We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for friends' wedding and were in room 20. Check in was quite quick and painless and we got reasonably priced drinks before going to the room. The setting of this hotel is gorgeous and the room was spacious with great storage and an amazing bathroom. I've seen a few reviews mentioning dirty rooms, but ours was great - the only slightly dirty thing was the shower door seal! Breakfast was awesome and lovely service from the waiting staff.
My ONLY problem was that the room was SO hot! The Friday had been the hottest day of the year, but there is no air-con or fan in the room. On the Saturday morning, whilst we were getting ready, we were both dripping with sweat. That was with glasses of ice, the window open, etc. So that wasn't great, but otherwise it was fantastic!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Corinna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moness-CS-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay; we did struggle with the heat during the period of your stay this summer, it's the first time in 4 years since our refurbishment that this has been the case and we apologise for being ill prepared to deal with this.

Let hope that we get a repeat next year, but we promise that we'll have fans available for use in all rooms.

Hope we will see in you in Aberfeldy again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,081 - 3,087 of 3,907 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just back from a couple of nights in one of the Moness cottages. We booked a 3 bedroom cottage which sleeps 8. First impressions on entering the cottage was how spacious it was, the bedrooms were really big, especially the master which had an ensuite shower room. The other two rooms were good sizes and shared a bathroom.

Upstairs was an open lounge/ kitchen and a dining room off it. It was all very spacious with good quality furniture and well equipped. The only thing we didn't have was a bottle opener however housekeeping got us one within an hour.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and warm and although the resort was busy we went to the pool just before dinner time and got it almost to ourselves.

Definitely a great place to go for a relaxing break and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynneMorris2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moness-CS-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for reviewing our 3 bedroom cottages; we think they are perfect for family get- togethers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just returned from a three day stay with our grandchildren. We stayed inFern Cottage..no 99.
On arrival we were greeted very professionally by the older gentleman on reception duties. Our cottage was not ready...we were very early but were allowed to check in and we went upstairs to the Terrace Bar where the kids played in the soft play.
Our cottage was near to Reception and the pool. The cottage had been refurbished to a high standard and we were extremely pleased with the quality of the furnishings, bedlinen and fluffy towels. The modern kitchen had most items we required for our stay and the fridge freezer was a great asset. The dishwasher was an unexpected bonus. The open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area was spacious and light. The downstairs large double bedroom had an ensuite bathroom.....unexpected...and quality new furniture with mirror wardrobes and TV. The second bedroom with two single large beds was spacious. The second bathroom was modern with glass shower screen and beech fitted fixtures the same as the ensuite.
We used the spa and pool which was supervised and cleaned regularly.
We found all staff to be very professional, polite and welcoming.
We have read previous reviews and wonder if the visitors were in the same resort as we were! We plan to return as we enjoyed it so much.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moness-CS-Manager, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your very positive review, our staff do work very hard and try to present everything to the very highest standard. We don't always get it right but when we read comments like yours it gives us a boost to keep striving for perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My boyfriend & I booked a 2 night hotel stay through a Living Social Deal. It didn't get off to a good start due to lack of signage/directions to the hotel. After 2 dead ends (using the sat nav post code) we flagged down a local who pointed us in the right direction.
Once we found the reception area (again signage wasn't great) we got to our room. Unfortunatley although the bathroom was clean & very spacious there wasn't a bath. We were really dissapointed as we had assumed that a 'Delux' room would of had a bath. Everything else was fine though although the bed was on the small side. Couldn't fault cleanliness & tea/coffee facilities.
We ventured down to try out the spa facilities & hoped a nice soak in the hot tub would make up for the lack of bath but unfortunatley it was full of kids & not working to full capacity. The jacuzzi & pool were too cold so we just went back to our room.
We never ate in the hotel as the cheaper menu was in the Spa area & a bit too full of screaming kids for our liking & the main resturant looked too posh plus a bit expensive!
Breakfast was great, both cooked & continental options available. The staff were efficient & friendly.
The free WiFi wasn't working on the 1st night. Phone signal isn't great so thankfully the WiFi was working the next day.
Aberfeldy itself is lovely & you're not too far away from other towns & attractions. The hotel isn't far from the town centre & the Birks but there is no footpath for about 300 yards from the hotel to the Birks.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath if you like having a bath! Also note the sign for the Hotel says Moness Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiestagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resiort and for your feedback, which is used to improve the customer experience. We are sorry to read you had trouble finding the resort, our website does advise guests not use a sat nav as it will bring you to the rear of the resort, we will look at ways to make this message clearer. The deluxe rooms are our standard rooms, some of which do have baths and would kindly ask any guests wanting a bath to request this at time of booking to avoid disappointment. Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

In almost 30 years of timeshare exchanges, we have come to expect a high standard of accommodation in Scotland and USA/Canada. We were most disappointed at the "luxury" cottage on the Moness resort. There is no dishwasher in the dated kitchen, which is an absolute must in a one bedroomed cottage marketed at £890 a week in August. Electricity use, as well as changes of bed linen and towels half way through are charged extra, so I dread to think what condition the tea towels will be in when we come to dry the final dishes upon leaving - still, that's the way they want it! The bedroom downstairs is dark and dank, although a very good size. The accommodation was laid out well, but the only two small windows faced north. The swimming pool is OK, but the notice on the door to the toilets & washbasins in the female changing room is faded. I think they must put timeshare exchanges and special offers in the oldest cottages. It took asking twice to have a tin opener replaced, although the second time of asking was responded to quickly. Staff are pleasant. It's OK if you are paying £350 a week.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer or refurbished cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort. We are naturally disappointed to read your expectations were not met in your RCI exchange cottage, I would kindly advise that RCI allocate your cottage not Moness and we would advise that all guests if they have a specific request for an accommodation type to please ask at time of booking, although RCI will only have a limited availability within their points programme. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my partner have just got back from a two night bed n breakfast at the moness resort. We booked it through groupon for £99.
This is our last wee break away before our wee bundle of joy arrives in October so we where looking for something quiet and relaxing. This is what we got.
On arrival the girl at reception asked if we had been before, we said no she then gives us our key tells us where the room was and that was it.... No times for breakfast/dinner times. That was about the only slight disappointment we had as when we went to have dinner in the restaurant we where told by the waiter that as we hadn't reserved a table we wouldn't b able to eat there for at least an hour n a half. We ended up just eating up the stair in the pub which was lovely.
The room we had was lovely couldn't fault it at all. Really spacious and clean. Was one slight problem with the kettle.... After boiling the water there seems to be little black floating bits in the bottom of the kettle. But as far as complaints I wouldn't say that was anything to jump up and down about.
We plan on returning maybe next year with our baby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mickyxhx89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking then time to review Moness Resort an for all your great feedback which is really appreciated and passed to all relevant department heads to be used to improve the customer experience, its great to read that despite some small concerns you would stay with us again and we will look forward to your next visit, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I had a voucher to go away with my husband for a 2 nights stay in one of the cottages in the moness resort, unfortunately we had a family bereavement the day before we were due to go and I tried calling reservation to advise the we would have to cancel but this was closed, I emailed them to advise them and followed this up with a call on the tues morning to see if we had lost the use of the voucher or if they would allow us to reschedule due to the circumstances, I was advised by lyndsay on reception that I would now lose the voucher as they need at least 72hrs notice and could have sold these 2 nights over and over again and they were now fully booked until end of October. I have now written to the company I bought the voucher from to see if they can do anything to help. Not very good customer services from THE MONESS RESORT

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Angela-GaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,982 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
949 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Perth A9
Travelodge Perth A9
#4 of 18 in Perth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £59 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing