We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience!”
Review of Kettletoft Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kettletoft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kettletoft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kettletoft
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sailing to Shetland, we stopped off on Sanday to try to watch Andy Murray in Wimbledon final. Long walk to hotel! Big tv in bar, fantastic coastal view. Well-kept Orkney real ale by a landlord who knows how to keep it in best condition. Very helpful - landlord drove to pick up one of us who was delayed and in danger of missing lunch. Standard pub grub very acceptable. Great atmosphere when local football team arrived. Even arranged the right result!

To be recommended. Don't know about the accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were in Orkney for our holiday, staying on another island. Had done all the fantastic archaeology, and Neolithic sites, decided to go to Sandy for the day. We were not let down by the incredable scenery. A truly untouched little gem. We stopped at the kettletoft hotel for a pint. Didn't stay overnight, so can't pass comment on the hotel side. Was surprised at the size of the bar, was very spacious, with huge windows overlooking a fabulous beach, complete with basking seals. I was mesmerized. Mark the owner was very friendly. Full of local knowledge which he was happy to share. As a camra member I was happy to find a local brew on tap. I was well informed before I purchased how long it had been on for, and how far it had travelled. Nice to have a barman that's happy to give you an honest opinion, allowing you to make your decision. Having read some of the other reviews I would like point out, the life span of real ale, and the inaccessibility of the island. There are bound to be times when it runs out !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shadeofale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I along with our family have stayed in the Kettletoft Hotel several times. The Hotel owners Mark and Julia make visitors feel so welcome. The food is first class and nothing is too much effort. The Hotel offers a traditional fish and chip shop on a Wednesday and Saturday evening and we believe you will not get better fish and chips anywhere. The every day menu offers a great choice of snacks and meals and the Orkney Steaks are huge and to die for. The bedrooms are very comfortable and offer tea and coffee facilities. The bar area offers amazing live music and local entertainment from time to time. The island of Sanday is a beautiful place to visit and we would strongly recommend a stay in The Kettletoft Hotel for its location, friendliness, food and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had a lovely evening meal with fresh lobster and scallops caught locally that day. I had a large prawn salad. All the food was beautifully presented. A nice selection of wines. Very friendly and helpful services. We all had a great evening, will be going again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank thomsondSandayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Visited the island of Sanday with family,and after working up an appetite walking the beaches, decided to visit the local hotel for a much deserved meal and a pint. The owners are very friendly and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble for them. I had freshly prepared tai green curry (perfect) the other members of my party had the home made Orkney beef burger,and fish and chips. We all agreed the meals had been delicious,and excellent value. The beer on offer was surprisingly varied for a small island,with some of Orkney's own beers available. The public bar lent itself to enjoy one or two pints and enjoy what has to be one of the best views of any pub i have visited to date.
If any one is looking for a traditional unspoilt place to enjoy great food and local beer and a relaxing evening on Sanday i would happily recommend this place,as we all enjoyed our evening here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is 9 pm in February and the central heating has been switched off... we went to enquire and were told that it is the way it is... (apparently it is pre-programmed to stop at a certain time) and that we could use a small totally inefficient electric heater instead. I am sitting in bed fully clothed including a big wollen jumper and a scarf and I am very very cold.

We seemed to be the only guests tonight, there was no one at the bar or in the restaurant. The food was terrible.

The bathroom is clean but absolutely freezing, this is a nightmare of an hotel.
People like these do not deserve to stay in business.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Christiane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Came here to sample the fish & chips which are on offer a couple of times a week including Wednesdays. When we arrived we were offered the choice of a bar half-full of noisy drinkers, or a small no-frills dining room in which a family with children were already installed. Neither area looked particularly appealing; we ended up choosing the dining/restaurant area which became rather cramped as it filled up. After a while we were able to order the night’s ‘special’, fish and chips, reasonably priced around £5. Orkney beer is proudly offered on a sign outside the hotel, so I ordered a pint. The waiter said it would be from the bottom of the barrel. Would it be flat?, No, but he could not guarantee that there was a full pint left. Of course it was flat when it came, but had a pleasant, fruity flavour. The main problem was the long wait, around an hour, which is not what you expect when fish-and-chips are being advertised as the dish of the day or evening. When the food came, the chips were found to be freshly cooked and tasty. The locally caught fish was certainly fresh, but the batter lacked flavour. Mushy peas are available as an accompaniment. The meal was of fish-and-chip-shop standard rather than hotel quality, which, given the modest tab, was acceptable, if the long wait was not.

Room Tip: It is worth shopping around on this island where quality tends to be variable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettletoft
21.5 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
21.5 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
156 reviews
21.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ayre's Rock Hostel
Ayre's Rock Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sanday
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettletoft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettletoft Hotel

Address: Kettletoft Village, Kettletoft KW17 2BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday > Kettletoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kettletoft
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel situated by the sea in the village of Kettletoft. Within easy walking distance of the hotel are the local shops and post office. Fish for trout in the lochs or wander the beaches, visit archaeological sites or watch the basking seals. Sanday offers unlimited opportunities for wildlife enthusiasts both professional and amateur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kettletoft Hotel Sanday, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing