We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 bed cottage stay”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“1 bed cottage stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I are just back from a 2 day stay at this resort, we had a 1 bed cottage.
Firstly the only way I can describe the interior of the cottages is that they resemble an elderly relatives sheltered housing bungalow, they are clean but out of date, we normally stay at the cottages within duchally estate at gleneagles which are of a much superior quality but you pay for it, we only paid £99 for 2 nights at moness which represents incredible value for money. Everywhere is clean and the pool facilities are also good but no gym??.
Overall a really good stay at the price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,230
    614
    213
    169
See reviews for
1,115
1,712
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying here and we just love it, the room we have (room 11) is a superior room it is enormous, spotlessly clean and the bathroom is stunning, our last stay was in the standard deluxe apart from the size there is no difference, the standard of cleanliness is 1st class, we had a meal in the terrace bar great choice of food and not long to wait, the breakfast is also lovely with loads to choose from from the buffet, Aberfeldy it's self is lovely with a few wee shops and you must walk THE BIRKS as the waterfalls are stunning but please note this is only for fit able people thou, the hotel is just a stones throw from this walk, would like alook in the cottagesmaybe one day we'll try the cottages

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked Moness Resort using a Groupon voucher for a “luxurious” 2 night stay in a cottage including “cream tea”. Firstly, accommodation could not be classed as luxurious or 4 star and the cream tea was a cup of tea and a Home Economics standard scone heated up in the microwave! Aside from this, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moness. It is only a short walk to the lovely Birks of Aberfeldy and into the town itself and is a great base for exploring the surrounding area. There is a farmers’ market in the town square the first Sunday of each month and well worth a visit for local produce. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage which was well equipped, clean, comfortable, spacious and had great views. It was, however, in need of some minor maintenance and a lick of paint here and there (the lid was missing from the kitchen bin, the shower head holder and toilet seat were broken). Loo roll, washing up liquid, cloths, tea towels and bath towels were all supplied. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. We only used the spa facilities once (swimming pool/sauna/jacuzzi/steam room) but they were modern and very clean. We didn’t eat at the resort, so can’t comment on the standard of the food (other than the scones!), but we did have a drink on the terrace. It's a bit "tired" and in need of some TLC. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return (although probably on a “deal” and not full price).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyjam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got a two day B & B stay for two via Amazon Local for £89 which was excellent value. Room spacious with double bath and a shower. Only criticism was that it required an open walk from the dining room which might be a problem in rain! Breakfast good with prompt service. Dinner was also good although the normal dining room was temporarily out of commission for redecorating. Lunch in the upstair bistro bar overlooking the [small] swimming pool was adequate but noisy music!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald_Douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were allocated a nice one bedroom house in the grounds which was perfectly adequate but requires a lick of paint & carpets cleaned.,certainly not 4 star.
We got off to a bad start when went to bar overlooking the pool for a drink & stood for 10 minutes waiting to be served, we eventually gave up and went into the village of Aberfeldy.
The first night we went to restaurant for a meal which was very nice and staff were all very pleasant.
I know this was a good deal on Groupon but I did expect a more luxurious stay and attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 810PAMELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner syayed here in early may for two nights using a groupon deal. Setting for this resort is beautiful and the people friendly staff were helpful and approachable. We utilised the the self catering and took our own food to make. Although the resteraunt did look nice we never dinned there. Plenty of local pubs just a short walk if you fancy getting away from the resort. Only two gripes were the cottage was a little dated co pared to others and upon checking out we were presented with a bill for £180 although we hadn't used the charge card provided. This was fixed swiftly by staff and apologies made which was appreciated. Overall would come back due to the beautiful area but may pay extra for more comfortable and modern accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RVTKD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in a hotel room in the East Wing. Room and grounds were lovely but hotel was let down by the common areas. Resturaunt was full so we decided to eat in the bar. It was awful - have seen nicer leisure centre cafes - which is what it reminds me of as it was over looking the pool! Food itself was okay but nothing spectacular. Breakfast was nice and service was very good.

If you are expecting a spa resort you will be very disapointed but as a one night stay its okay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineBDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,601 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
364 reviews
16.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing