We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food; good value”
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Warm welcome. Good choice of standard and specials. Good service. Good simple food, well cooked. Pub comfortable, but a bit scruffy.

Thank Birmingham_folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our good value pub grub and also our good service and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Passed the pub and noticed a roaring wood fire.
Dog friendly, so decided to stay and eat. Menu is nothing extravagant. Just wholesome.
Staff were lovely. Very friendly and helpful. Meals was very good value and tasted great.
We called there again a few days later and were not disappointed. A welcome treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Many thanks for your review. we are glad you found us to be warm and welcoming and hope to see you and your dog again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We actually went in January 2012, and loved the food. But the best part was Duncan! We went and had drinks each of the 6 nights we were in Aberfeldy and asked Duncan, the manager and bartender, what we should get into the next day. We loved it! We got to see a true Scot's Scotland thanks to him. It was the best trip we have ever been on. If you get a chance to befriend the people of Aberfeldy, which you will in here, you won't want to leave. Duncan even helped throw me a surprise birthday, cake and all! It was amazing. Miss you Duncan! -Kevin and Margo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margo1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful. Scottish hospitality at its best :) We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went for a meal early evening. Restaurant was quiet but only to be expected for a Tuesday in winter. Thankfully No blaring tv. Just a few friendly locals at the bar. Bar area is separate from eating area so No problem there. Impressed with service when we asked if portions were large , and the waiter suggested we could have a half portion each. This way not seem significant but its very rarely offered in eating places unless its billed as an oap deal which is somewhat patronising. Food was quite good and especially the sweet . The service alone would be sufficient to take me back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. We aim to do anything we can to make our customers happy so offer many variations on the menu and smaller portions too. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

For the price it was good. No specials on the specials board but the ordinaries were fine. Lots of locals in the attached bar, but restaurant quiet on a Friday night. Parking outside and fine for a bite while passing through, but wouldn't rush back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marknkate76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for the review. You are right, you get exactly what you pay for here which is good home cooked food at good prices in a nice environment. who could ask for more than that! Hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing