We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itison Deal at Moness”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant 2 night stay using an Itison voucher. We upgraded to a suite and for the extra few pounds this was well worth it.The suite was well equipped with TV (in bedroom and sitting room) both rooms are well proportioned and the bathroom also first class. Reception staff were welcoming and the staff in the restaurants and bar were also very nice. We had dinner in the main dining room on the first night and our evening meal in the upstairs bistro on the second night, both were nice however the bistro in our opinion provided better value particularly with the 3 course daily special meal. Lots to do and see in and around Aberfeldy, the Birks Cinema which has recently been revamped and opened is a nice visit on a rainy day. Pitlochry and The House of Bruar also worth a look.To summarise a lovely relaxing break in lovely surroundings, we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Paying extra for a suite is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for all your positive comments, its particularly pleasing to read that you will return, we hope you have opportunity to do so soon, thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,318 - 3,324 of 3,847 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

NOT AS ADVERTISED. NOT A 4 STAR RESORT.

My wife and I travel extensively for both work and pleasure and found this very, very disappointing. Booked a two day weekend break through Itison (incurring £40 supplement). On arrival was given the cottage Ness. Entering we were treated by a musty smell, stained carpets, holes in the doors, damaged work tops, damaged bathroom suites and in general a very tired, ageing cottage.

Complained on Friday evening stating this cottage was not up to standard. The message was passed onto duty manager. No response by Saturday afternoon so found the duty manger to complain in person. Did not seem to accept the complaint and said there was nothing he could do. Note at this point there was no offer to come and look at the cottage.

At checkout time on Sunday complained again to the duty manager giving him the opportunity to acknowledge our feelings and offer some sort of compensation. Again no acknowledgement. At this time the duty manager was asked to come and look at the cottage but he refused. I now know the reasons for this is so he could deny all the faults we found with the cottage when we complained to Itison.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ChrisM0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay, our room was great,very roomy the bathroom had a fab shower, had a really big bath as well which i prefer, the spa facilities were great,had a hot tub as well,you can play racket sports ie badminton and also can hire bikes, when we got there on the friday it was late so we had a few drinks in the bar and enoyed the karoke, I would say that the drinks were a bit pricey,a pint of tenants and a morgans spice and diet coke nearly £10,there is a few pubs in aberfeldy which is a 10mins walk down the road. The breakfast was good it was a buffet you could get a fried and or a continental breakfast,i prefer the buffet style, the continental was kinda basic but i still enjoyed it and the staff were really good,all the staff were really nice. I liked where the moness was situated, just down the road was the "birks of aberfeldy" a nature trail, had a really nice walk there, the town of aberfeldy is just round the corner, if youre into white water rafting there is a centre nearby, pitlochry is nearby had a lot of quaint shops we also went into perth which is really great for shopping, had a market on the saturday. I would definately consider coming back to the moness hotel if we get another kgb deal ,next time will make the trip to aviemore and inverness,just didnt have enough time.

Room Tip: i dont think you would get a bad room although there are some basement rooms so maybe not one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgana2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort and for all your kind comments. We are glad you had a lovely stay with us and we hope its not to long before you return. thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for two nights in the "Country House Hotel" as opposed to the resort cottages. Standard room was very clean and spacious enough for our needs. Lovely large deep bath in clean roomy bathroom with lovely big white fluffy towels. Tea making facilities and bottled water laid on in room. Spa facilities excellent which we used each day. Breakfast was good buffet style with cereals, and cooked options. Ate in the restaurant second night and had an excellent well cooked and presented 2 course meal for £21/head. Nice wine list and reasonably priced. Only criticism was the bread roll served with the meal are these cheap ubiquitous rebaked frozen rolls (my pet hate) which no self respecting chef should serve up. I am sure there must be a local baker that could provide decent bread. Other than that we had a nice relaxing time with helpful staff in beautiful surroundings and look forward to a return visit sometime.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bothydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for all your positive comments, we are so glad to read you had an enjoyable visit and we hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Booked our hotel room via Groupon for a 2 night deal and upgraded to a deluxe room for an extra £10 a night. This was well worth the extra money as our room was spacious and had a huge bathroom that consisted of large bath and shower. Brilliant stuff! The grounds were well kempt and my husband and I enjoyed a game of putting and used the swimming pool and spa facilities. Breakfast was buffet style and had the usual range of cooked items. Might have liked a choice of eggs though-fried was all they had on offer! Overall. it was a enjoyable break and would recommend it. Will be back!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your five star review, we are glad to read you enjoyed a relaxing break.
We hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon and please be sure to ask the breakfast team for your egg choice, which are readily available and cooked to order, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This resort is in a lovely location only 5 minutes from the town. First impressions are quite good until you drive around the complex. There are quite bad pot holes on the roads. Many of the cottages look ancient because of the poor condition of doors and windows! The grounds are well maintained and there is plenty room for children to play safely near the cottages. There is a lovely peaceful feel about the place. On arrival at the cottage, the first thing we did was put on the heating - the place was freezing but it wasn t too cold outside. I wondered why the heating hadn't been put on before our arrival but then remembered that we had to pay separately for the electricity!!! For the price you pay for the cottages I think this is ridiculous! (For our 2 night stay it amounted to £4). Our cottage was Quaich with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Furniture was good throughout although TV was old style. Crockery, etc was good. Kitchen was not spotless but ok. Comfy beds. Ensuite bathroom was spacious but very cold with only small heated towel rail. Window blind was very dirty with lots of damp marks. Shower adequate. Painting on skirtings was obviously not done by someone who cares!! There was a painting hanging in dining area with a huge water mark across it. Why??
We used pool which was not too warm but bearable. Not too many people so could have a good swim. Had lovely massage in spa but there is no reception area. You just have to sit in corridor and wait until someone comes out of treatment room. I also had nails done but don't think the girl was too confident and did not have equipment to quick dry nails between coats of varnish. Was told not to touch anything for a good while!!! Not practical! Did not eat in restaurant - looked quite pricey. Lovely seating area with play area for kids. Snooker room and games hall available too.
We had a lovely few days but would not rate it 5 star. Maybe 3
Come on Moness - first impressions count. Anyone popping in for a browse around would get the wrong impression because of the state of the paintwork etc. And sort out the electricity thing!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHLEEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for all your positive comments. Whilst we are not five star we very proud of our four star status as awarded by Visit Scotland. We do appreciate all feedback and use it constructively to improve the customer experience. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

There are plenty of plusses for the Moness, but also downsides. If you know the downsides in advance and don't care about them, it should be fine.

On the plus side, the cottage we were in was spacious, fully furnished, kitchen had everything we needed (and we ate at home several nights, every breakfast and some lunches). The grounds are well kept, and the area is very interesting (although you'll want a car if staying more than a couple of days, Aberfeldy is pretty small).

On the minus side, the kitchen hadn't been cleaned before we arrived. The oven had old food lying on floor of the oven, and the roasting pan was completely full of old grease. They didn't come until the next day to clean when we let them know of this significant problem, by then I had done most of the cleaning myself. Also, be aware that you have to pay for all your electricity, that means lights, TV, heat, hot water -- everything. And the heating elements work variably well - some not well at all. We were there during cold weather, it wasn't very good. Especially since there was no radiator in the bathroom, so that room was especially cold. Also, they advertise wifi in the rooms -- NOT ACCURATE. Wifi in our cottage was poor - the signal was weak, although we could get a nearly strong enough signal by sitting on or just inside the door to the balcony. It was not reliable, we dropped our connection frequently. When I asked about this, they told me it's because I'm American, also complete nonsense, it's strictly because the signal wasn't adequate. If you don't care about wifi, this won't matter to you. I did not find the management-level staff very helpful, but the people who were responsible to actually do things were helpful and friendly.

Despite the problems, we enjoyed our stay, although not enough to consider returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgscmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort. Thank you for all your positive comments, although it is naturally disappointing to read some of your concerns, which I have passed to the relevant department heads. It is our aim to present all cottages to a high standard and I am sorry to read we did not on this occasion. Despite your concerns, it is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
931 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
106 reviews
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing