We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIFFICULT CIRCUMSTANCES BUT FIRST CLASS GUEST HOUSE”
Review of Fernbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernbank House
Ranked #12 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DIFFICULT CIRCUMSTANCES BUT FIRST CLASS GUEST HOUSE”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

House and rooms are of a good standard and very clean. Owners family was very friendly and helpful. Despite the owner having previously been involved in a serious road accident she continued to provide an excellent level of service whilst injured. In a previous review they were criticised for children carrying out the breakfast service, I believe this was at the time of the accident and the children had stepped in to help out at a difficult time. (bit harsh man)
Secure pushbike storage is provided along with private parking. Aberfeldy and the surrounding area is stunning and well worth a visit especially for cycling and outdoor pursuits.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBeeStornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The rooms are ok, although the bathrooms (en suite) are old and would need substantial renovation. During our stay, the owners were not present and instead two to three children were doing their best to maintain the B&B. While they were friendly, you cannot expect a good service when 14 year olds serve you: the sausages during breakfast were almost raw, the black pudding was burned and so on. In my opinion, a 4 star B&B should also include a better service. All in all ok, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed one night with a family of four and were given a wonderful and very spacious room. The owner was very friendly and helpful in every way. The house was impressive both inside and outside and the location was peaceful and quiet. Definately a place we want to return to!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatchbackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Fernbank House was a delight to stay in Aberfeldy! The rooms were bright and spacious. My only complaint was that the wifi connection was so weak that I could not log onto the internet on my laptop or my iTouch. The breakfast in the morning was delicious since her husband is a butcher. Aberfeldy is quiet and quaint. Also, Loch Tay is a quick drive to th west of Fernbank House and makes for a beautiful evening stroll along it's banks in Kenmore. I would definitely recommend Fernbank House to anyone wishing to stay in the heart of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgraham415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it, Rory and Annette cannot do enough for you , we had the superior double which is so grand huge victorian room with fantastic cornicing etc. The breakfast is wonderful REALLY cannot be beaten.Thank you to 2 lovely people from Stephen and Beryl

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My Wife and I spent just one night at the Fernbank. Our room was large and clean, and my wife loved the Tub. The one knock on the room was it was a very windy night, and the windows shook enough to make sleeping for difficult for my wife (I can sleep through anything).

The ownerswere very pleasent during our stay, but it was after we left that we really need to praise them. I'd left my wedding ring in our room (and did I mention the trip wa sour honeymoon). To make a long story short, they were tremendously helpfull, and forwarded it along to meet us at a hotel in Glasgow later in our trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

a very good value b and b on the main street (very quiet) of Aberfeldy-very comfy beds and a great breakfast made with local fresh produce and meats from the owners own shop.Very pleasant owner-we would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fujiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
7.8 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balnearn House
Balnearn House
#3 of 19 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernbank House

Property: Fernbank House
Address: Fernbank House Kenmore Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernbank House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernbank House is an impressive Victorian House, built in the late 19th Century and situated in Aberfeldy, in the heart of Highland Perthshire. Once owned by the Earl of Breadalbane. Annette and Rory Macdonald offer a warm welcome to their home which offers a high standard of service and comfort. The guest bedrooms, all ensuite, are spacious and elegantly decorated to a high standard, with a welath or original Victorian features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fernbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernbank House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing