We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, inexpensive accommodation, with extremely helpful & friendly owners.”
Review of Ayre's Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ayre's Rock Hostel
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the campsite hostel for several days, which was extremely good value for money. Location is on a grassy point overlooking a tiny bay, with wonderful cliff walks straight out of the site. The owners, Paul & Julie, could not have been more friendly & helpful. Almost everywhere on Sanday is isolated, but there's a small shop within 10 mins walk & Paul offers a taxi service, which we used, as we hadn't brought a car. Highly recommended for eating out is nearby Backaskaill B&B - booking essential, only 10 seats.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathermx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Sanday is a beautiful place and staying at Ayres Rock made our trip even more enjoyable. The hostel is comfortable, clean, tidy, well located and has a very nice atmosphere.

Also, Paul and Julie, the owners, are extremely friendly and and helpful. They explained everything we wanted to know about the area, showed us the hostel themselves, lent us bikes (which was really useful) and were always ready to help. We'd definitely love to stay there again.

Cláudia & Shane

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cláudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_allan, Owner at Ayre's Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you Claudia we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit
Best regards Julie & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent holiday, stayed in the hostel, room and other areas very clean and tidy with comfortable beds food. We enjoyed the fish n chips cooked from the chip shop on saturday night. Thank you Paul and Julie fopr all your help and advice on the things top do and to see. Lots of wildlife, beautiful views and the most beautiful white sand unspoiled beaches, I have ever seen. Very relaxing
Will be back. Thanks again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_allan, Owner at Ayre's Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Pam
It was nice to show you and tell you about Sanday. Thank you for your review we look forward to your next visit
Regards Julie & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent 4 nights at Ayres Rock on my first every visit to Sanday.
I found Paula nd Julie to be excellent hosts.
We went for the twin hostel room plus meals. We were treated to a hearty cooked breakfast to start the day and a serious nosh up at night.
Ayre's Rock is in the middle of the island, making everywhere you might want to go easily accessible.
It's go a nice be beach out back, and some excellent trout fishing nearby!

Room Tip: Hostel is good, pods look fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fishinguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_allan, Owner at Ayre's Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi
So happy you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to cook your meals
Thanks for some great conversations re trout fishing and hope to see you again
Regards Julie & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a few days travelling around on Sanday and Ayres Rock Hostel was a great base to stay. The hostel was exceptionally well maintained and value for money. Paul, Julie and their children Molly and Ambrosse made us feel very welcome and the personal service was second to none. We highly recommend a stay here and see for yourself.

Room Tip: The hostel is right next to the beach and all rooms and pods have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_allan, Owner at Ayre's Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to you next visit
Paul, Julie, Molly & Ambrose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. Very small but enjoyed it very much. The couple are very nice and would definitely come back and stay again. Very quiet location. You really need a car to get around but you can hire bikes if you prefer. The best nights sleep I've had in ages.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderhogg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in one of the pods for 2 nights in August 2013 had a really good nights sleep, even though I was on my own I felt very safe. The couple who run the hostel were absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. I had no problems with the facilities, Kitchen was fine and very clean and would definately go back there again. Plenty of parking spaces. The Island has many brilliant little secret places to visit like a croft renovaited to excatly how it would of been 100 years ago which you can walk around and a museum in a huge conservatory of the ex head mistress. I found out these by asking a local at the pub which is far better than any website for information. There are more than enough things to do here and its kind of untouched by tourism. Which I think was a plus for a real taste of orkney. If you go to one of the beaches you'll probably be the only one apart from the very curious seals who follow you along the coast line. Just make sure you have either brought your own food or visited the local community shop or like me you will have to eat at the pub! (which was also a good way to meet the locals) If you ask them nicely they will even do you a packed lunch for the next day!

Room Tip: My pod had an electic wall mounted heater which was more than enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_allan, Owner at Ayre's Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi Lisa
Glad you enjoyed your visit nice to have met you. Hope you visit again
Regards Julie , Paul & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ayre's Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre's Rock Hostel

Address: Ayre Coo road | Sanday Orkney, KW17 2AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sanday
Price Range: £32 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre's Rock Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Julie welcome you to excellent four star Visit Scotland accredited Hostel facilities. Ayre's Rock a small quiet friendly hostel & campsite. The hostel which is a converted barn & byre with thick stone walls set in a grassed court yard. The hostel sleeps eight people with two twin rooms one family room and a fully fitted kitchen with a conservatory to sit and relax in at the end of the day. Beds can be booked on a self-catering or Bed & Breakfast basis. Our campsite overlooks the Noust of Ayre with lovely sea views we have three Camping Pods for all year camping and a static caravan, our campsite has a modern heated shower block, lounge and kitchen area overlooking the Holms of Ire. We are ideally located for enjoying everything Sanday has to offer. Our shop stocks local crafts and the Chip Shop offers hot meal takeaways on Saturday nights. Come and experience Sanday an Orkney Island at its best with beautiful sandy beaches a isle steeped in history and charm. We offer a sanctuary for those that seek it a perfect place to come and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ayre's Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre's Rock Hostel Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing