We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backaskaill B&B and restaurant”
Review of Backaskaill

Backaskaill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sanday
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lovely traditional Farmhouse two minutes from the stunning sandy bay, with all modern conveniences! Great sea or country views, free wi-fi, lovely residents lounge and conservatory to relax in. All food in our restaurant is cooked fresh to order by Geoff, a professional chef with over 43 years experience. Cost effective too, BYO Alcohol, no corkage fee!
Reviewed 14 July 2012

A real treasure in Sanday , Orkney
Wonderful setting by a lovely beach in Orkney
The house is gracious and beautifully decorated. The owners were charming.
The meals are imaginative, well cooked and excellent
Owners took no end of trouble to meet dietary requirements and our two evening meals at Backaskaill were memorable.
Wish it were nearer for other visits but highly recommend anyone travelling to Orkney to try to get to Sanday and Backaskaill

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals so much that you came back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Excllent food at the backaskaill run by a lovely couple, one of whom is a chef, producing the sort of meals seen only in high class resteraunts.

1  Thank AlanB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This attractive B&B / Restaurant is under new ownership having commenced trading early in 2011. It is no longer the vegetarian only restaurant referred to elsewhere on the web. See www.bedandbreakfastsandayorkney.com for current web site.

We came here for dinner both evenings of our stay on Sanday. The proprietors, Janey and Geoff, made us very welcome. The menu is not extensive but offered a good selection of home cooked food. We variously ate sea food cocktail, anti pasta, soup and sauteed mushroom starters all of which we excellent. For mains we ate spinach and mushroom risotto (vegetarian surprise), seafood medley and Orkney steak, all beatifully cooked and presented. The rump steaks were as good as we have had anywhere. A selection of home made desserts and / or cheese was avaible to follow. Given notice specific dishes could be prepared. Expect to pay in the region of £50 for a three course dinner for two including coffee and service.

The restaurant does not have a drinks licence but you are most welcome to BYO. No corkage is charged and wine coolers and glasses etc. are all provided. This is a super system that works really well and saves a lot of money. Good cheap wine is available from the shop in Kettletoft.

We really enjoyed the food and unique dining experience is this small family-run restaurant. If we return to Sanday we would certainly aim to eat and stay at Backaskaill Farmhouse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Nearly passed it by but found the track down to their farmhouse.

We had a really great lunch. The soup with freshly baked bread - 2 sorts - was excellent. The sandwiches which followed were freshly prepared - so fresh that I was warned there would be a delay while they boiled the egg for my egg mayonnaise sandwich!! Again with their own fresh bread and with a salad side dish.From the contented sounds from our fellow diners their lunches were similarly appreciated.

We staggered outside and went for a long walk along the beautiful sandy beach 20 yards from their restaurant.

Tremendous..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inveroran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The Backaskaill Tea room and restaurant is located on the island of Sanday. A place so remote, I least expected a purely vegetarian restaurant.
I had lunch there twice, both was excellent food, the owners Maggie & Paul seem to do everything themselves, there was even homebaked proper brown bread and a side-salad that qualifies for that name. Most products used are also organic.
A very relaxing and welcoming place, I would recommend the non-vegetarians not to be scared away by the wholemeal image!
For an evening meal a reservation is required, the tea room is open all day (I turned up at 4 o´clock in the afternoon and was served lunch without complaints!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anastasia1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backaskaill also viewed

Sanday, Orkney Islands
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands
 

Been to Backaskaill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing