We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant attraction”
Review of Highland Safaris

Highland Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: HIGHLAND SAFARIS, winner of the 'Best Visitor Experience' in Scotland, combine award winning exhilarating Land Rover Safaris,new Red Deer Centre, inspiring walking and Biking activities and Perthshire's only Gold and Gem Panning Centre. Relax and enjoy our award-cafe and shop situated in a unique and stunning location. A truly authentic discovery of everything that makes Perthshire an exceptional destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant attraction”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Highland Safaris is a real gem of a place. The staff seem to genuinely enjoy working there and sharing their knowledge with you. We've visited a few times now, with two teenage boys. Whether you're looking for a full safari or 'drop at the top' or just coffee n cakes and a ride around the on-site circuit, I can't recommend the place highly enough. Although we don't have younger children, there certainly seemed to be enough to keep younger children occupied too. We've visited this area a few times now and there are so many outdoor activities to choose from. Highland Safaris is the only place that we have chosen to visit more than once (& we've been three times now). That says it all really.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, The Team at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Kelly,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review.
We're very proud to know that what we have here has attracted you back on 3 occasions!
We look forward to seeing you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    90
    18
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Myself, my husband and our two children both girls aged 11 and 8 went out on the forest safari today and what an amazing experience we had, it exceeded our expectations and our guide Colin was fantastic the kids loved him! He answered all our questions and made the adventure very exciting for us all. We learnt a lot and even managed to spot a deer emerging from the trees on our way back. I couldn't recommend this enough the girls loved panning for gold before our safari started and we had a drink in the cafe, all the staff were so friendly and helpful we will definately be back on our next holiday to Scotland to try out the mountain safari and my husband wants to try the 4x4 off road driving too. Thank you so much for a great memorable day from the Webb Family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sydmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, The Team at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are delighted to hear that your expectations were exceeded during your visit to Highland Safaris. The Gold Panning certainly is addictive and rewarding! We look forward to seeing you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were just passing through on our trip so didn't have much time after speaking to very friendly helpful staff we chose a 1.5 hr jeep safari which fit in with our plans I really wish we had longer what an experience, we were fortunate enough to see the red deer about 25 of them in their natural habitat. Tommy was our guide and was brilliant very knowledgeable he set up the telescope so we could get a closer look. If in the area again I would definitely go back and try something a little more adventurous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, The Team at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We're glad you were able to experience one of our safaris whilst passing through the area. We look forward to welcoming you back for another sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great mountain biking”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a fantastic mountain biking experience with Highland Safaris. Best hired mountain bike I have ridden in my travels around the world. People need to have realistic expectations! Staff were so friendly and provided me with all the info I needed too have a great experience in the Scottish outdoors. As a person who works in the outdoor education industry I am very happy to recommend this very professional operation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, The Team at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and show your appreciation of Highland Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor organisational skills!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and I were looking forward to hiring mountain bikes. We called at Highland Safaris to make our booking for 12 o'clock the next day. We arrived the following day in good time, expecting to be talked through the routes available to us. However, this wasn't the case. We were made to wait for a good hour and a half, being advised that some bikes 'may' turn up shortly. It soon became obvious that Highland Safaris had double booked us or made an organisational error. We decided to just leave it, as we didn't want to waste any more of our day. We both walked away feeling rather disappointed, especially as no real apology was given by the staff. Fortunately we hired some bikes from Killin Outdoor Centre later in the week and had a lot more enjoyable experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bfc12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, Owner at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review although clearly we are very sorry for the way you feel about your experience with us at Highland Safaris. Our customers are the most important thing to us. You did indeed arrive well before 12 and we explained that, on this very busy morning, we were waiting for a bike to be returned to us from hire. It was an afternoon hire that you were looking for and it was explained that bikes would become available when returned from their morning session and following a service and re-hire to yourselves. We offered you both Latte Coffees, as a gesture of kindness, which I think you enjoyed. In this time, we explained that we had one MTB but offered our excellent “Giant” Hybrids as an alternative, which were not of interest to you which was fine. Having arrived 40 minutes before 12, you did have quite a wait but to imply that you were not treated well in this time is not accurate. When you left I was one of the members of staff to communicate with you and see that you were given a good explanation and recommendation for Killin Outdoor Centre (I am a personal fan – a great place!). I am so glad that you had a great MTB ride from there and were able to enjoy our beautiful countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Safaris also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Highland Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing