We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we are going back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we are going back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed on 19th and 20th March in the main hotel via Groupon deal. From reading reviews we heard rooms were well equipped, big etc but we were still surprised by the standard of the room. Our room (27) really was lovely.

Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and attentive - as a previous Reviewer noted, the Australian receptionist was very nice and deserves a special mention.

The complex itself is quiet and perfect for a relaxing break. Whilst we were at Moness another Groupon deal came up and we booked again. Yes, we enjoyed our stay that much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletchy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your five star review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found the room, grounds, food and the team members to be excellent. On behalf of the team at Moness Resort I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    1,143
    565
    199
    157
See reviews for
996
1,561
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My partner and myself have just returned from a lovely weekend break at this hotel, from the moment we arrived the receptionist Fiona was lovely and very helpful. Our room was nice very clean and modern, the bathroom was lovely with a huge bath and shower. The hotel itself was very nice and was only a short walk into the town of Aberfeldy, where there were a few restaurants and bars. We had breakfast both days and it was fab and myself and my partner were stuffed afterwards! The only complaint I would have is the bed could do with a more comfortable mattress but that's just our opinion :) would like to say a big thanks to the Moness Resort as we had an excellent weekend :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megann1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for such a glowing five star review. Your comments are appreciated and are passed through to all the team who always enjoy getting such great feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Moness Resort when next you travel this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We are just back from a 2 night stay in Moness on an excellent KGB deals offer (considerably cheaper than the hotel’s own rates) and would heartily recommend to families with young children: there is a good, clean pool, sauna and steam room; snooker, pool and table tennis; and a sports hall, mini-soft play and small outdoors play park. Our children loved the duck pond, while there is a reasonable amount of safe green space to run around on.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge, with 2 en-suites, living room-kitchen and bathroom. The accommodation was quite spacious, reasonably presented and fairly well stocked. The staff very kindly let us have an additional person stay without charging extra, although they did try to charge us for electricity used, which wasn’t mentioned on the booking form. The only problem was the length of time the water heater took – meant having to hang around for ages to get a shower and would have been a hassle on a longer stay.

The resort is well kept and reasonably spacious, although the main reception area needs a face lift. There is a bar and restaurants although we didn’t eat there. The resort is basically right next to Aberfeldy, which is a pleasant small Scottish town.

For a day trip, nearby Kenmore is very small but very lovely with wonderful loch views. A new luxury 5 star hotel is being refurbished there and the walk to it and the building itself are both absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the tiem to review Moness resort on Trip Advisorf and for all your positive comments. Its great to read you made the most of all the facilites at the resort and you found your cottage so spacious. I am very sorry to hear you had some difficulties with the hot water and I am pleased to advise there are plans for refurbishment for our main reception this year. I hop we can welcome you back to the Moness Resort when next you travel our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I can highly recommend Moness. We rented a 1 bed cottage which was was very comfortable and well fitted out. Loved the view out to the duck pond. I have to say the ducks are tremendously friendly and will come up and eat out of your hand.

Only 5 min walk from the centre of Aberfeldy so great wee location. Oh and you got to try Canyoning at the local water centre (Splash) superb...

Couple of points is that I wish there was some entertainment on in the hotel especially over the weekend. I also wish that there was a normal freeview box which brought a menu screen up and showed what was on TV.

Other that that a cracking place, people were nice and polite room was spacious and comfy, I'll defo be back.

Cheers Moness:))

Room Tip: One bed rooms have a sofa bed upstairs and can sleep 2. Save yourself money if you use the soaf bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank your for taking the time to review Moness Resort on Trip advisor. Its really great to read you would highly recommend us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Found the moness of very high standard, room and bathroom massive, had tea and coffee in room,had also used the pool which was a good size. Had also eaten in the restaurant on both nights meal on first night excellent ,but disappointed with the meal special of BBQ which really was a piece of fried chicken with BBQ sause (prob) from a bottle poured over it. Breakfast was excellent,asked if I could take the chef home to cook my breakfast,he he. Would I recommend moness definitely

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crocket01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for your five star review and its really great too read that you would definitely recommend us. Thank you for all your positive comments, your feedback is greatly appreciated, we can therefore assure you that is used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our guest service standards and facilities offered. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doucomehereoften
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a deal through Groupon to the Moness Resort. We stayed in the main hotel (room 4). The room was great with a mega comfy bed and huuuuuge pillows. The bathroom was very modern with a massive bath tub and lots of lovely smelly shower gels etc. The resort has a swimming pool, sauna and steam room which was lovely. It was quiet when we were there so got the place to ourselves. We also enjoyed the free ping pong table in the games room. The breakfast was included in the price and you had the choice of various cereals, crossiants and also cooked breakfast. I ate so much I didnt need to eat until dinner time! The staff in the resort were really lovely and helpful. Particularly the Australian Receptionist who checked us in. Easy to walk into the town centre and right next to lovely walk up the Kirks of Aberfeldy for sunny day If in this area again would come back. Probably better for couples / families as more of a chill out break than party place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doucomehereoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your fabulous 5 star review posted on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience. I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
I will pass on your kind words with regards the team members and how friendly and helpful you found them and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed 13 & 14th March using a Groupon voucher.

We were given Room 5; which is lower ground floor. The room is huge! The bathroom has a soaker tub and double size shower. The only slight down would be the king size bed which would benefit from a memory foam or feather topper; but that may just be personal preference.

We ate in The Terrace bar both nights and had excellent meals both times. Special mention to Anita who anticipated our every need. The breakfasts were also fabulous we had eggs benedict one morning and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon the next.
The pool, sauna and steam room were also great to relax in. Fiona who we met at reception but who seemed to be able to assist anywhere also deserves a mention. She was cheery, helpful and remembered our names every time we met her. The service equalled any we had in US or Canada. I wish more hotels would take note!

All in all a great stay and a place we would love to return to.

Management should be proud of all of the staff at this gem of a resort.

Room Tip: Room 5 slightly dark but the size made up for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
What a fantastic five star review, thank you so much!! It is great to receive such praise, which I have passed on to Fiona and Anita and the whole the team, who always work so hard for all our guests to have a great stay. Your feedback is truly apprecaited and I am so glad you enjoyed our hospitality, food and service we do hope that you will be with us again in the near future, with our very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing