We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short stay in Aberfeldy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balnearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balnearn House
Ranked #3 of 21 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely short stay in Aberfeldy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

An excellent B&B a two minute walk from the centre of Aberfeldy. Very friendly and welcoming owners, lovely breakfasts and afternoon teas. We will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone. We'd also suggest La Birks Italian restaurant in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Co111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
124
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful old house with tastefully decorated rooms, situated within a couple of minutes' walk of the town centre. Pleasant dining room and residents' lounge. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and served a first-class breakfast. Aberfeldy is a thriving small town with a good selection of pubs, restaurants and interesting shops and easy access to excellent walking. My only criticism would be the late check-in (1600).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon road trip and loved it. The hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room we stayed in was gorgeous - bright and airy, with grand furnishings and a comfy bed. The breakfast was brilliant too. A lovely touch was the gift of prosecco when we were leaving the hotel as a gift to celebrate our recent marriage! We will definitely return to Balnearn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilboBaggins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

First stop on a trip round Scotland wish they had all been as good as this one.So clean and full of home comfort friendly and welcome attention to detail all the little extra things made it a perfect stay, the breakfast was the best, I would go back in a breath lovely lovely you should try it!

Room Tip: You will have no worries with this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Booked a last minute stay at Balnearn Guest House.

We opted to go for a guest House, rather than a commercial hotel, and we knew we made the correct choice as soon as we arrived.
The Guest House (or small hotel) is a Victorian Home that has retained a lot of it's original features, and tastefully decorated.
We had booked a double room with external bathroom, but were upgraded to a room with en-suite for free - nice touch.
The young couple who own the Guest House were very friendly, pleasant and very informative.
The room and public area of the house were very clean, fresh decor and welcoming. Guests are welcome to bring their own drinks into the lounge, but we opted to take a 5 minute walk down to the village main street.
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order.
Overall, I would highly recommend Balnearn for it's Highland hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Balnearn House and can say that the entire experience was "Outstanding"
From the handling of the reservation, the warm welcome, the spotlessly clean and well detailed rooms to the great breakfasts cooked to perfection.
I will definitely return to this wonderfully located guest house next time I am in Scotland and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay when visiting highland Perthshire.
Outstanding job Mark and Claire!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I booked this at the last minute after seeing a good weather forecast for the weekend, and was very pleased I did.
It was chilly outside when we arrived but the house was warm and cosy. Claire was friendly and engaging.
The house is very traditional with solid wood staircase and fittings, the decor is modern with pleasant light tones making the large rooms light and airy.The bathroom was again large with a fab hot shower, and good quality toiletries.
Later my friend became stuck in his room when an older mortice locked failed, but this was dealt with quietly and promptly - its not often he has strange men climbing through his window!
Breakfast was plentiful with good choices, including vegetarian options. I can recommend the porridge, along with the scambled egg with smoked salmon, portions were more than plentiful and a good start for the day.
The price for the room was low, and this would be good value even with higher prices. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Any! all of the ones I saw were super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot_happy_snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. Once again we are so sorry about your friend being locked in his room! I can honestly say that this is something that has never happened to us before and unfortunately was just one of those things that no one could have foreseen happening. We did manage to rectify the situation quickly I am glad to say!! Once again thank you for you feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Balnearn in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,220 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 21 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Station House
Station House
#4 of 21 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balnearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnearn House

Property: Balnearn House
Address: Crieff Road | Perthshire, Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balnearn House is a traditional yet stylish 4 star country house offering bed and breakfast accommodation in Aberfeldy. Set in the beautiful Tay valley in the heart of Highland Perthshire, one of the most scenic counties in Scotland. Balnearn is situated on the edge of town making it the ideal base for your visit. Within a two minute walk of the "Birks o' Aberfeldy", Balnearn is a Victorian- style property set within its own private grounds, including an off-street private car park. There are 10 comfortable and inviting rooms, offering flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI throughout the house. Enjoy a good book, game of chess or plan your next day's activities in front of a roaring log fire in our spacious sitting room where we serve afternoon tea by prior arrangement. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in our elegant dining room where you will be offered a selection of both cooked and lighter options, including our homemade granola or freshly made pancakes, giving you the perfect start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balnearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balnearn House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing