We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Fernbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernbank House
Ranked #12 of 20 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just back from a nights stay with a friend at Fernbank House. Lovely, spacious and comfortable room and bathroom, our hosts were very welcoming. We enjoyed some very helpful and informative chats with Annette and would definitely recommend Aberfeldy as a place to stay and explore the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: The rooms I saw were all very comfortable, clean and welcoming, I would be happy to stay in any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we very much enjoyed you staying with us. Best regards Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at Fernbank House for 2 nights last week and can't praise it enough. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was filling and tasty with a great choice. Our room, Moness, was large and extremely comfortable. Fernbank House is less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of town where there are several eating establishments and shops. Would highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much. The room you stayed in is my favourite, so spacious and comfortable. So pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to you staying again. Best regards Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a working up in aberfeldy area ,lovely big room nice beds and bathroom very clean, the breakfast menu was good , I went for the main breakfast ,big in size and Really Good quality, plenty parking places,just a short walk to the local resturants and some bars,

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank georgehfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you again. Best regards Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Having stayed in many Hotels over the years we were a bit wary of staying in only our 2nd B and B for over 20 years.

However everything was great, this is more like a small Hotel with residents lounge and breakfast room. I will list the good points, in no particular order.
Big room
Plenty of heating in room and bathroom as required
Massive choice at breakfast, including home made jam and marmalade
Nice towels and toiletries, and tea coffee in room plus tablet/fudge
DVD player in bedroom and choice of DVDs in residents lounge
Plenty hot water
Parking
Short walk into town
Big bed and plenty pillows
Very nice and friendly Owner
Ability to come and go as desired
We managed to get a voucher deal so even better than normal
Bad Point
Didnt have enough time there to try all of the breakfast options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr-TaxTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much, we look forward to seeing you again next year. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here at the weekend, Friday and Saturday night. To be honest although the Bed and Breakfast was nice, I was a little disappointed. I felt that the price we paid was not too expensive for what we got. To be fair though Aberfeldy was busy this particular weekend and perhaps the price was simply overstated to reflect this. The House itself was clean and tidy, nicely decorated. I thought that our room was a little small. The radiator in the room itself did not work and it was chilly on the night that we arrived, however it was too late to bother the landlady to ask about it. Also, the WiFi did not work anywhere in the House. The rooms were average, plain decoration and just enough room for two people. The shower was okay, took a long time to heat up and then quickly got far too hot. The breakfast was lovely, I would recommend the pancakes. On our first night the landlady Annette was away, so we were greeted by a "stand in" landlady who clearly was not pleased that we were arriving so late, despite the fact I had pre-warned of a late arrival and then phoned to say that we had been unexpectedly delayed. Also, we accidentally set off the fire alarm, make sure that you keep the bathroom door firmly closed whilst you are in the shower!!! All in all we did enjoy our stay, Aberfeldy is a lovely place, but I think that the price for this Bed and Breakfast was over inflated for what you got.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our Bed & Breakfast, I am however, confused as you say in your review "was not too expensive for what we got", then later "I think that the price for this Bed & Breakfast was overinflated for what you got". Our prices do not change throughout the year, regardless of events in the area and public holidays etc. So the price you paid was certainly not inflated.
As you arrived late that evening the heating had already gone off for the night so your radiator therefore was not hot.
Occasionally there is intermittent service with the Wi-Fi, due to the house being of old design and very thick walls, however, the other guests staying at the time of your visit were using their devices and the coverage appeared to be fine.
On the night of your arrival, I was in fact in the building and was aware that Val, my stand-in, was making enormous efforts to sort out your problems with the taxi that you had booked. She also kindly agreed to do an early breakfast for you as you were doing the marathon the following morning.
Setting the fire alarm off with the steam from your hot shower was unfortunate but it's reassuring that it works effectively.
I'm glad you did enjoy your stay, I hope overall we offered you clean and comfortable accommodation, a hearty breakfast and I do hope we can welcome you into our home again in the future.
Best regards Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed at Fernbank a few times and always had a great experience. Lovely, light and scrupulously clean bedrooms and a breakfast that cannot be beaten!

Fernback is a character Victorian house where a friendly welcome awaits from Annette . Free Wi-Fi and close to Aberfeldy town centre and walking distance of all points of interest.

Room Tip: The family room at the front has a triple aspect (although it overlooks the main road so be careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Fernbank, a lovely Victorian house with good parking alongside was a great find. We had a double room which was spacious, beautifully clean and had everything we might need (even down to an emery board to complement the lovely Scottish pure soap toiletries in the en-suite. Bed was huge and very comfy with lovely linen. A wonderful breakfast, chosen the night before from an interesting list, completed the picture. I haven't stopped telling friends about it since we came home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jigsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacAberfeldy, Owner at Fernbank House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. As a small B & B, run as a family home and business, I like to keep my rooms as comfortable, clean and uncluttered as I possibly can. In this way I hope that every guest will feel at home. Many thanks and we hope to see you again in the future. Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
7.8 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 20 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balnearn House
Balnearn House
#3 of 20 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernbank House

Property: Fernbank House
Address: Fernbank House Kenmore Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernbank House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernbank House is an impressive Victorian House, built in the late 19th Century and situated in Aberfeldy, in the heart of Highland Perthshire. Once owned by the Earl of Breadalbane. Annette and Rory Macdonald offer a warm welcome to their home which offers a high standard of service and comfort. The guest bedrooms, all ensuite, are spacious and elegantly decorated to a high standard, with a welath or original Victorian features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fernbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernbank House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing