We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything about our stay was average. Our room in the hotel was quite small and the decor was tired, it was not like the pictures on their website. Bed was ok but the pillows were awful. There was also a bright green fire exit light that shone all night in the bedroom which was very annoying. My mum had booked a cottage. It was more like a duplex and the decor was very basic and old fashioned and really needed a spruce up. The staff in the breakfast room/restaurant were friendly and helpful. However the food at dinner was nothing special and was a disappointment for the price so we ate elsewhere for our second night. The breakfast was fine and there was a good selection. The bar in the main building is a very strange set up, it is more like a cafe room over looking the pool, lacked any atmosphere. I would have expected a cosy country bar in a place like this. We booked our stay at a discount price through a website I would have been exceptionally disappointed if I had paid the full price for bed and breakfast at £125 a night. Would not be worth that! I have stayed in far nicer places for a lot less money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,025 - 3,031 of 3,745 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent a few days here with my sister. She had booked us a spa deal as my birthday treat. We stayed in one of the cottages, which had a well equipped kitchen and a very comfortable bedroom. The grounds are pretty, with lots of duck families and wild life strolling around.
When we didn't feel like cooking, the hotel restaurant provided a good selection of meals. And a good selection of after dinner whiskeys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked via a Groupon deal for the hotel & breakfast deal & were happy to pay the wknd supplement prices. We have stayed in lots of places all over the world & found the accommodation to a high standard. We had a deluxe, double room with a huge bathroom in the East Wing. The staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. The food was good, but we ate out as well. We took a bus trip to Pitlochry & taxi back, perfect day out. The only tip would be to improve the bar area. There is a nice lounge next to the restaurant, but this could be better utilised with a bar, music, tv & entertainment area. The live bands were upstairs in the canteen style area. Staff again were superb, but this entertainment would be better served in a public bar & not swimming pool canteen. Overall an amazing stay & would absolutely recommend to anyone & will definitely go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Posted review on 3rd May shown against Moness Spa. Would rare at 3.5. Lovely area and a nice resort. Excellent value with an Amazon Local deal. Did not get double bed requested and upgraded for which was a shame on day one of a four day anniversary break. Arrived late so too late to sort as night porter confirmed hotel was full. Very large and clean rooms! Great bath. TV, tables etc all need to be bigger. Nice staff. Really needs a gym but pool and amenities are very good. Beautifully kept grounds and a lovely hotel building. Good breakfast. Really good value. I would recommend this given value, facilities and the location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Crogilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What can I say? I read some bad reviews before going (being the pesemist). I need not have worried. Place was great, rooms were lovely, staff were nice..food was great ( we did have a blunder with food but staff sorted it out without any fuss) A lot of the time my partner and I struggle with food when we go away, as she is vegetarian, but this resort catered really well for both of us, its just a pity my partner doesn't write reviews on trip advisor as she was really impressed with the food.
Located in a fantastic area, this place is a must!
Birks of Aberfeldy is a great walk (take left path if your not physically fit).
I would and will go back here!
Like I say "Top Notch"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful part of the world (not the town but definitely the surrounding countryside) so this is a good base from which to explore.
The hotel grounds are very nice, and the room lovely - recently refurbished, nice and clean, and the bath & shower quite luxurious (great water pressure, big fluffy towels, etc etc).
The resort appears well suited to family groups, with good child-friendly bar, restaurant, and leisure facilities.
Perhaps it was an unreasonable expectation on our part, but we were attracted by the "spa weekend" promotion and expected more from the "spa" part. A couple of dingy cramped treatment rooms down a corridor does not a spa make - they were also fully booked 6 weeks in advance (perhaps the hen party in residence had something to do with that). The staff were very good and kindly crammed appointments in at the start of the day for us - we appreciate that.
Overall, however, the resort appears to be trying to do too many things, and should focus on what it does best (families). Couples seeking a relaxing retreat will not find it with the kids in the hot-tub and canteen atmosphere of the Terrace Bar.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, but chose to spend our days and evenings in the delightful surrounding towns and countrysides (recommend the restaurants Amour and Chillies a short walk from the resort gate.

Room Tip: 'Standard room' 3 is well appointed, but on the ground floor and the windows are small so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halitosis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This resort is situated in a lovely part of Scotland with easy access to everywhere. The resort itself is just outside Aberfeldy and is on a sloping site with lovely views. The grounds are immaculately cared for and there are very tame ducks wandering around to keep the visitors amused.
We stayed in a 2 bed in the Courtyard which was on 2 levels, with the bedrooms being upstairs. one was ensuite, with a bath and shower being separate for the other one. There was a further toilet and shower downstairs adjacent to the large living area. The accommodation was to a very high standard and was very clean, and certainly appropriate in size to a party of 4 adults and 1 child.
Right from the start of the visit, and throughout, the staff could not have been more helpful or attentive, and they are certainly a credit to the resort.
We used the leisure facilities to the full, and these were first class, as were the meals we had in the bar area.
We really could not fault any aspect of our stay, and would recommend a visit to anyone.

Room Tip: I'd suggest that all accommodation here would be first class, but we were certainly impressed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastic orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
103 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
920 reviews
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,898 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £48 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing