We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience to be repeated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamnavoe

Hamnavoe
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Stromness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An experience to be repeated”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed our meal at the Hamnavoe. The atmosphere is intimate and cosy, with a live fire burning, and the service is quick and friendly (helpful discussion about the current folk scene in Stromness). The food is imaginative without being too left-field. It was an experience to eat here, and one we'd gladly repeat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    45
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh seafood”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just of the main street in Stromness, this wee gem was busy even on Monday night-- we couldn't get a table but ensured we booked for Tuesday night: every table again was full. The service was by two youngsters, but they were incredibly good--polite, friendly, attentive and helpful.
The quality of the seafood was fabulous. I had the plaice, and the flavour was wonderful. Served with fresh dill as a garnish and fresh vegetables as a side dish, this meal was perfection (to me, anyway).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paterles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent dInner prior to boarding 'overnight' ferry”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Cosy restaurant in heart of Stromness. Excellent menu and good service. The restaurant is very small so it is important to book well ahead.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came here for a pre-booked group dinner, and the place was very busy. Possibly a little too busy - we were hurried through our food a little because we arrived 5 minutes late and they wanted us out of the way before later bookings turned up. Their menu changes constantly according to what's available, but when we were there included a lobster thermidor which was rather good - as were many of the other dishes my friends had (the plaice was cooked superbly). I personally had a sirloin steak, which was well-cooked but a little lacking in depth of flavour - but all the dishes, starters and desserts included, were well thought out and executed.

It is also worth mentioning that one person in our group has unusual dietary requirements, as he needs to avoid added salt in all food and has real problems at most restaurants given the amount of salt in sauces and stocks. However, Hamnavoe went out of their way to create interesting and different dishes that worked for him, telling him all the ingredients and preparation process so he could be sure what he was eating, which was very impressive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank skittledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great ingredients, good cooking, friendly staff, but ...”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Booked for Tuesday as seemed the most special place in town. Friendly and unfussy, menu looked good. Starters were wonderful. Wine list short but very good. Our cheapish bottle was delicious. My wife had the special shrimp. They were great but the restaurant had no tools to help eat them. My scallops were perfectly cooked but the sauce was too rich and very poorly balanced. I scraped it off. I had a 'strawberry romanoff' dessert. It was really nice once I had mixed a lot of sugar into the sauce. (Hearsay: we overheard another diner say she could not eat the haddock because of the sauce).

I think the chef needs to re-think the sauces. Then this place would be great.

Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamnavoe also viewed

Stromness, Mainland
 
Stromness, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Hamnavoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing