We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matt”
Review of Balnearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balnearn House
Ranked #3 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Matt”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A large spacious elegant House , in a beautiful part of Scotland ,

Mark and Clair very helpful and friendly they. put my mobility scooter in garage changed accommodation to suit my needs , Clair made best porridge Mark served it with a smile .
Excellent .very friendly and hospitable .

Room Tip: al room are good , it depends on your individual needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JehuScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    41
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
141
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This b&b is awesome! A very grand old building with 10 bedrooms in total. We had a great bedroom (we stayed in room 8) and ensuite. All fantastically clean and comfortable. The room was very well equipped with a TV, tea and coffee facilities etc

Balnearn house is only a few mins walk from central Aberfeldy so a great location.

Mark and Claire who run the B&B are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. My husband was cycling the etap caledonia and cyclists were offered a very early morning breakfast (a separate etap breakfast menu) due to the early start time of the ride - this was great and very accommodating!

The breakfasts at this b&b are great! Good quality ingredients and both hot and cold food available. Lovely porridge with Scottish honey. The separate buffet table had fruit (strawberries and blueberries - my favourite), yoghurt, cereal etc. all in all a great breakfast and kitchen staff were very polite.


The only reason I haven't given this b&b 5 stars is because of the late check in (4pm) and early check out (10:30am) times which were a shame - I understand that it takes time for rooms to be serviced but these times aren't convenient - even half an hour or an hour difference on the check in / check out times would make it all the better.

Thanks Mark and Claire for an overall great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culture_vulture_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am not sure but I think you may have also sent in the review 'Restful Stay', therefore our response would be similar. As a bed & breakfast owner we do work every aspect of our business and therefore do require time in the afternoon to catch up on other aspects of the business etc hence the reason for our check-in/check-out times. We do take customers feedback seriously and having received your comments have checked with similar businesses and all are of a similar stance, some actually offering later check-ins of 4.30pm and check-out of 10am. I do understand that hotels maybe offer an earlier check-in. If we get a request for an earlier check-in for a wedding for example then yes we will certainly do our utmost to meet that request. I hope you understand our position on this and that we can welcome you back to Balnearn in the future. Once again thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you had an enjoyable and comfortabel stay with us. Kind regards, Claire & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

An excellent B&B in a central location near the main high street in Aberfeldy. The grounds were well kept and the interior spotlessly clean. We were welcomed by the owners, who were friendly and accomodating.

The room was a good size and nice and quiet - which was important as we had an early start on the morning of Etape Caledonia! The bed was remarkably comfortable, so much so that my wife had to ask on leaving where the pillows are from (Mitre, trade)!

Enjoyed a good cooked breakfast and the owners were even up to provide a limited breakfast very early in the morning of the Etape Caledonia (5am) for us cyclists - a very welcome gesture.

Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely and would certainly return. The only point of concern was the late check in (4pm) and early check out (10:30am), which we haven't come across anywhere else before.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments. Yes we certainly had an early start of 4am for the Etape Race! We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. We have taken on board your comments with regards to the early check-in and check-out times however as we operate as a bed & breakfast and not a hotel you will find that our timings are in line with other bed & breakfasts. Bed & breakfast owners tend to work every aspect of their business therefore do require a few hours in the afternoon to catch up on other aspects of the business or run errands etc. If we receive a special request in advance of a booking for an early check-in, i.e. wedding, then we do our utmost to meet this request. We are glad that you found our pillows comfortable and I hope you manage to find something similar! Once again thank you for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We only had a short, one night stay. Mark was very welcoming and even got up early in the morning to make us an early breakfast because we had to get away. A really classy B&B, with lovely rooms in a beautiful old house! Thanks very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

An excellent B&B a two minute walk from the centre of Aberfeldy. Very friendly and welcoming owners, lovely breakfasts and afternoon teas. We will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone. We'd also suggest La Birks Italian restaurant in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Co111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful old house with tastefully decorated rooms, situated within a couple of minutes' walk of the town centre. Pleasant dining room and residents' lounge. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and served a first-class breakfast. Aberfeldy is a thriving small town with a good selection of pubs, restaurants and interesting shops and easy access to excellent walking. My only criticism would be the late check-in (1600).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon road trip and loved it. The hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room we stayed in was gorgeous - bright and airy, with grand furnishings and a comfy bed. The breakfast was brilliant too. A lovely touch was the gift of prosecco when we were leaving the hotel as a gift to celebrate our recent marriage! We will definitely return to Balnearn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilboBaggins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,455 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
88 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brae House Bed and Breakfast 4 Star GOLD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balnearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnearn House

Property: Balnearn House
Address: Crieff Road | Perthshire, Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balnearn House is a traditional yet stylish 4 star country house offering bed and breakfast accommodation in Aberfeldy. Set in the beautiful Tay valley in the heart of Highland Perthshire, one of the most scenic counties in Scotland. Balnearn is situated on the edge of town making it the ideal base for your visit. Within a two minute walk of the "Birks o' Aberfeldy", Balnearn is a Victorian- style property set within its own private grounds, including an off-street private car park. There are 10 comfortable and inviting rooms, offering flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI throughout the house. Enjoy a good book, game of chess or plan your next day's activities in front of a roaring log fire in our spacious sitting room where we serve afternoon tea by prior arrangement. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in our elegant dining room where you will be offered a selection of both cooked and lighter options, including our homemade granola or freshly made pancakes, giving you the perfect start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balnearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balnearn House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing