We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to sleep, eat & be merry”
Review of Belsair Hotel

Belsair Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanday
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belsair Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanday
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Had a meal here with friends the other day. John, the proprietor, was very welcoming. We had meals for four and the bill was around £40 including drinks, two coffees and ice creams. The Belsair is a well-maintained establishment situated down by the old harbour in Kettletoft. Rooms available at £30 per person B&B. There is even a free cash point, and the restaurant comprises three dining rooms so there is plenty of space. I recommend the crispy fried mushrooms with cheesy chips, a bargain at £3.75; see illustration.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Belsair when we visited Sanday recently. Admittedly, Sanday doesn't have all that many options, but we found the Belsair to be ideal. The bed was extremely comfortable,and the room had all the facilities we needed and a lovely view; the food was typical 'pub food' but was very well prepared and tasty, but most of all, John and Elizabeth were the most welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts. We really enjoyed Sanday. It is ideal for a peaceful few days, though a word to the local community: you could do with more signs to help out directionally challenged tourists!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Warm welcome. Good rooms and service.Excellent value and hearty bar meals.
Ran by a friendly couple

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florakiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Hi John.
Thank's for the hours we spent chatting in September.
You are my fondest memory from my visit to Orkney.
And I really appreciated the loan of your car!
The view across Otterswick was fantastic. Thank's for the tip.
And I really enjpyed the Pie.

I hope all is well with you and Mrs. sinclair.

"Long may yer lum reek"
Best wishes.
- Finn

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank Finndane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2006

We have just spent a week in orkney and while visiting sandy we stayed at the belsair inn.We had a warm welcome from the proprieters who where of the freindliest.the familey room was large, warm and very comfortable,the room had en-suite, tv, tea+coffee.we eat in the lounge which had a lovely log fire burning away that was very cosy,We would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eifion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Belsair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belsair Hotel

Address: Kettletoft | Kettletoft, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanday
Price Range: £25 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Belsair Hotel Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing