separate fridge, washing machine + tumble dryer. There's loads of storage space for bags, water-proofs, hats, scarves, wellies, clothes etc etc. Underfloor heating means it's wonderfully warm and cosy when you come home after a windy walk along the coastal path, and stuff dries quickly - very useful given that it does rain a lot. Andy & Hilary couldn't have been more helpful in making us welcome, setting us up with an office in the 2nd bedroom, and providing the one thing that was missing - a dish for making rice pudding. Parking is on the street - generally we had no problem finding a pace to park on Church Road but on occasion had to park down the road (all of 1 minute walk). The cottage doesn't have a garden (not that we wanted to sit out in winter) but just stroll along towards Point of Ness and you'll find benches to sit on to watch the sunset. Stromness is incredibly vibrant for such as small town. The gym and swimming pool are excellent, the library is first class as is the weeny bookshop, the Pier Art Gallery is a hidden gem (there aren't many other towns in the UK that have a permanent collection of Barbara Hepworth and Ben Nicholson art). The food in the shops is locally sourced - I recommend Flett's the butcher, the fish shop on the harbour, Orkney milk in most shops, Westray Bakehouse bread from the newspaper shop, and the smoked mackerel and oatcakes from the deli. The Co-op store is not huge but is very well provisioned. And if you want alternative supermarkets or the 'big brand' craft shops, the bus fare into Kirkwall (for those who don't want to drive) is something like £5 return - a bargain. Overall we had a really lovely stay - thank you to Andy for making 15 Church Road a very comfortable base. (By the way, Andy - you need to change the description of the cottage on the Tripadvisor page - there's only one bathroom (not two) which has a shower - a very good one.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind review of 15, Church Road and Orkney. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards from Hilary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek71359...
1 review
“Excellent small cottage for a family rental”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Quiet location right just of the main street in the middle of Stromness. Good range of nearby grocers, bakeries etc. and very convenient for the ferries.

Generally very good facilities and decor in this bijou cottage. The underfloor heating is excellent and very efficient (once one allows for the time delay after first switching the system on). Very good value for money.

One minor quibble is that the second bedroom is rather small and equipped with bunk beds; a fact not apparent in the online list of amenities. Thus the property is perhaps more suitable for a family with two children rather than for two couples sharing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing