We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Eastward House and the Missing Bell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastward Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margaret's Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastward Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eastward House and the Missing Bell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is quite an experience its unlike any B&B that we have visited in the last 20 years. My wife and I left feeling rejuvenated after seven days of clifftop walks, adventures in secret woods and food that knocks spots off so called top restaurants.

Three course breakfast’s for someone like me that normally just has coffee sounded like a bit of a challenge but it was addictive to have glorious fresh fruit salads and their luxury porridge followed by a third course from their gourmet breakfasts range every morning. I have no doubt that they make the best breakfasts possible. Whilst writing about food the evening dinners really are fine-dining without the charade of opulent decor that normally accompanies expensive restaurants. It is quite a luxurious experience to have two people working all day to prepare and serve dish after dish of excitement. In fact it is almost embarrassing like feeling that you have personal chefs.

Like other people have written this whole thing is faultless, but it’s not just about nothing being wrong the experience is that you really feel like you don’t want to leave. Somehow the atmosphere with the pretty laughing children and the warm enthusiasm of the owners is just what you would want from visiting your best friends.

During our visit there was another couple from the nearby town Kirkwall who was there for a treat birthday celebration and it was obvious that Kayko and Patrick made incredible efforts to give them a great time. Two things happen that we didn’t expect which was being given an hours session on what we should do in Orkney over coffee when we arrived and secondly learning about the secret woods which we went back to 3 times. We were really pleased about the talk regarding places to go which gave us good insight and helped us appreciate places a lot more.

Room Tip: you have to try the Polynesian dinner with lamb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
158
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

They say your life can be changed in a matter of hours by people who don't even know you... and this is what my partner and I experienced when we stayed at Eastward Guest House with Patrick, Keiko and their family. From the moment we arrived we were treated as friends and not guests. In fact, even prior to our stay, Patrick had spent a good amount of time on the phone chatting to me and helping me to plan our trip... just as he did when we got there, showing us to the beautiful upstairs lounge of the converted chapel and bringing us tea and local maps and guides, and sitting chatting with us and helping us plan our stay. The personal touch was selfless and genuine, and as this was our first trip to Orkney we were grateful for his insightful tips and suggestions.

Our room was beautiful - spacious, clean and comfortable. That evening we had pre-booked the Polynesian menu for dinner and from the moment we arrived we were met by the aroma of the slow-cooking lamb wafting through the entire house. We knew we were in for a treat, however even so, words cannot describe the wonderful meal Patrick and Keiko prepared and served to us - suffice to say the presentation, attention to detail and the intoxicating mix of flavours we experienced was like nothing we have enjoyed elsewhere, not even in so-called 'top' restaurants. This was food proudly served with love. The evening was then closed out upstairs in the lounge in the company of Patrick and a couple of friends.

Breakfast was another amazing treat, starting with freshly prepared fruit, home-made porridge with honey and Patrick's blueberry compote, and a delicious English breakfast using local produce. We had not pre-booked dinner for our second evening, however during the course of conversation the night before, venison had been discussed, and lo and behold, by the magic of email to their butcher on a Saturday night, Keiko miraculously managed to secure delivery of some venison for us for Sunday night's dinner... we were nothing short of amazed by this couple's thoughtfulness and willingness to go that one step further for their guests.

We were swept up by the beauty of Orkney on this our first trip, but came away knowing that had we not found these friends at Eastward Guest House, we would not have fallen in love with it as completely as we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our stay at Eastward Guest House was the highlight of our three week trip to Scotland. Hosts, Patrick and Keiko, were both charming and accommodating. The Japanese meal served the first night was delicious. We soon came to realize that every breakfast and dinner was superb. Special requests were offered and the local fresh produce and ingredients made every dish outstanding. The cuisine surpassed many meals we have eaten at first class restaurants and resorts in Europe and North America. During our five day stay we visited Kirkwall and most of the archeological sites. Each day we looked forward to returning to Eastward House where we received a warm welcome and an offer of snacks and beverages. Thanks to Patrick we now enjoy Hendricks gin and tonic on occasion. An unexpected delight was getting to know Patrick and Keiko's delight young daughters. We both look forward to our next visit. If we did not live on the southwest coast of the United States we would visit yearly. We highly recommend Eastward Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had originally seen a feature about the Missing Bell dining experience through some local advertising. My husband and I are keen on oriental cuisine so decided to try it out for a birthday treat.
We spoke with Patrick prior to our arrival and he discussed our menu choice with us - (as we were the first guests to book we got to choose the menu for the evening)
On arrival at Eastward Guest House we were greeted by Patrick who showed us the facilities, our room with a huge bed and a wonderful clean, warm room. The guest sitting room which is a perfect place to relax and begin the dining experience.
We chose the Izakaya Seafood menu and enjoyed every course, of which we counted 11 by the end of the evening. It is clear to see the passion and enthusiasm with which Patrick and Keiko put into their cooking and they enjoyed sharing the history of the cuisine,(world heritage menu).
All the produce was locally sourced and of excellent quality, I will find it hard to eat anywhere else now!!
The breakfast was outstanding, I have never eaten such tasty porridge ever......
We had a fabulous evening and enjoyed the company of our hosts and other guests and can't wait to go back and try out the Italian cooking.
Thank you for such a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at eastward guest house last summer on our holiday visit to orkney. This time, we were there for our anniversary treat. Driving up beautiful A9 followed by a ferry crossing over pentland firth for one hour, then we were there, the 'food heaven'. We had Japanese banquet that we could not have on our last visit as we had not booked well in advance. The food did not fail to meet our expectation. We understood instantly why we needed to book the meal with good time in advance. When we booked, the hosts advised us about BYO (Bring Your Own Drink) and recommended us to bring some Japanese Rice wine if possible, so we did. How right was he, the sake complimented the food so well. Knowing it was our anniversary, the host kindly added hand dived scallops (caught on the day!) cooked in Japanese style. We cannot wait for next excuse (i.e. another anniversary, birthday anything!) to go to eastward guest house for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Travelling for many days and me and friends missed home cooking food so we chose this Bed and Breakfast that has dinner too. Interesting selection of menu to choose from. Because it was not restaurant, you need to agree with friends what to eat. We needed to stay there for ten days if we wanted to eat all the dishes they had, but we had Japanese Meat selection. It was very tasty. The people were friendly and packed some breakfast for us because we had to leave early in the morning and could not have time to sit down to eat all the food. Orkneys is too far to visit again, but if I have a chance, I will stay Eastwood Bed and Breakfast again and eat dinner everyday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at Eastward Guest House in Orkney for three nights. We landed on Pentland Ferries and it was only 5 minutes from the port. The hosts have attended every needs of oursm the rooms were spotlessly clean, and the breakfast was the best ever. Nornally, once you've had your 'full English breakfast', you would not want it many days running, but Eastward Guest House has variety of choice that you do not get bored with their breakfast even if you stay there for 10 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's Hope
15.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
15.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
22.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
19.0 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.1 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastward Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastward Guest House

Property: Eastward Guest House
Address: St Margaret's Hope, St Margaret's Hope KW17 2RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > St Margaret's Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Margaret's Hope
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastward Guest House is a destination for lovers of good food seeking a unique dining experience with excellent cuisine in a happy atmosphere. Great food and genuine friendship are equal partners in a house of warm hospitality that creates memorable occasions. The business is also widely known as The Missing Bell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastward Guest House Orkney Islands, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing