We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant activity”
Review of Highland Safaris

Highland Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: HIGHLAND SAFARIS, winner of the 'Best Visitor Experience' in Scotland, combine award winning exhilarating Land Rover Safaris,new Red Deer Centre, inspiring walking and Biking activities and Perthshire's only Gold and Gem Panning Centre. Relax and enjoy our award-cafe and shop situated in a unique and stunning location. A truly authentic discovery of everything that makes Perthshire an exceptional destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant activity”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Although the morning was misty and drizzly and we didn't get to see the magnificent views at their best we still had a fun and enjoyable time. Our two guides, Colin and Iomhar were very knowledgable about the area and both had a great sense of humour. Getting away off road was an experience in itself and a coffee and a wee dram at the bothy were welcome and warming. The shop was well stocked and the cafe provided good food. Well worth doing!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    93
    18
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

yesterday (sat 21/01/2012) i went on a fantasic trip to highland safaris after visiting the shop/cafe we went on a feed the deer session in the deer park beside the lodge just perfect for a relative who is that little bit older. after 30mins of learning about the deer we then went on safari. what an andventure we had after learing about the surrounding area and driving through 4 seasons in one day we arrived at the first stop stunning scenery all round, but no wildlife we then travelled further up the track it was two windy and blizzard conditions we were the only mad animals breaking cover (reminded me of the noel coward song "mad dogs and englishmen out in the mid-day sun". we then made off for the bothy and this was where the adventure really began whilst trying to drive up a rise in the track we failed to crest the rise after 2 more attempts we then decided to return the same way we drove in. our little band took this in our stride and thought nothing about it untill we came to another rise after 3 attempts we used the snow chains but alas we had no luck (i would like to see the IRT drivers try it) after at least another 8 attempts even after the other driver came back to help us we wer still at the foot of the rise. it was then we were asked to get out and walk (this was when i slipped and nearly bashed my head on the door but the only thing i bruised was my pride lol). once again our steed failed to crest the rise and we had to give her a little push in a blizzard then it was of to the bothy for a much needed cup of hot choc and a wee nippy sweetie (whisky) and the a no trouble departure back to the lodge what a fantastic day

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank davidramsay1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative day out.All staff friendly and knowledgeable.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Went along on Saturday 7th January as part of December birthday present.
Had the deer encounter and then Land Rover safari with Colin our guide and driver.
Whole trip was excellent, you even organised the weather for us, warm at your office and shop and beautiful and crisp with lots of snow and ice at bothy. Beautiful views over to Schiehallion, one of my favourite hill walks.
Sightings of deer tracks, grouse and crossbills, excellent.
Cafe and shop at beginning and end excellent, great scones, cakes etc, excellent cups of tea and staff made our day enjoyable.
Colin was excellent throughout,very informative even though I have lots of knowledge on outdoors and wildlife, learnt some new things, cant ask for better than that.
Well done everyone, would certainly recommend to others and have already done so through family.
We will definitely come back again.
John and Maureen Blake Saturday 7th January 2012

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Fun - Snow Doubt About It”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

One of the reasons for booking this attraction was my wife wanted to see a white hare and in the advertising blurb this was one of the animals Highland Safaris suggested that we might see if we came on one of their outings.
First of all we did the red deer experience where you get the chance to feed a herd of tame deer. This was good fun and children would find it particularly entertaining.
After that we headed up into the hills in a land rover and were soon in the middle of pretty heavy snow. Tommy our guide, expertly handled the vehicle and drove us to an aera where he hoped to spot white hare and sure enough we were not disappointed seeing 3 all together. We then stopped at a bothy where we had tea, coffee, shortbread and a dram of whisky before heading back to base. Although the snow prevented us getting much of a view in the hills it was still quite exciting and an extermely enjoyable trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and the staff of Highland Safaris were very hospitable.
A memorable day out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ferrybeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to see the beautiful perthshire scenery”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had a lovely trip at the weekend with our families. Six of us fitted perfectly into the brand new and very comfortable Land Rover Discovery. Our guide was a fountain of knowledge and pointed out lots of interesting landmarks and wildlife. We had snow, rain and shine!
The lunch in the bothy was good however inside the bothy was very very cold, even with the faux electric fire place on (very little heat generated from this though) plus a gas heater! It never really warmed up at all so a wood-burning stove would have been much better.
The soup was delicious but the cold meats, quiche etc was not really suitable for that time of year to be honest.
We will definitly come back wtih friends from London who we know would love the experience. It makes a great present for someone.
Thank you.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Safaris also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Highland Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing