We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place we ate in the Oakneys -- 8 day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skerries Bistro

Skerries Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open from April to October, we serve lunch, afternoon tea and dinner daily from 12:00 - 16:00. We are also open for dinner on Friday, Saturday, Monday and Wednesday evenings each week from 18:00 - 21:00. We specialise in local fresh fish and shellfish including Pollock, Cod, Hand Dived Scallops, Crab and Lobster. We also have vegetarian dishes and can cater for any special dietary requirements. During the day, we have vegetable soups, panninis, toasties, selection of coffees and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks available. Our food is fresh and simple and we use Orkney produce whenever possible. We bake our own bread as well as all cakes and desserts.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Place we ate in the Oakneys -- 8 day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Were recommended to try this modern restaurant , wonderful views even on an overcast night !!! You must try out the Pod especially on on blowy evening ! Its over 3 weeks since we were there but we can still remember what we had !!! Seafood Chowder & Platter, Mains; hugh plate of hand dived scallops, & very fresh Halibut ! Won't bore with the pudding but were excellent !
We then cycled back to St Margarets Hope against a very cold north wind .
A Must even on BIKES !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole1953, Owner at Skerries Bistro, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. We certainly remember your visit here as we have very few people dining in the evening who are cycling back to their accommodation..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    62
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely setting, lovely views, home made tasty food, but nothing outstanding. Can't get as excited as some have on here, but have no complaints. Service was friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OriginalJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole1953, Owner at Skerries Bistro, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are a restaurant specialising in fish and shellfish but with an all day lunch menu to include sandwiches & toasties. You haven't mentioned what you ate in the bistro so perhaps you chose nothing outstanding. Everything we have on our menu is made on the premises including our bread rolls (granary or white). We buy all our fish and shellfish from source. We fillet all the fish, smoke fish for our seafood platter, use seasonal vegetables and only prepare the food once the order is taken. If you are ever in Orkney again, come back and experience one of our mains - Line Caught Halibut or Haddock, King Hand Dived Scallops, Dressed Pentland Firth Lobster, Scapa Flow Langoustines, Seafood Platter (with fresh crab, cold smoked salmon, hot smoked salmon, herring, mackerel, prawns and trout) ........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best best best place we visited on the Orkney Islands. An excellent menu of local fish, lovely crisp dry wines and some of the nicest peeps you'll meet anywhere doing the cooking and serving. They've just reopened in a newly constructed building that's mostly glass, so there's not a bad seat in the place. 180 degree sea views. Food to savour. They also have an all-weather private dining pod for special occasions. And if you get a chance to talk with the irreverent and irascible (in a good way) Hamish (he's one half of the equation at The Skerries, the quiet, smiling Carla being the other) then you'll have scored 100. The 'tomb of the otters' is worth experiencing too (5000 y/o and in the car park, discovered by accident during the restaurant reno). Well worth the drive. An incredibly enjoyable afternoon. Do Not Miss this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole1953, Owner at Skerries Bistro, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review and spending time in the bistro and visiting the tomb. You also made an impact on us as your group were fun and easy to talk to. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You got to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Genuine food, wisely cooked, fresh fish, between tradition and innovation. Chic but not expensive, and mrs Carol is so nice: she will make you feel at home. Amazing view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole1953, Owner at Skerries Bistro, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It was really great to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I cannot praise Skerries Bistro enough! We have just returned from 7 months motorhoming all around France and Spain sampling some wonderful fish restaurants but I must say this restaurant wins hands down! The setting is truly amazing, perched on the edge of the cliffs overlooking the Pentland Firth, a truly awesome view. We sampled seafood chowder, seafood platters, fresh line caught halibut, and the most fantastic desserts all washed down with tasty Sauv Blanc! With panoramic 180deg views through floor to ceiling glass windows this is an experience not to be missed! They also have a separate "pod" further out on the edge of the cliff which can be booked for private parties from 2-8 people which has it's own taster menu, consisting of 6 courses. This would be perfect for that special occasion or just a bonny midsummer evening! Once booked it is yours for the evening. The owners greeted us with genuine hospitality and the service was perfect. This is probably the best meal I have ever had in Orkney and I cannot wait to return! Congratulations to Skerries Bistro for giving Orkney something to be truly proud of.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spottycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole1953, Owner at Skerries Bistro, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review of your evening meal in the new bistro. The building has been a huge investment and a year's hard work but now that is it finally open we are proud of what we have achieved. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skerries Bistro also viewed

 
Stromness, Mainland
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay
 

Been to Skerries Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing