We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - excellent food!”
Review of The Creel B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Margaret's Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Creel B&B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful stay - excellent food!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Creel Inn in Orkney and found the hosts fantastic - welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with great views of the Harbour, and are spotlessly clean.

I have never experienced breakfasts as good as we had at the Creel. The homemade fruit compote was wonderful, as was the fresh smoked kippers or haddock.

We also ate at the restaurant at the Creel Inn in the evening as it had been recommended to us by friends. It was a great experience, the menu was short but packed full of local produce for us to try. I had the crab salad with apple mayonaise for a starter which was the best crab I had ever tasted. The main course and puddings were also delicious.

I would definitely go back to the Creel Inn both to stay and eat as we had such a brilliant time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslgilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This Michelin acclaimed restaurant is truly a gem, and only a half hour drive from Kirkwall. With local produce cooked to such award winning standards, and delicious puddings devised for those of sweet tooth, dinner here is always a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights over the Jubilee Week, a fantastic experience, food was as good as the top restaurants in London but with a better view and very quiet, I would reccomend this high quality establishment to anyone who is going to Orkney, I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world the Creel ranks amongst the best ( don't make the mistake that we did book the restaurant in advance going to other venues will disappoint)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for 2nights weather food hosts were superb i would reccomend to stay
at this unpretentious high quality inn we were looked after better than anywhere we have
stayed in a long time .
The rooms are a bit dated but the views and cleanliness are super we would we love to
return again one day have not had fish ect better and we have travelled and stayed in lots
of places its a gem..

Room Tip: stay here you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Don't assume otherwise, but my wife and I enjoyed staying here for 2 nights during our two week drive throughout Scotland. It was comfortable, clean, unbelievably quiet, and located in a serene sea-side setting. We stayed in the top floor in a huge room with skylights, a detached bathroom and a supreme view across Scapa Flow. What more would you want as Creel more than satisfied our needs during our terrific visit to The Orkneys.

We did eat dinner for one night at the establishment as they were clossed for dinner the other night. The food they served was as good and well presented as others have said and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Breakfasts were equally as fine and presented.

If you are expecting all the glitz and glitter of a big city lodging, you may not find it here. But look at this magnificent location and what you have is certainly much more than adaquate. Certainly no need to stay anywhere else on the Island.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of a storm at night - the noise of rain on a skylight, and the howl of the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burl2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The meal in the creel restaurant was once more quite simply the best I have ever eaten. I am local from the village and have eaten here many times over the last 25 years and have never been served anything less than perfect, I have dined in many restaurants throughout the world, , London, Hong Kong, Thailand, Norway to name but a few places, but the Creel is without a doubt the best. A recent review stated the seafood was not fresh, I can only assume the reviewer unfortunately does not know what fresh seafood tastes like. As a local Orcadian, I will only eat fresh seafood, as in Orkney it is readily available and once again the Creel did not disappoint. If you visit Orkney and like seafood, its a must that you eat here.
I look forward to my next meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rangers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Be a little cautious about what you expect from The Creel. We expected a first-class seafood restaurant ( Rick Stein, Good Food Guide), with rooms attached. All reviews mention fantastic fresh ingredients, with the chef buying whatever looks best from the boats that morning. That is not what we got. Starters were very good, but all of our main courses were very disappointing. Surprisingly, it was not the quality of the cooking that let them down, but the quality of the ingredients. Our scallops may well have been hand dived, but they had not been hand dived very recently. In fact, I suspect they may even have been frozen. Texture and colour were both wrong. The fish stew of halibut, ling and lobster sounded wonderful but, again, the ingredients did not seem particularly fresh. Our worst fears were confirmed when the dinner menu was identical on the second evening of our stay.
We did not try desserts but we did overhear another diner saying "the desserts are exactly the same as they were when I worked here 20 years ago."
Wine list is ok but very narrow. Only one chardonnay in a seafood restaurant was surprising.
Bizarrely, the chef seems to focus his attention on breakfast, which could not be faulted. Warm fruit compote with yoghurt, warm smoked salmon, and delicious home baked bread.
Our room was quite large and furnished adequately, although we both found the beds very uncomfortable.
Bed and breakfast is £110, which is acceptable because of the outstanding breakfast. Dinner is £32 for two courses, which would have been fine if ingredients had been fresher.
If you go expecting a pretty good bed and breakfast, with above average dinner, you will enjoy the experience.
St Margaret's Hope is a very pretty little village.
Bed and breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's Hope
2.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
158 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
18.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
10.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
15.4 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Creel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Creel B&B

Property: The Creel B&B
Address: Front Road, St Margaret's Hope KW17 2SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > St Margaret's Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from 2016, The Creel B&B is located in a beautiful listed building situated in the prime position of the Bay of St. Margaret's Hope, with gorgeous view over Scapa Flow and islands. We have 3 bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities and free high-speed WiFi. The historic village of St. Margaret's Hope is a great base from which to explore Orkney and is also convenient for the Pentland Ferry's 3 daily sailings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creel Restaurant With Rooms Hotel St. Margaret`s Hope
Creel Hotel With Rooms
The Creel B&B Orkney Islands, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing