We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid!”
Review of Ferry Bank

Ferry Bank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferry Bank
Ranked #7 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a B&B in a million... Yes, the decor is quite unusual, but the room was warm and extremely comfortable, with a view over the harbour. The owner has thought of everything- iron, hairdryer, a selection of teas, coffee, little fridge full of milk, biscuits, sweets, fresh flowers, big fluffy bathrobes- and the breakfast- à la carte, choose from the menu the day before- was excellent. And Venus Hourston is a charming hostess. Highly recommended- but there's only one room, so hurry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIROGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hi Lovely Hostess,

Warm, friendly, helpful hostess (great cook too!). Beautiful home with a view of the harbour that is in walking distance of all restaurants, shops and scuba/boat rentals. Hostess was kind and packed us a breakfast to go on morning where we were heading out on boat tours.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

B & B in a ideal location especially for divers.
Stayed here 3 nights and was very impressed.
Quirky decor and very clean with everything available you might need.
Best thing about this place is the owner. She is so attentive and cooks the most amazing breakfast! You wont need to eat again all day! Nothing is too much effort and she looks after you very well.
Probably the best b & b i have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Two nights in this superb B&B confirms Scotland's 4 star B&B value. Used family room provided with many extras including bath robes and a wide cross section of cosmetic toiletries. A seperate comfortable lounge is available for TV viewing on a large flat screen.

Excellent siting of this B&B overlooks the busy Stromness harbour and marina.

Furnishing is quite exotic and persoanl - and none the worse for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billhercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very pleasant B&B in good position overlooking Stromness harbout. Good sized bedroom with so many thoughtful extras (eg umbrellas, ironing board and iron, two towelling dressing gowns, sweets, up to date magazines, little fridge for milk). Breakfast was exceptionally good. Marvellous fresh fruit salad, beautifully presented, all sorts of nuts, seeds etc to add to cereals and an amazing choice of cooked food (including salmon steaks)! The decor and ornaments were fussy and quirky but everything was exceptionally clean, beautifully presented and we were made very welcome. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Good central location and although decor and ornaments quite personal and quirky couldnt find fault. The room was a good size, shower brill and all the extras welcome. At £60 pn really good value too considering we also stayed in hostels charging £50 without breakfast. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hungrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Minutes from centre of town and ferry and parking available. Clean,
quiet and peaceful house. and a good hostess. We enjoyed our very good breakfasts
from the extensive menu provided. From this I would recommend Ferrybank to visitors
looking for accommodation in Orkney

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biscuit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 9 in Stromness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Bank

Property: Ferry Bank
Address: 2 North End Road, Stromness KW16 3AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ferry Bank Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing