We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service excellent but a little overpriced.”

The Creel Restaurant with Rooms
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent but a little overpriced.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Staying near Evie we drove 50 mins to this restaurant after reading excellent reviews. Our starters went down a treat- a very limited menu but we managed to make a choice! Crab with avocado salsa and apple mayonnaise was delicious and the lamb with put lentils and tomato was also very tasty. We both chose the brisket with mince and honeyed carrots and shallots and the meat was amazingly tender. The menu was 'safe' but tasty. The lemon tart with marmalade ice cream was sweet and sharp - very nice. Overall £40 each for 3 courses of a very limited menu was a bit expensive especially when you add on wine and coffees. Also we thought the whole place lacked atmosphere .

Helpful?
Thank JenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty treat for two”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Despite the limited menu, there is no denying the food is excellent, we could not fault it. However, we dined at the Foveran two nights previously and felt the Creel was not as good value.

I agree with a previous review, the toilets are extremely dated and this dampened the experience. Given the price of £40 for three courses, the awards, the excellent reviews etc. I expected better facilities.

It's a shame the tables for two at the windows only really afford the great view for one diner and not both.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A rare find!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

If you are staying in South Ronaldsay this restaurant is a must. Located in the picturesque village of St Margaret's Hope, this award winning restaurant will not disappoint even the most demanding palette. Although the menu is of limited scope, the quality is second to none. The decor is simple and the food absolutely first rate. Well done!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bosco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sublime meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Like many others we had an excellent meal. Be warned it's a very small menu but the food was delicious. Fresh mackerel was on the menu and it was lovely. The main course I had was beef brisket which was soft and very tasty. If you go to one restaurant in Orkney make it the Creel. The rest don't compare..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inveroran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A fabulous night!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Table for 6 on a Tuesday night, they were already busy but fitted us in with no problems. Meal was excellent, as always, and the service was faultless. Three of us had 3 courses , fish was fresh on the day, mains Beef brisket was melt in the mouth! Lemon tart and marmalade ice cream with tweel , absolutely outstanding. The whole evening was fantastic, we were never rushed, and everyone was really nice. Everywhere is clean, and fresh, with a great atmosphere .
We recommend The Creel to everyone, if you are in Orkney, it's a must. Joyce and Alan Craigie have worked hard to make this place a success, and all the awards confirm it . Go.... Eat....... Enjoy !

Helpful?
Thank RMG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Creel Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
 
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay
 

Been to The Creel Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing