We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service when arrived at bar.”
Review of Belsair Hotel

Belsair Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanday
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belsair Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanday
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We decided to go into the Belsair for a drink, when we were out on a day trip. When we arrived there was one man in the bar, with a pint, we stood for at least 10 minutes & no one came through to serve us, looked for a bell or something to get staffs attention but couldn't see one! We walked out & went to the other hotel were we got served straight away.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank shosho2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Belsair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Made very welcome with my children and parents. Toasted Sandwiches a must !!!!
Nothing was too much trouble.

Both owners are going to a lot of trouble to make this a success and I wish them all of the best on this and yes I will return !!!!!

Great location too

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stopped just one night as I was passing through. Rooms a little old . And a bit dusty but comfy bed..
I went for a meal but service was slow and very average to be fair.. probably give this one a miss in future. Lovely island though. Will definitely return there

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank happyme5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

There are not many options on Sanday. Room was comfy, a bit dusty - looked like it had only had a lick and a promise. Bed comfy. Shower fair flow but small cubicle. Felt like we were inconveniancing the owner by being there, didn't feel welcome at all. Premises very dated but you can forgive that if you get a friendly service and good food. The breakfast was poor. Burnt slice of toast with a overcooked egg (glad we had eaten at the hotel next door the night before if this is what the cooking was like). My friend said it looked like a seagull had bombed on my plate!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lotterywinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Had a meal here with friends the other day. John, the proprietor, was very welcoming. We had meals for four and the bill was around £40 including drinks, two coffees and ice creams. The Belsair is a well-maintained establishment situated down by the old harbour in Kettletoft. Rooms available at £30 per person B&B. There is even a free cash point, and the restaurant comprises three dining rooms so there is plenty of space. I recommend the crispy fried mushrooms with cheesy chips, a bargain at £3.75; see illustration.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Belsair when we visited Sanday recently. Admittedly, Sanday doesn't have all that many options, but we found the Belsair to be ideal. The bed was extremely comfortable,and the room had all the facilities we needed and a lovely view; the food was typical 'pub food' but was very well prepared and tasty, but most of all, John and Elizabeth were the most welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts. We really enjoyed Sanday. It is ideal for a peaceful few days, though a word to the local community: you could do with more signs to help out directionally challenged tourists!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Warm welcome. Good rooms and service.Excellent value and hearty bar meals.
Ran by a friendly couple

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florakiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanday
21.6 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
21.5 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
155 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ayre's Rock Hostel
Ayre's Rock Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sanday
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belsair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belsair Hotel

Address: Kettletoft | Kettletoft, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanday
Price Range: £25 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Belsair Hotel Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing