We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Balnearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balnearn House
Ranked #3 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here after a spa day at the Moness Resort.

We turned up just before checking in time (4pm) and were shown to our room. Which was the Loch Tay Suite. The room was fantastic. It was a large clean room with ensuite. The room overlooked the garden which really nice.

The room it self was spotless and the beds were comfy. There is a tv and dvd player in your room, tv worked fine but didnt use the dvd player but seemed fine. The en suite was large with a shower above a bath, there were plenty towels in the bathroom and complimentry shower gel and shampoo.

We had breakfast in the morning which was cooked to order and was tasty.

Will return when back this way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed on the 1st july. We were cycling around Scotland and this was one of our favourite places! We loved the rooms, the breakfast and the Lounge especially which had such character!
Lovely people who accomodated all of our 5 bikes and allowed us to use their foot pump before we left. many thanks Balnearn house from 5 happy cyclists!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very warm welcome. Room a decent size although TV small. Very clean beds although on the hard side. We used the lounge which was comfortable and were told we could drink our own wine if we wished. Interiors throughout were tasteful and of good quality. Sadly we were disappointed with the quality of the breakfast despite the excellent service. The cafetiere coffee was very weak (yes I could have asked for stronger). Portions were large however the scrambled eggs were tasteless and overdone, again mushrooms lacking in flavour and had been served with a good slosh of liquid. Both my husband and son (who are not fussy about sausages) said they were overly salty and gristly. Also, and other guests agreed, the little milk jugs were not designed to our liquid - milk went everywhere. It was really quite funny. My family and I agreed that the stay had been really pleasant up till the breakfast. Our advice would be to change the breakfast chef, make stronger coffee, replace the milk jugs and spend a bit more on quality sausages.

Room Tip: Female owner was very friendly and welcoming - so I would just ask and feel sure they would accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearsiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for one night in a double room during our trip around Scotland. Firstly, our request for late arrival was honoured, so had little trouble checking in. Our room was quiet and of appropriate size, and the bathroom was great, with nothing out of place. I have also checked out the lounge and must say it is very good, with a nice view of the garden. However, we targeted this B&B due to its provision of Wi-Fi, and found the service dodgy, with terrible loading times. Moreover, there was some cold creeping in from the large window - better insulation would not hurt. But otherwise I don't have much to beef about - our breakfast was cooked to order without fuss and was delicious. Overall, service very good and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our room for one night was booked several months in advance, requesting a double room with en suite bathroom, and we were allocated room 10. On arrival, we were told that we had been moved to room 3 to accommodate another guest who was staying 2 nights. Room 3 was very small, with no ensuite, nor even a washbasin. We had use of a minuscule shower room across the landing and down a corridor. As the B & B was fully booked that night, an ensuite room was not available. It was apparent that the owner had accepted more bookings for ensuite rooms that night than they could provide. The bed in room 3 had a mattress that was unpadded and unpleasantly lumpy, and we slept poorly. Breakfast was very good, and the lounge was pleasant, but the lesson is 'avoid room 3'

Room Tip: Avoid Room 3 if you want an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

It is with deep regret that we must respond to negative feedback after a guest’s visit, especially when we go out our way to ensure guests have a good experience with us from the time of booking.

With regard to “booking request not honoured” we feel that this is a very unfair portrayal of actually what happened. Your room booking was one of seven rooms booked with us as part of a group. The organiser of your group provided us with the room allocation and did indeed allocate you a twin ensuite room (not double ensuite as you state in your review) for the night. However the week before your group arrived another gentleman (also part of the group) staying called to book an extra night. We advised that the only way of offering the two nights would be to change the room allocation. This particular gentleman advised us that this would not be a problem. However, after coming off the phone we felt it was not this man’s decision to make and that we should check if this would be acceptable with the organiser. We received an email from the organiser confirming that this change to the room allocation would be acceptable. On your arrival I advised you of the situation and you advised me that you would take it up with the organiser.

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us but we do feel that your review does not portray what happened and puts us in a bad light. With regards to the 7 rooms that were booked, the organiser of your group was fully aware that two of those rooms would not be ensuite. As far as the room allocation was concerned this was not our decision but that of the organiser who you booked with.

With regard to the bed, this is the first time we have received such feedback, however we do take this seriously and we will purchase a new mattress for that room as we rely on guest feedback. We appreciate your comments with respect to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in one of the smaller double rooms, and it was well fitted out with en-suite, but walls not sound resistant, so could hear neighbouring room talking.

Lovely house, and guests Lounge is great, and service was generally very good.

Room Tip: Go for larger main doubles - well worth extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiffsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed here with my husband for two nights we where very happy with our stay the room was stunning and was a great size breakfast was amazing definitely worth getting up for you will not be disappointed location was great we will love to come back and visit again the hosts where excellent from the Mitchell's

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. Claire and I appreciate the kind words and we do take on board what our guests say.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberfeldy hotels
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,913 reviews
1 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Schiehallion Hotel
Schiehallion Hotel
#6 of 19 in Aberfeldy
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernbank House
Fernbank House
#12 of 19 in Aberfeldy
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balnearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnearn House

Address: Crieff Road | Perthshire, Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £51 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balnearn House is a traditional yet stylish 4 star country house offering bed and breakfast accommodation in Aberfeldy. Set in the beautiful Tay valley in the heart of Highland Perthshire, one of the most scenic counties in Scotland. Balnearn is situated on the edge of town making it the ideal base for your visit. Within a two minute walk of the "Birks o' Aberfeldy", Balnearn is a Victorian- style property set within its own private grounds, including an off-street private car park. There are 10 comfortable and inviting rooms, offering flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI throughout the house. Enjoy a good book, game of chess or plan your next day's activities in front of a roaring log fire in our spacious sitting room where we serve afternoon tea by prior arrangement. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in our elegant dining room where you will be offered a selection of both cooked and lighter options, including our homemade granola or freshly made pancakes, giving you the perfect start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balnearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balnearn House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing