We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Moness Resort is a very big complex. As we went in April most of the cottages were empty. We stayed in the hotel, in a delux bedroom. The room was very spacious, lovely, large bed and two comfy chairs. The bathroom huge. The service and food excellent. The location of the complex ideal for sightseeing and walks, Perth, Dundee, Scone Castle, Pitclochry, etc. I cannot comment on the leisure facilities as we didn't use them. I would give a cautionary note that during the high season it most probably would be very hectic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon, many thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    1,116
    550
    198
    151
See reviews for
954
1,517
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wow - had booked through travel zoo and what a bargain. £129 for 3 night B&B - Hotel first class, grounds very well kept, booking in although busy at time excellent service. We were in room 4 of main hotel, very high standard of fittings and decor, towels white, thick and fluffy, excellent housekeeping throughout the stay. Didn't use leisure facilities as lots of families with children who were really enjoying the water, please don't take this as a negative comment as we love to see children enjoying themselves and as we were out each day just hit the bar/ wine in room on the night.
We visited Blair Athol which is well worth a trip - steeped in history and the only place in UK who have a private army!,,, Pitlochry also well worth a visit and Crieff with it's crystal outlets and Valentines shop who stock Barbour, staff really customer focused and niece really pleased with her bag!!!!
We drove to Perth and did the park and ride just outside which drops you off in the town centre - as we have English bus passes we couldn't use then but the fare was pence and drivers very pleasant on both journeys.
I would like to congratulate the staff at Moness for their excellent customer service, food to die for and first class service. Would certainly recommend thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and although could hear the people walking above it did not disrupted our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy18Teesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for such a great five star review, all your feedback with regards to the resort and the surrounding area is fantastic to read, thank you for you recommendation and we hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights with friends as part of a groupon deal. The resort and facilities like the swimming pool, restaurants etc we're clean, quiet and very beautiful. The staff were helpful and friendly, can not say a bad word about about the employees or about the cottage I was staying at. Because we had bought this as a deal it was definitely good value for money but if it was not then I think it's very expensive for the limited time we were staying. Some of the reviews on here aren't true and I would not read the bad ones as I did and was worried but none of the things they had said were true. Definitely more for people who are wanting to get away and relax in a secluded area. Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for your five star review, your comments were really great to read, we hope its not too long before you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Purchased it is on deal for spa break with friends. Unfortunately unknown to us our spa day clashed with the Easter school holidays, thus changing rooms, pool, sauna & steam room over run with noisy kids. The jacuzzi was broken and under repair. The pool was freezing. No relaxation room instead a dirty, cold corridor to sit in while waiting for treatments. Treatments were varied; great reflexology, nice massage though gentle pressure, worst manicure ever...nails were not shaped, cuticles untreated, tiny selection of colours for polish, and only 1 coat of colour applied thus very streaky. Lunch is from a limited & basic menu. Our room was modern, clean & spacious, though situated outside of the main hotel building. Our evening meal in the main restaurant was outstanding, worthy of 4 stars. The setting of the hotel is also beautiful! However the service especially at reception was poor, a terribly slow & uninviting check in, & they failed to resolve our lack of hot water in the morning before breakfast, so cold showers all round. Breakfast was mixed, avoid the porridge it was inedible, not what you expect from a scottish 4 star hotel. Would not recommend for a relaxing spa break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to review Moness Resort, some of which is naturally disappointing to read. We are sorry that some of your expectation's were not met and I have passed a copy of your review to relevant department heads who will take steps to address any shortcomings, thank you for your feedback, which is always used constructively to improve the customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Mother's Day treat for my mother & I. Living social voucher 2x 30min treatments, lunch & use of facilities. We arrived at 12.30 after a 90 mile drive!! 2.5 hours later, ( my other half bought the vouchers) we decided to have lunch first which is situated in a cafe/bar area overlooking the pool. Waitress explained that we could only choose from food marked with a S! Not much choice from the menu, we both had mushroom soup which was very hot & tasty, I had the salmon really nice, my mum had a flatbread pizza. Drinks were not included. Bit of a rammie going on in the kitchen, the chef then appears in the restaurant and announces " sorry for the delay, but it was the managers fault" sorry but not what I expected, and I wanted to burst out laughing , it was like faulty towers.

Next was our treatments, strange layout for treatment rooms a corridor and a few chairs to sit on whilst waiting, area badly needing redecoration. We both had a back, neck & shoulder massage & facial. They were very good and felt relaxed after. Though redecoration needed in the room I was in as it had oil or wax splattered over the wall. The spa area was ok steam room, sauna, hot tub & pool. The pool was freezing, again needed a make over!
We enjoyed our day, but could have had the same closer to home, didn't feel Moness was anything spectacular. After the hassle with the voucher when booking I thought they might have given us a free drink. They had taken down the wrong voucher number they then redeemed the voucher then constantly phoned me about as it was different name, one person should be in charge of the vouchers!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank icelolly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the second time I have visit the Moness Resort. The cottages are spotless, the staff are very friendly & helpful, food in the bar upstairs is very good & reasonably priced. There may not be much too do in the resort apart from the spa & swimming spool but we don't come here to do nothing there is plenty to do if you get off your backside and look for it. Will definatly be returning next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages in the Courtyard. They are the newest & nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review, its great to read you enjoyed another stay at Moness and we hope its not to long before your next visit, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in one of the resorts cottages, a one bedroom cottage that slept 4 people, there was a pull out sofa bed in the lounge area. Cottages are clean and functional with all expected amenities, they are a little tired and worn looking though, carpets could do with a clean. The hotel facilities were good, with a nice swimming pool, sauna, hot tub and sauna all available free of charge. Disappointed that we were charge for using electric storage heaters, the charge was only £8 for a weekend stay, but I have never came across this before. When checking out there was a restaurant charge of £100 added to the bill, I queried this and was told it was a mistake and it was removed from the bill. I received a phone call on my arrival at home from a gentleman at reception who more or less accused our party of having breakfast in the restaurant and trying to get away with paying the bill. Needless to say it was sorted out eventually but left a sour taste over the whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. Our utilities charge is not uncommon on larger resorts and is always made clear on all literature available at time of booking. I'm sorry to read of the confusion with your invoice at check out and for any misunderstandings and am pleased to read that you were charged correctly. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing