We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning place, brilliant holiday home!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 The Noust

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sophieand...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place, brilliant holiday home!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon around Scotland and wished we had booked another few nights as we really enjoyed the Orkney islands. Found this place really easy, straight off the ferry and met Tracey outside. Everything inside the house was really tidy and homely, everything was available that you could possibly need. There were a few places nearby for food and some lovely little craft shops. If we were to return to the Orkney islands we would definitely book this place again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel C
1 review
“Ideal holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Tracy's place is wonderful. Great location to explore the many delights of Orkney as well as being a very comfortable well equipped cottage by the sea. Loved the decor and everything was so clean. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06_BaR_06
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and quiet cottage on the water”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed 3 nights at 2 The Noust in the smallish town of St Margarets Hope. The cottage has a beautiful location right on the water, and was cosy and comfortable. The kitchen is on the smaller end of the scale but has all facilities, and the cottage is well fitted out. This location is great for a peaceful few days, but is not central to some of the major Orkney tourist locations in the west.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trains987
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Noust”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with a nice seating area on the harbour. Perfect little house for a visit to Orkney. We enjoyed the visit of the chip van and the nice coffee shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary M
1 review
“Charming cottage right by the sea”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Noust is a very comfortable cottage for two people - any more and it would be quite cramped. It was very well equipped with everything we needed. St Margaret's Hope is a delightful village with a good supply of eateries nearby. There were plenty of places to visit nearby and access to other parts of the islands was easy. We had a great holiday and would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma O
1 review
“Northern trip”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a great retreat just off the ferry. The evening we arrived it was miserable weather, but Tracey was there as promised with good wishes and the keys.
In we went to the cutest, most cosy cottage ever. It just reflected what we expected of the Orkney Islands. Thought the weather was awful, the cosiness of the cottage overcame it.
Great location, well furnished house with good kitchen facilities.
A great base from which to explore the islands from, only wish we could have stayed for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A comfortable stay in a warm and well appointed little cottage”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is situated on the harbour's edge, close to local shops and amenities but still very quiet. It was warm and well furnished, just one or two more kitchen utensils would have made the stay perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing