We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in excellent location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gus_434
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in excellent location.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. Cottage was spacious and warmed up wonderfully (despite not using the wood-fire) with radiators on. An excellent base in the area, with Aberfeldy right on your doorstep. Easy to walk into town for supplies, or to blow the froth off a couple!

Would certainly stay again, really loved the area and the hikes it had to offer. Very gracious host also.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, full of light, space and character”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, the Armoury is full of character with a fabulous light and spacious family room. There's also a cosy lounge with a fireplace and outside there's a pretty enclosed garden. This is a wonderful place for family and friends to stay and a great location for walking in the local hills. The Aberfeldy Show was taking place during our stay and this was definitely an added attraction. We'd never seen anyone tossing the caber before! We hired a car for our visit but found we didn't need it very much as many picturesque walks start from near the town centre. The Armoury slept six comfortably and there's even a wigwam in the garden for two or three hardy souls!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmf13
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous for pets & humans alike”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here in the middle of some glorious weather, so managed to pack in a full week of activity & this property suited our needs perfectly. Having separate bathrooms meant no hanging around in the morning. 2 adults & a dog, that thoroughly enjoyed the decent sized, safely enclosed garden, complete with WigWam for shade ! Prior to arrival, Rosemary made sure we knew how to get in, gave helpful landmark directions & ensured we had a contact point if needed. It wasn't. Easy off street parking & close, but not too close, proximity to the shops, meant that a quick stroll up the road took care of all necessary food & provisions on arrival.
There IS clothes storage room, but it is limited. The kitchen/dining area is wonderful though - light, spacious & warm, with direct access to that lovely safe garden. The dog loved the river walk & swimming about 2 minutes away & all the Munros a few miles away above Loch Tay.
I would happily recommend this property & return to it if returning to Aberfeldy in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole kitchen/dining area
Liked least: Lack of wardrobe space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackcoyle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable accommodation in central location”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed here in early October and we were thoroughly impressed with the Armoury.

The initial directions to get to the property were a little confusing and it took us around half an hour to finally find it! It's actually just located behind a house call the Armoury Tollhouse off Kenmore St (picture attached).

Inside there was a lovely wood burning fire - with some logs for our use. The TV didn't pick up a great signal however we were out and about most of the time so this didn't matter much.

The bed linen and bedrooms were lovely - we only used the ground floor bedroom as there were the two of us. Very cosy and good wardrobe space.

The kitchen and sun lounge were amazing - very good if you planned to host a dinner party, the kitchen had everything you could want in it. The feel of the whole property was that it had just been renovated - the kitchen felt brand new!

The only hiccup we encountered was when the boiler broke on the first night of our stay - this meant we had no hot water or heating. The owner was absolutely amazing and provided us with extra firewood and peat blocks for the fire as well as electric heaters. She made every endeavour to get the boiler fixed but this was difficult due to it being the weekend.

When we got back home we were invited for a free stay as well as being refunded a portion of our rent.

Overall it was a very enjoyable break and the accommodation was fantastic - the lack of heating meant we could get the most out of the fire! The owner handled our complaint amazingly so I would have no reservations with regards to staying here,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning fire
Liked least: Lack of TV signal, WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J1ll1an
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Characterful and bright home. Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

4 friends and I stayed at The Armoury for a weekend and had a fantastic time. Although situated just off the main street it's incredibly peaceful and one gets the feeling of being in the countryside. Our favourite aspect of this homely cottage was the spacious and bright sun room at the back - so cosy! Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and sun room
Liked least: The TV didn't work for us but maybe not technologically-minded!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellpatr...
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful haven”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I took my elderly father, my 11 year old son, my nephew and his girlfriend and their 21month old son.
What a lovely setting, great property although few areas in need of a little tlc, but I have told the helpful,lovely owner.
A delight to stay in, fab size kitchen and great garden.
Within easy walking distance of Aberfeldy town.
Ate at the fab bistro Cafe D'amour 3 times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and conservatory
Liked least: The sofa bed...did not work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing