We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful space”
Review of The Creel B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Margaret's Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Creel B&B
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent fish and meat dishes with vegetarian options. Superb views over the sea and very tranquil and peaceful. Totally isolated and a retreat from modern society. Thoroughly relaxed and rejuvenating experience. Not to be missed ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drwinbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stopped at the Creel B&B and if you love food this is a great place to stay.
The room was a little dated but very clean. The best part of the room had to be the outstanding view over looking the sea and the Orkneys! The breakfast was very good and very tasty good ole fashioned hearty start to the day much needed for combating the Orkney Chills.
We booked early and ate at the acclaimed Creel restaurant attached to the B&B noted in "the good food guide 2011/2012" was pleased we had because the meal was of outstanding quality. I had beef to start and wolf fish for main with a mouth watering lovely dessert!! hmmmmmm In my opinion all cooked perfectly. Lovely atmosphere and really nice dining experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a meal at the Creel with friends to celebrate the end of our wonderful holiday in the Orkneys. Whilst the food was reasonably good, it was far from outstanding. The lobster bisque was tasty but unfortunately, the lobster was not fresh and certainly overcooked. Likewise, the fish mains was also overdone and lacking in aesthetic appeal. Service was efficient but cold with little pleasantries. All in all not worth the money or the hype. For anyone looking for a special meal in the Orkneys, I would recommend the Foveran over the Creel where you will certainly get a better meal, more value for your money and a warm and inviting atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank bayubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Creel restaurant in St. Margarets' Hope is about as far as you can get on connected Orkney and South Ronaldsay but the restaurant had come up on our search for top local seasonal gastronomy in the Orkneys. It didn't disappoint. The restaurant sits on the waterfront on a very quiet street of predominantly gray stone and stucco and the dining room is understated but attactive. The service was professional and welcoming. The menu is short but focused on truly what is local and seasonal. I also enjoyed some harder to find Scottish beer and of course whiskey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank klsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was booked based on other tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The emphasis is on the food rather than the rooms which are adequate, though a tad old fashioned but the food was fabulous - so good we ate there two nights running. The restaurant is tiny so you must book, everything is freshly made so food does run out from the small menu which changes daily depending on what the chef/owner buys locally. We ate meltingly soft mutton, towers of duck confit with celeriac, superbly flavoured pink Aberdeen Angus, huge scallops perfectly cooked. The wine list is equally short and tends towards Australian and Spanish but there was some excellent and not often seen passito (Italian pudding wine) to accompany pudding or cheese. Breakfasts are prepared with equal care and attention to quality. Excellent value for the quality and thoughtfulness of the food and the service provided. We will return.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and all, I believe, overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sequinOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed mid-June for a few days - first in the Creel main building which was a delightful room and, after a night on Westray, a few nights in the self-catering appartment but on a B&B basis. The breakfasts were among the best we've ever had - delicious fruit compotes, porridge and cooked breakfasts, served in a pretty little room overlooking the bay. Dinner, in the restaurant, was excellent but we'd have liked to have seen more variation in the menu over the time we were there. We felt the food prices were a bit steep but the food is excellent - worth it for a special meal rather than everyday eating. Easy to see how it gained its reputation. Efficient and helpful service. 4 stars rather than 5 because of high meal cost rather than anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for the one overlooking the bay at the front. It's delightfully pretty, and a very good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgecrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Creel Inn in Orkney and found the hosts fantastic - welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with great views of the Harbour, and are spotlessly clean.

I have never experienced breakfasts as good as we had at the Creel. The homemade fruit compote was wonderful, as was the fresh smoked kippers or haddock.

We also ate at the restaurant at the Creel Inn in the evening as it had been recommended to us by friends. It was a great experience, the menu was short but packed full of local produce for us to try. I had the crab salad with apple mayonaise for a starter which was the best crab I had ever tasted. The main course and puddings were also delicious.

I would definitely go back to the Creel Inn both to stay and eat as we had such a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslgilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's Hope
2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
11 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
18.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
391 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
10.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Creel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Creel B&B

Address: Front Road, St Margaret's Hope KW17 2SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > St Margaret's Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's Hope
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from 2016, The Creel B&B is located in a beautiful listed building situated in the prime position of the Bay of St. Margaret's Hope, with gorgeous view over Scapa Flow and islands. We have 3 bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities and free high-speed WiFi. The historic village of St. Margaret's Hope is a great base from which to explore Orkney and is also convenient for the Pentland Ferry's 3 daily sailings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creel Restaurant With Rooms Hotel St. Margaret`s Hope
Creel Hotel With Rooms
The Creel B&B Orkney Islands, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing