We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kmoouk
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was lovely , everything supplied for a wee home from home - very well equipped. We arrived on a Friday evening and whilst the heating was on at low it took us a while to get the house to warm up. Even with a real fire we could still feel the draft coming from the conservatory which was a shame - a big heavy curtain would be just the job for this. Lovely garden, our dog just loved it - look forward to visiting again when the weather is a bit warmer.
Perfect location for lovely walks - had a great time. Rosemary was very helpful also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Hello thank-you for your feed back - good idea for the winter to get a big heavy type curtain -will action that when next up - it could be tied back in warmer months . Think is has to be tartan in the highlands ! Glad you had a good time. Best to you and yours. Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackisle...
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairly comfortable once warmed up.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The weather had been very cold -8 deg and we were looking forward to a warm cottage. Unfortunately it was freezing inside when we arrived and as we had young grandchildren with us, all we could do was put heating on full and go away again for an hour or so and find a warm café till it warmed up. After a couple of hours all was fine although the kitchen area and floor were never what you would call comfortable. A disappointing start to our stay although everything tuned out well in the end.
All Aberfeldy amenities are close at hand and the cinema is particularly good for food and entertainment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nearby amenites
Liked least: Cold cottage on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ah dear ,sorry to read that it was cold on arrival. ( I know it does heat up quite quickly. ) -8 was a pretty cold snap. We leave the heating on frost when unoccupied but take on board your comments and have a lovely neighbour along the road who would pop along a few hours before guests arrive and turn it up.:)) Obviously conscious of trying to give value for money we try not to run the heating full blast when the property is empty as we don't have an extra charge for ever increasing utilities but don't want our guest to arrive to a cool cottage either and have to wait an hour to heat up so apologies for that. We have found the place very cozy on winter visits. Glad you enjoyed your vacation though in this beautiful part of Bonnie Scotland. Kind regards rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveFamil...
Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Great spacious cottage within walking distance of the town and shops. Large kitchen area, lots of sofas, real fire and an enclosed garden so adults, children and dog all happy! Aberfeldy is lovely and there is so much to see in the area, we hope to return here soon.
Tip: We arrived on the dark so it was a bit tricky to find so make sure and get directions if you are doing the same!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ahhhh my hidden treasure!!
Sorry I didn't give you better directions think i hopefully do better now :) glad you had a good time and many thanks for kind comments. Haste ye back, all the best rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude-T77
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a short break in The Armoury. Lovely, cosy cottage located in the town of Aberfeldy which is a great base for exploring the area. Great spacious kitchen and sun room overlooking the private enclosed garden which was perfect for our golden retriever. Good communication from the owner who was more than helpful throughout the booking process. Did not want for anything during our stay and will certainly be rebooking next year. Would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, cosy cottage, log fire, huge kitchen and sun room
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank-you so much for lovely comments it means a lot to me that folk enjoy a well earned break. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Very kind regards rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay, in close proximity to the lovely town of Aberfeldy”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at the Armoury Cottage, can be a little confusing at first as the house is set back behind another property but luckily we were aware of this from reading previous reviews! Very deceiving actually, as even though you are in the centre of town it feels like you are out in the middle of nowhere. There is a very sweet little garden, fully enclosed for the dog and I can imagine it would be dab in the summer for nice BBQs. The cottage itself is beautiful with lots of nice little touches, lovely open fire that our little pug loved to lay out in front of on an evening. It is also very nice to have the living room be the centre of the house. Very grateful to find a few cleaning essentials, including toilet rolls (very important), matches, tea bags and other essentials, even though we did bring these with us.
Rosemary is a wonderful hostess and had been in touch quite a lot prior to the trip, and gave us some great ideas of things to do. There are also leaflets in the house to help you decide on activities to do. Whilst we were there we visited Kenmore (lovely), Pitlochry, Kinloch Rannoch, Strath Tummel, the birks of Aberfeldy, Blair Castle, Taymouth castle, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Invermoriston, the falls of Bruar, the Cairngorm mountain railway amongst others! Took our little dog everywhere with us which was great and enjoyed plenty of long and beautiful walks. Make sure to visit the Highland Chocolatier in Grandtully for a yummy chocolate fudge brownie - extremely enjoyable!
I would definitely stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to anyone. I loved the cottage. Thank you Rosemary for making my first trip to Scotland so enjoyable!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Wow Laura , thank you !so happy you had such a lovely time. Looking forward to welcoming you and yours back again soon. ! Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagsGovy
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Character Cottage, Peaceful setting, We loved it.”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at the Armoury for a week in September and we loved it.
The cottage is an old style building full of charm and character, when you enter there is a vestibule with tiled floor, perfect for hanging jackets and putting your dirty walking boots, then there is a snug with open fireplace stone walls and lots of comfy seating along with flat screen television and dvd player, there is also a large bathroom downstairs with shower over bath, and double bedroom, off of the snug is the large kitchen dining room with stone walls and sunroom, this is a beautiful room, we loved cooking and sitting at the dining table at night with views to the pretty garden. The sunroom has leather couches and chair with footstool, there is also a quirky wee tartan chair in the corner, I loved sitting on this for after dinner drinks.
Upstairs there is twin bedroom and en suite shower room, perfect for when my husband and I were getting ready at same time.
We loved returning here at night after a hard days walking.
This is a beautiful cottage in a very peaceful setting yet only a couple of minutes walk to Aberfeldy with its selection of bars and restaurants.
Rosemary the owner was very friendly and helpful in the lead up to our stay.
I would recommend Checkecks Persian restaurant in aberfeldy beside the information centre, take your own beers or wine as they are not licenced, but the owner was a lovely man and the food was amazing.
Also the La Birks Italian café was fantastic with a lovely atmosphere.
If you are staying for a week or longer a great tip is to order your shopping online from Asda in perth and have it delivered (a tip from Rosemary) it saved so much hassle.
We loved this cottage, especially the old features like stone walls and open fireplace, (although only used once as weather was great) there has been a lot of love and effort put into the home, and we would love to return.
Thanks Rosemary for letting us share your beautiful home.
Margo and Brian McGovern xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage, the setting, everything to be honest.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank-you guys ! Am new to all this, so reading reviews now ! So far had just read the guest book in the armoury. !! Hope you are well and haste ye back. ! Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeythersA...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place to relax”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've just returned from a weekend at The Armoury. The cottage was exactly as described on the website and the owner was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. We were able to take our dog with us and he loved the large garden and sun room, as did we, and relaxing in there with a cuppa watching the birds in the garden was just lovely. Everything was provided so you don't need to worry about bringing anything with you
It's very close to all amenities in town, but far enough away to be peaceful. There are plenty of eating places, Italian/Indian/chippy/pubs, so no need to go hungry and lots of walks nearby, like the Birks, for you to burn off those meals. Espcially worth a walk to is Wade's Bridge and the Black Watch Memorial, just down the road, with stunning views of the river.
All in all we had a great time here and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Very narrow entrance to shared driveway but nothing can be done about this
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Glad you love it as much as we do thank-you for the super and informative review. All the best rosemary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing