We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Safari - A Superb afternoon outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Safaris

Highland Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: HIGHLAND SAFARIS, winner of the 'Best Visitor Experience' in Scotland, combine award winning exhilarating Land Rover Safaris,new Red Deer Centre, inspiring walking and Biking activities and Perthshire's only Gold and Gem Panning Centre. Relax and enjoy our award-cafe and shop situated in a unique and stunning location. A truly authentic discovery of everything that makes Perthshire an exceptional destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Safari - A Superb afternoon outing”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We went on the mountain safari with Ranger Steve who was very knowledgeable - and a proper gent. Pity the weather wasn't a bit better but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. The scenery is amazing. We will certainly be back and would highly recommend Highland Safaris. Our 10-year-old daughter loved every minute of our visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    88
    17
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Unique Experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Second time around on this Safari.

Met the lovely Catriona who was the perfect guide. Superly knowledgeable and a wealth of experience in agricultural news and information as well as being pretty nifty at driving that big jeep through some rough terraine...Girl Power! had a great day apart from the cold wind but to be expected. Paid the extra £5 per person to feed the Red Deer which was a pretty active experience considering they seem to knock lumps out of eachother. A little shelter from the wind for them would have been nice to see. However, this sanctuary is all about the environment and preserving the scottish wildlife and are wonderfully involved in many projects which makes me want to do more for my countryside and heritage. Well done guys

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lulugip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, General Manager at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Safari with Catriona and will pass on your kind comments. It is so rewarding for the team here when people really enjoy and appreciate what we do so thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. (Maybe we'll see you for a third Safaris some time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Family orientated”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited in February 2014 to feed the red deer.
Had a great family day out, and lunch was superb.
Staff couldn't do enough for us on a cold wintery day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IbizaAndy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, Manager at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Many thanks for this super review. Andy does indeed love sharing his passion for nature and wildlife and we are delighted you appreciated it. He sends you his very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain Safari”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We did the mountain safari with Andy. Andy was amazing as a tour guide. He was funny and very knowledgeable. You could tell her very much loves the outdoors and the wildlife in it.
We also did the Red Deer experience before we left. You get to learn about the Red Deer (which look like miniature North American Elk) and feed them. Great for the kids and adults alike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Limited Mobility - no problem”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently experienced the "Dull" safari & believe me it was anything but. The tour is named after the town it starts in - not it's content. Our guide Steve was extremely knowledgeable, & kept the tour lively and entertaining - taking us up to a boothie on the mountain for a toddy and a hot drink (after he dug his way in through the snow) we did not expect to see much wildlife with it snowing - but the scenery was breath taking and Steve did manage to find some wild reindeer (and a few wild gamekeepers too) a wonderful way to spend the day, really enjoyed the Deer encounter at the centre too, we will be back again in March - can't wait

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandSafaris, Manager at Highland Safaris, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your Safari and Red Deer Encounter. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience to the full! Steve is looking forward to your return visit in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Safaris also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Highland Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing